We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful setting we found in Costa Rica”
Review of Finca Bavaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 14 Uvita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, OR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most beautiful setting we found in Costa Rica”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed in 5 different places in our 2 weeks in Costa Rica and this one was the most gorgeous. It's just off a private road looking over the top of the rain forest with a stunning ocean view, complete with awesome sunsets. Our room had a private 'porch' with a hammock and a 'can almost touch them' view of the toucans and other beautiful birds. Kevin and Anette were always helpful and fun to talk to. We specifically chose the Uvita area as one of our destinations because it was away from the main tourist areas and we got the peace and quiet we wanted, especially given this was high-season.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    36
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
171
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed here for five nights of our honeymoon. It is a great place to stay. We were able to go snorkling, go to see the barruca Indians, go to great beaches and fantastic restaurants all right from Finca Bavaria. Kevin, Annette and their trusty dog Pinto are great hosts. The views of the sunsets are truly spectacular. The pool is great, very clean and very well maintained. Make sure you have the breakfast it includes: bread baked by Kevin, organic fruit grown on the finca, marmalades made by Annette, cheese from a local farm, delicious gallo pinto and freshly squeezed juice coffee and tea. This is agreat way to start every daytrip or to watch the toucans, monkeys and sloths right from the main balcony. Do not hesitate to stay here it is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Forget all your worries here. Kevin and Anette welcomed us into there paradise with opened arms. High up in the tropical forest you have a beautiful view to the ocean, you can even see whales jumping in the distance. Howler monkeys to wake you in the morning, wild life all around. Kevin can even lend you rubber boots to go walking in the jungle.(must do what un expirience). Pinto their little dog is just great, he just loves to get pet and run around. In all just one great place to stay.

Eric and Josee
Montreal, Canada.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turcMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We spend our honeymoon at Finca Bavaria in September 2009. We couldn't have dreamed of a better place than Finca Bavaria. It's location in the Jungle with it's fantastic view of the Pacific is spectacular. We spend 7 days there, and if it wasn't for the flight we had to catch I'm sure we would have stayed yet longer. Annette and Kevin are great hosts, and after just a short while they became like family to us!!! The day starts with the sounds of the howler monkeys. Then a cup of coffee while enjoying the first sunlight over the Pacific, Tucans all around, and if you're as lucky as we were, a Humpback Whale jumping in the ballena marine park!!! Then a superb breakfast buffet,.... and you'll wonder if your day could possibly get any better yet!!!!! Solo bueno!!!
Many many thanks, Annette and Kevin!!! We had the best honeymoon we could have wish for!!!

Rode y Roland

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Great place to stay ! We had the pool all by ourselfs.
Breakfast is super, rooms are clean!
You're on top of a mountain overlooking the rainforest and the sea! Stunning view!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Finca Bavaria, a perfect breakfast, a magnificent pool with great views at the Ocean, very committed hosts who were always willing to help us and provide us with good advice. We did a whale-watching tour and indeed were able to see some of those huge creatures!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenkGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My partner and myself stayed two nights in Finca Bavaria during our three week holiday in Costa Rica. For us it was just the type of place we were looking for during our holidays. Nice Bed and Breakfast with compact and very clean rooms. Its informal and family type, but at the same time has everything needed to make your stay nice and comfortable (clean rooms, hot shower, swimming pool, excellent breakfast). The place has a excellent sight which can be enjoyed both from the bar as from the swimming pool and some walking pads for the morning. It is perfect to get a rest especially for those who do not like to stay in bigger, un-personal hotels. There is a nice choice for breakfast of fresh fruits, bread, mermalads, etc. We booked a dolphin and wale tour upon arrival, which was perfectly organized. You can make the monkeys make noise at night, which is a nice experience too. I would defintely recommend this place, the price quality range is very good. We found the price very fair compared with the prices we found in Costa Rica. Mind that there is no restaurant so that lunch and dinner have to be taken in the village. You can get a map with recommended places upon arrival. Drinks you can order before six and will be left in a coolbox, you can serve yourself and will only be charged if you use them. I would definitely recommend this place to stay during your trip in Costa rica !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
595 reviews
6.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
489 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bavaria

Property: Finca Bavaria
Address: Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finca Bavaria 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bavaria is a charming small hotel that is situated approx. 5 km south of Uvita. Surrounded by tropical rain forest, high above the Marino Ballena National Park, our guests enjoy breathtaking views over the jungle up to the coast, stunning sunsets and the sound of the animals of the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bavaria Hotel Uvita
Finca Bavaria Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing