We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2012 Great View, Price Reasonable, Nice Rooms”
Review of Finca Bavaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 14 Uvita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Wells
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“April 2012 Great View, Price Reasonable, Nice Rooms”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This location is perfect close to the main road but away not to hear the road noise. The view is outstanding and they have different mapped trails to explore all with great views. For the price, view and accommodations this was a favorite but we only stayed one day. I enjoyed the lap pool swim but at night the frogs jumped in and croaked until midnight keep me awake. The croak was magnified by the pool walls and we were the room closest to the pool. Don't know what to suggest here as it was apart of the natural setting. Our room was so cute and had a quaint sitting area in front. Beds were comfortable and room was very clean. No need for A/C and there is no internet. The breakfast was adequate if you like to eat light. The management was fairly new but was very informative, attentive and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nblapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    36
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
171
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We only stayed a night in Finca Bavaria and we wished we would have more time to enjoy the property. The hotel is on top of a hill (need 4x4 to get there) and gives you a great view. In the morning you can easily spot toucans and other colorful birds. There is a restaurant that serves the breakfast but it's not open for lunches and dinners (we drove to Madras and recommend it). At night you will see huge bugs and even a few in your room, but there are bug nets over the beds. The bathroom was very clean and overall the room was beautiful and modern looking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Set in the middle of a secondary forest you don't need to venture far to see lots of birds. Even a coati kept walking past the patio. You can hear howler monkeys and toucans, the latter sometimes sitting in the nearby trees. The Finca maintains a nice hiking trail which you can do in about an hour (allowing time to look around) before breakfast. Because the Finca is elevated you can see the Pacific Ocean. The sunsets are stunning. Breakfast is big with some German goodies such as cheese, sausage and homemade bread for those who have got a craving. They also serve the tipical Tico Gallo Pinto and lots of delicious fruit. It is possible to have dinner there if you reserve in advance, although it is not a restaurant which is open to the public. We had dinner there one evening which was nice because you would have to use your car if you went to a restaurant. Driving up to the Finca can be a bit tricky when the track is wet as it is not a paved road. The atmosphere is very relaxed and guests gather on the patio in the evening to watch the sunset and exchange their travel adventures. The pool has a fairly good size and the views from it are fabulous. The area is not yet on the beaten track of Costa Rica so it is a good time to explore it. The main road only got paved a short while ago so soon there will be a lot more visitors to the area as it is actually quite close to the Manuel Antonio NP.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our one night stay in the jungle with a beautiful ocean view was excellent. Friendly staff, nice room, beautiful views and great breakfast, only a few km from highway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millarvilleclarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

At km 167 of route 34, about 20kms south of Dominical, near playa Ballena, take the steep road going into the jungle to reach Finca Bavaria and you'll reach a small corner of paradise on earth. 4WD is needed. Small, elegant, beautiful, solar powered. The pool filled with spring water,  is immersed in the lush jungle overlooking the Pacific ocean, as the rooms and terraces. In Jan the sun sets right in front of it offering unforgettable sunsets. Breakfast is delicious. People are very nice. Far away you can hear the roaring cries of the squirrel monkeys.  About $100 all included for a room for two. No wifi just relax.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diporzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were winging it on our trip. We figured we'd just drive and find a place; no pre-booking. We lucked upon this place, and it started our trip off right. The drive up will have you questioning your decision, but stick with it because the sunset view from the patio is worth it. The rooms are clean and well appointed, and the hosts were gracious. We woke to howler monkeys and parrots, quickly followed by a delicious tico breakfast, then headed out on a few adventures. Don't miss a swim at Playa Ventana. And be sure to don some gumboots and hike through the rainforest to the streams and waterfalls; a good rainforest dunk to be had there. We enjoyed our stay there so much that we stayed another night on our return drive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed two nights here and it was perfect. Sleeping in the jungle with the luxury of a modern room. We had a nice king size bed and our kids each had their own twin. The bathroom was nice and big. The best part was the view from our back door over the jungle and the ocean. Also, the view from the pool is amazing as well. The breakfasts are quite good - a mixture of German and Costa Rican. You need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get up the steep and bumpy driveway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
595 reviews
6.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
489 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bavaria

Property: Finca Bavaria
Address: Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finca Bavaria 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bavaria is a charming small hotel that is situated approx. 5 km south of Uvita. Surrounded by tropical rain forest, high above the Marino Ballena National Park, our guests enjoy breathtaking views over the jungle up to the coast, stunning sunsets and the sound of the animals of the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bavaria Hotel Uvita
Finca Bavaria Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing