We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of CASA EKO MAR

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PANORAMIC VIEW - MOUNTAIN - OCEAN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
PANORAMIC VIEW - MOUNTAIN - OCEAN
CASA EKO MAR & OCEAN VIEW
PANORAMIC OCEAN VIEW
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nosybella
Medford, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I spent 9 nights at Casa Eko Mar and couldn't have been happier. Honestly, the photos do not do this place justice. The kitchen is very nice, big and well equipped. Washer and Dryer worked great. There is even a clothes line that is very handy. We used it daily to hang up our wet pool towels and bathing suits and again when we did laundry. The patio is wonderful with a comfortable sitting area, eating table, grill, view and privacy. It is positioned perfectly in order to get a good cross breeze. If we weren't at the pool, we were on the patio. The pool is absolutely beautiful. It is very will maintained and some "floaties" are provided. The view from the pool is phenomenal. During the day you will be looking out over the jungle, river and to the ocean view. At sunset the view from the pool can not be beat.
Yves is a wonderful host. He is very knowledgable, responsive, friendly and welcoming. Upon our arrival he gave us a quick rundown of the house and then left us to enjoy ourselves. He lives right next door, but has positioned his house and the guest house in a way that you have complete and total privacy. Honestly, you will not even know he is there. His dogs, Bo and Filu, are incredibly sweet and made daily visits. They are very friendly, not at all obnoxious. We aren't "dog people" but by the end of our stay we looked forward to seeing them at least once a day.
The house is very secure with a locked gate and security system.
The property is beautiful with well kept landscaping. The gardener is very sweet and graciously provided us with some coconuts a couple of times during our stay. There are a variety of plants and the flowers are spectacular. We had a variety of birds visit the trees each day. It was fun to watch them.
We really liked the location of the house. It is very close to beaches, markets and restaurants. The road to the house is mostly paved.
We loved this place so much that we truly hated to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvgoing
Beaufort, SC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Want to live here.”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our 2nd year staying in this gorgeous house and hopefully we will return. The home is easy to find and get to, convenient to anything you want to do in the area. We fished in Sierpe and visited Manual Antonio, both less to an hour away. After you get over the view when you walk in, you begin to be comfortable in the house. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom this year and loved it. The kitchen is well appointed, we cooked several nights and had everything we needed, utensils, spices. We spent a lot of time on the porch, great place to be when it's raining !! The pool is even fun in the rain. The pool and pool deck are where you will spend most of your time if it isn't raining !! By now you have guessed it rained on us... a lot...but we still had fun and the house was perfect with 4 people. Plenty of room to spread out and room to come together. Had our own personal trio pf birds that woke us up every morning. You can hear the river down below and we heard the howlers later in the afternoon. Yves is an excellent host, there if you need him. You will not regret renting this house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveH47
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vacation”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just spent two beautiful weeks at Casa Eko Mar in the rainforest above Uvita. If your looking for peace and relaxation this is it. Everything about this place met or exceeded our expectations. The house has everything you could possibly need. Yves, the owner made everything so easy to deal with..the road up to the house is mostly paved and no problem for 2W drive vehicles..Birds of every colour of the rainbow, toucans, monkeys. Only 5 min from town and there are 5 beautiful beaches within 1/2hr of the house. We are an older couple who have stayed in lots of condos and vrbo' s in Costa Rica..this is the best!..Bed is very comfortable, infinity pool is spectacular..a chef's kitchen and we really enjoyed Bo and Filu (two very well behaved and friendly companions) We are definitely going back for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE-Plane...
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite!!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the happy occasion of spending one week at beautiful Casa EKO Mar this August.
I have rented many houses all over the country during my 4 visits to Costa Rica and this lovely home was beyond our expectations. Spotless inside and out. The kitchen is well appointed, so if you like to cook, you're in luck. Everything is top of the line, from furniture to linen.

I found the location of the house to be the perfect balance between privacy and having quick access to nearby Uvita attractions, beaches, National Parks, restaurants and grocery stores. The infinity edge pool and the pacific sunsets are absolutely stunning.

We would return in a heartbeat. Thanks to the owner Yves for an exceptional experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and house are incredible - so stunning !!!
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

During our two week stay in July at Eko Mar was absolutely Perfect! The house was very comfortable with all the amenities! Outside the views were breath taking! The owner Yves provided us with welcoming coffee, a six back of beer, and fruit. If we needed anything or had questions Yves always responded immediately he was truly awesome! The location of the house was just minutes from the grocery store and beautiful beaches! Basically our stay at Eko Mar resulted in much needed relaxation! We would highly recommend Eko Mar because of all the wild life one will see and the amazing pictures you can get from that elevation. Thank you so much Yves!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenElen...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I loved LIVING at Eko Mar during the last 2 weeks of March. What a beautiful, comfortable, private and luxurious HOME! Watching spectacular sunsets every night from the perfect infinity pool overlooking the ocean was heavenly as were the daily nature walks. My husband shopped at markets in Uvita and Portes; he thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the fully equipped kitchen. Yves, the owner, put so much thought into the details of designing this lovely home including the wonderful outdoor living space and the gorgeous landscape....not to mention how the house is situated to experience the stunning 180 views! Yves respected our privacy and he was always available when we needed something. Everything about our stay was magical - we plan to return next year. Thank you, Yves!!! You are the best!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Perfect vacation "HOME"
Liked least: Confusing signs on the highway - The Vista Ballena Hotel is formerly Whales and Dolphins Hotel - signs indicate two different hotels which makes directions to Eko Mar confusing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The sense of security and relaxation. I worried about nothing.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing