We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to truly experience Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best way to truly experience Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

After a rapid and very informative 9 day nature tour all over Costa Rica we wanted to stay in one place to fully benefit from all we learned (find and identify flora and fauna on our own) and get to know the country in its true essence, away from touristy spots. We could not have chosen a better place to be. La Cusinga is a gem. The cabins are beautifully constructed, comfortable and private (the fans and ocean breeze were far supreme to any a/c unit) The spacious and comfortable common area veranda has a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean, the Whale Tail land formation, the jungle, animals, exquisite sunsets and fantastic evening lightening storms over the ocean. The staff are warm and wonderful, individually and as a team (muchas gracias Olman, Esteban, Evelin, Denis, Olga, Dena, Dinia, and those we knew were working hard behind the scenes). The groundskeeping is exquisite, allowing the natural beauty to shine. Toucans, howler monkeys, geckos and butterflies abound. Falling asleep and awakening to the symphony of nature sounds is sublime. The food is natural, fresh and excellently prepared and each meal in the open air restaurant was accompanied by breathtaking vistas and the fun of spotting howler monkeys, squirrels, Toucans and other creatures who played in full view as we ate. This is a perfect place for travelers wishing to trade in the typical hotel amenities (tv, mini-fridges, bars and piped in music) for a natural, tranquil, heart-filled retreat. 600 acres of well maintained trails to explore allowed us to experience private beach coves, primary forests with ancient trees, mountain stream fed swimming holes all on foot. Uvita is a short taxi ride away and a great place to stock up on snacks and supplies, exchange money and sample more local food. Marino Ballena National Park is also a quick ride for hiking the Whale Tail, spotting giant iguanas and maybe a croc or two. The low rainy part of the green season (July) is a perfect time to come - the daily afternoon showers were light and in no way impacted our ability to be out and about and the evening lightning is a better show than anything on tv. This place is for nature lovers who are mobile (cabins are a short but uphill walk on paths and stone stairs up to the veranda and restaurant), crave natural beauty over luxury, is willing to let the available fare of the day dictate what is on the menu, flexible to go with the flow and find fun and adventure if weather blows in, the occasional gecko or crab comes to visit your cabin, internet goes down momentarily, you want to practice your Spanish, or staff provides you with candles and flashlights til the power is restored due to a lightening storm. Internet connection is excellent on the veranda. Honestly, we barely felt the need to leave in the glorious 6 days we were here. I will be back and will bring friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
EHWillow,

Thank you so much for your review! Great write up of who we are! Thank you for taking your time to visit and we are glad you had a great time! And again, thank you for taking your time to give us such a great review!

We look forward to your visit, and thank you for promoting our place among your family and friends!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    62
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
105
208
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

One of the most unique Lodges in the Americas. Great Organic food, secluded beaches, great and friendly service. The Yoga Spa is the only one of its kind over looking the Bay of the Marine National Park. Congratulations!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GonzoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your visit! More so our team thank you for taking your time to gives a review! Well actually I should say, thank you for making our place your vacations choice, we always like having you here! Our team enjoys your visits!

We do hope to see you again in the near future!

Pura Vida!!! y Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This lodge was a beautiful place to stay. Staff of the lodge very friendly, the accommodation was beautiful, clean and confortable, the lodge's location is awesome, and the food was good.
A peaceful place to recommend.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your visit! And more so for taking your time to give us a review! We agree with you it is "un paraiso."

Hope you have us in your next vacation plans! It is a short flight from your town! Paradise waits for you!

From our entire team,

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

9. La Cuisinga Lodge, Uvita – 5 out of 5
This lovely lodge, consisting of cabins hand built from local materials and some wonderful viewing platforms/open rooms, looking out across the Pacific Ocean from the top of cliffs near Uvita. It’s peaceful, very green and very sustainable. It has its own beach down a steep track which is paradise (but don’t hang around at high tide) and tracks through the jungle with dense wildlife – the cicadas are deafening at dusk and the howler monkeys will wake you at dawn. This is where I want to be now and the place we most want to come back to from our visit to Costa Rica. We also loved the little local village of Uvita and the snorkelling and whale watching trip with a local ex fishermen was an absolute delight (even though we didn’t see any whales!).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you! 1. for coming to visit us and making our place one of your stops in your vacation! we are glad you had a good time. and 2. for taking your time to share it with the world!

We do hope you can make it back here and you can enjoy more of what we have to offer!

Muchas Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a quirky place with a charm all of it's own. It is unconventional but typically Costa Rican. We loved it! We're mature travellers and chose to use local and tourist transport for our three week self made itinerary. We arrived on the Uvita bus from Quepos which dropped us a couple of miles away, the journey was great as the bus makes detours around local villages. We didn't fancy a two mile walk with back packs and hand luggage in the noon day sun so we reluctantly got a local to call a taxi. The Costa Ricans are lovely. Cosinga Lodge is situated on elevated land overlooking the sea and "The Whale Tail", look it up! The walk to the bay is steep but interesting, monkeys abound. We were lucky to get a sea view lodge for our first few nights which was great. The lodges without a sea view aren't so good. You don't need to leave the premises wild life abounds, although the Howler Monkeys could be a pain if you aren't a heavy sleeper or early riser. A taxi ride and a walk to the whale tail is interesting. The relaxing outlook area is great for just ... relaxing and watching, WiFi and drinks are available, don't forget to find the "fridge" with beers and cold drinks during the day, it's a little hidden! The staff are great and the food, which is served in an open outlook restaurant with views over the trees to the sea is idyllic. Don't miss La Cusinga for a real taste of Costa Rican hospitality. Our next, and last stop was El Remanso Ecolodge on the Osa peninsular. Local Taxi price for the transfer was 180$ US. We used our smart phone to contact Ride CR. 80$ US and a very nice man with a tidy, air con people mover turned up on time and drove impeccably. Bingo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daygo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your visit! And thank you for your review!!

"You don't need to leave the premises wild life abounds, although the Howler Monkeys could be a pain if you aren't a heavy sleeper or early riser."

So true! wildlife is everywhere here and true wildlife, as they are not domesticated nor are they friendly nor they come up to humans! We have a great living relationship, where we are part of their environment and we respect one another but we discourage feeding them and touching them. And yes the howlers are loud more so if they are close to the hotel! :) But they are a great alarm clock! As the day starts early in the forest!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had chosen this hotel because of the trip advisors reviews. We were charmed by the image they presented on their website as an ecolodge, blue flag, "yoga retreat" and many other prices and certifications they have received.
Staff: very friendly. But they need to improve when they guide people at hotel. There is a need of more explanation of what and why they do what they do, the farm (no one told us anything about it) the activities offered or where can we find them if we needed them. Most of the time the reception was closed. It is the first time we see this in a hotel.
Food: awful. It is terribly salty, full of flavorings. I just could not eat it. Three members of my family got sick the last day with the breakfast. I suppose the idea is to have a healthy menu because they offer vegetarian and vegan food. But I suspect the chefs being afraid that only veggies will be not good enough they put too much seasonings. There is a "savoir faire" that is missed in this kitchen. As we complained they gave us the only dinner we ate there for free (because next night we went to the excellent restaurants in Ojochal). That was nice from them.
Rooms: nice, clean, you are surrounded by forest so not too much light at night will avoid one of those huge grasshopper to land on you!!! We enjoyed watching the insects.
Terrace: this is the best part of the hotel. The sunsets are memorable. AND this is the place were the courtesy coffee, tea and fruit juice should be. It allows people to socialize. Otherwise there is a strong feeling you are on your own at this hotel. Is a little sad I have to say. The hotel is missing some spirit.
Yoga: how to say this...the website gives the impression that there is something happening all the time, that what is a yoga retreat. Well no. Actually if you want a class they call a teacher. Luckily we are experienced yoga practitioners so we just grabbed our mats and went by ourselves to the "yoga shala". We couldn't help to feel that the place was like abandoned. But as soon as you get into your practice then is fine. The wood floor is perfect. The view to the ocean...well, this place could have been really awesome, more open. Actually the website should read : "Yoga teachers we offer facilities for groups, and/or, Yoga practitioners we can organize classes for you. We do not have a resident yoga program ".
Good luck with your improvements.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
“Needs improvement”

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had such experience! Not sure why! And also it would have been better to had told us during your stay so we could have corrected the issues that we had the power to correct. But we are grateful to have gotten your feedback. Again sorry that you had those issues. We are looking into each of the points to make sure we can rectify them all.

Regarding the staff and the information, we have in reception booklets with information of activities, also in the main area and a copy in each room. I will double check what happen there. Reception is closed when they are in the common area or the restaurant helping out with other clients!

The food, I am very surprised and i will look into this, as we do not use heavy amounts or quantities of condiments. I will like more information on the specifics (the meals, dates if you remember) so we can look into it and find out where we went wrong.

Yoga: we have a great place to enjoy yoga, we host groups with their own yoga professors, or if you want a private class we have local professors that will give you lessons! No class is free! Not sure what you mean by " We couldn't help to feel that the place was like abandoned." It is a new place and we do have it in pristine shape!

Again thank for your feedback, we will love a message with more details regarding the food issue! and what happen, what you had, and what days!

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our kids are 6 and 9 and Arco beach was the best beach we visited in Costa Rica. Almost private with a cool, vine-covered trail leading to a protected cove. Huge flat beach so room to play frisbee or soccer and run around. Fun cave to play in. But the best part was the perfect sized waves with a sandy flat bottom. Kids could have played and body boarded there forever. We enjoyed it too! I stayed in the water longer than usual.

The food was great and our lunch to take to the beach was gourmet. The view from our room and the common are was incredible and the sunsets were perfect. My only complaint was the price was high for the quality of the room. Very basic. But the beds were comfy, everything super clean, and friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
"The food was great and our lunch to take to the beach was gourmet."

Thank you for all your comments! Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback! And thank you for visiting us!

We are glad that you and your family had a good stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
4.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
562 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#11 of 12 in Uvita
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing