We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradise .... That's all I can say.... "Paradise"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ann Arbor, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise .... That's all I can say.... "Paradise"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

La Cusinga is by far the most beautiful place I have EVER seen!! The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are simple. They are beautiful and simple... There are no TV's and No air conditioning....trust me when I say that you will see when you get there that a TV and AC would only lessen your experience! The food is AMAZING!!!! I have never eaten so good!!! Thank you to Sylvia and the whole staff!!! You are wonderful!!! Now here are some travel tips.. BRING SUNSCREEN with you!!!! You may want to pack your stuff in a backpack instead of a suitcase. The paths to the rooms have a lot of steps. Bring several bathing suits... With the humidity it takes forever for your suit to dry. BRING hiking boots!!! Yes there is a beach!! But be thinking more Jungle than beach!! Plan on taking a TON of pictures! And you don't have to be an athlete to hit the trails but you better at least be in decent shape... Good luck !!! ... And.. PURA VIDA!!!! P.S.. If I could post pictures on trip advisor then ANYONE reading this would be booking their trip in 30 seconds!!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickedAce_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, when we get reviews such as this: "La Cusinga is by far the most beautiful place I have EVER seen!! " give us lots of joy. So thank you for taking your time to share with the world your experience. Out team is always here to help you in any way we can, but we make sure you also have your space to explore, enjoy the property, or just relax! We do hope to see you back soon! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    55
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
95
185
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This Eco lodge was such a nice surprise. Bungalows surrounded by the rainforest, incredible view on the Pacific were we could watch the whales playing. Nice people. Toucans, birds and Howler monkeys were the only sounds we could hear in the early morning hours. The bungalows are simple but comfortable. The food was excellent. Even the kids are missing it. The lonely beach was just a dream as well as the natural pool with a small waterfall with fresh water flowing. The monkeys were having lunch just nearby. We just wished we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo72108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you visited us and that you had a good time! Nature here is alive and full of great moments. From the Ocean, to the Rainforest to the creeks and the beach. Thank you also for sharing the photos. We hope to see you back soon so you can explore more and enjoy the hotel some more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow, this place is amazing! From the guest service, to the food, to the well made cabins this place was really fantastic. There were even freshly squeezed juices available throughout the day to cool you down from the intense Costa Rican heat. We're thinking about renting out the whole place and planning a wedding there. Keep in mind you've got to have an open mind to stay here... it's very eco friendly and very rustic. It may not be for everyone.... no air conditioning, lots of bugs and you can hear the intense sounds of the rain forest while sleeping at night. But that's the beauty of it all. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Emily,

Muchas gracias! For your kind review! We do hope you have a wedding here, it is a great place to have it, I got married here! Love it! We are a place where many people have had their weddings, honey moon, and special events. We are glad that you liked our place, and yes we are not a 5 start hotel, we are an eco lodge where you will be part of nature, where you enjoy the rainforest and ocean... Flora and fauna.

Pura Vida and hope that your review give people a better idea of who we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not too sure how else to describe La Cusinga other than our friend Charlie who was with us on our last vacation sigh..."oh I've died and gone to La Cusinga"... ahhhh. The wholesome home cooked meals, the comfortable new mattresses, the bird and howler wakeup calls, the eye candy and at every turn and the best butts up birding and whale watching on Earth. Need I go on?

Room Tip: Every lodge has its own pleasure. We've "slept around" at La Cusinga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GISetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Anita and Roger thank you for your review, and for making our place your home and office away from home. We love having you here, and we support all your projecta with our community! Thank you for caring about this little piece of land call Uvita and our people! This Earth needs more people like you, Charlie and Amy. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at La Cusinga Eco Lodge after finding it by accident while traveling through Uvita. The staff was accommodating but not bothersome and left us to enjoy our cabin, the grounds and the views. We enjoyed wonderful meals cooked in the outdoor kitchen complete with fresh caught local seafood. We loved the thoughtful details and environmental conservation. I wouldn't call it luxurious, but it's comfortable, clean peaceful and the views are amazing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marisel606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, a bit confused as the writen part is all positive, but the score is a 3/5. Will love to know where we can improve! Ee take to heart our job and always like to improve so your additional feedback will be great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at La Cusinga as part of a 3-week Tropical Ecology course. This was the most luxurious accommodation on our trip. It was wonderful: very ecologically sensitive, as well as comfortable and beautiful. Our cabin, Paloma, has a wonderful view and there were many birds around the grounds, including chachalacas, roadside hawk, a great tinamou, chestnut-mandibled toucans, and of course, lots of fiery-billed aracaris. We also saw dolphins from our balcony.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was great, the coffee was excellent, and there were always nice fresh, cold juices - delicious. The view from the dining room and the observation area were amazing. It was a pleasure to meet the owner and we're now reading his book, The Gringo's Hawk.

We would highly recommend this eco-resort, especially to birders.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! And for your visit! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paracuellos de Jarama, Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there just two days. Nice resort and nice views. The cabins are really beautiful. We enjoyed a exciting ''whale watching'' in the National Park Marino Ballena. Only the access to the property is a little bit unconfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LuisLerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you LuisLerma,

for your time that you took to give us your feedback, we hope you had a great trip back to our home! Thank you for choosing our place as your spot to stop by while in Costa Rica and we are glad that you enjoyed it!

Pura Vida!

-Geinier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#10 of 12 in Uvita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing