We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay with a group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brief stay with a group”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was part of a group. We stayed for 1 night in the group rooms, which contained bunk beds. I found the accommodations comfortable. Small issue with the shower valve, but otherwise good. Amazing view of the Pacific coast, easy to sit and watch the coastline around the "whale tail" peninsula. The hostess, Anna, was excellent with great English. No lunch service without reservations, but I was hungry and they took care of me. Group meals were buffet style. Food was very good, well seasoned, nice selection for us, and plentiful. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We are big in looking into the positive and what we can improve! We have taking note in each point. We are glad you had a good time! We look forward to your next visit! Enjoy the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    62
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
105
211
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This a clean well appointed eco friendly lodge nestled in a national park. Your room and the main veranda face the Pacific Ocean. You have practically your own private beach and fresh water pool to cool off and relax. Bird watching from the veranda. A staff that makes you feel at home. Food that is wonderful. Our family stayed 5 days and didn't want to leave. Rarely have I felt this relaxed and enjoyed at hotel this much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManOntheroadForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you! It was so nice to meet you and your family! Thank you for your kind words an taking the time to write this reciew! We are gglad that you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

La Cusinga Lodge is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The location on the cliffs above the ocean provides breathtaking views. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. At night we were lulled to sleep with the waves breaking on the shore below. The rainforest surrounding the lodge allow easy access to nature hikes with the opportunity to see monkeys and other wildlife. A short walk brings you to the beach that is serene and secluded. The lodge has a first rate yoga area. The practice of yoga is enhanced by the scents of flowers and sounds of the location. The food is amazing and unique. Each meal offered fresh fruit and juices along with multiple dishes to enjoy. The staff is attentive and dedicated to providing a memorable experience. My only regret is having just one night to enjoy this paradise. I will be sure to stay here again next time I am in Costa Rica.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Muchas gracias! Love to get reviews of people that really liked our place! We are a place that is one with nature in every way, even our yoga studio was design around that concept. Thank you again for your review and for sharing the photo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

La Cusinga was one of the most beautiful spots visited in Costa Rica on this trip. The beautiful private hiking trails in the surrounding rain forest were a highlight. The access to the beach in Marina Ballena Park was very special and made for some fun times in the surf. The panoramic view from the beautiful deck was astounding. We had a great view of the beaches and waters of the national park. We were also visited by many bird species most notably the toucans which landed on trees that were quite close to the deck. The food and accommodations were great. La Cusinga will definitely be on my list for future travels in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Pura Vida! To us is our traditional phrase that covers all that you have experience! We are a hotel that was created to be one with nature and to be part of it in a special way, where we interact as part of it and not as superior to it. Our flora and fauna respect us as we have the same respect for them. Thank you for your review, and we will continue to work hard to protect this place for future generations! Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing views, great chances to either be in the forest or near the water. When i think of an eco lodge i always hope that I'll have an experience that's close to nature, and that's what I got. Along with a place that focuses on the least amount of impact on the planet as possible. They do a wonderful job with the meals and with service. I hope to go back again!

Room Tip: The double rooms are beautiful if you're there as a couple. We had a group and were in the two d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climberyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for taking your time to give us a feedback. So cool to know that you got what we are about! We work hard since the 70s to presever our place to restore the rainforest, and to build a place where we could live with nature. This was my play ground when i was a kid, and now we love to share it with the world. Thank you and hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and daughter and I stayed at La Cusinga for three days and nights, May 7-9. Our time there was an unforgettable experience at the end of a ten-day Costa Rican tour, and we found it to be a perfect way to end our adventure. We found La Cusinga on Tripadvisor, and picked it out due to so many stellar reviews and descriptions of the place as a unique and simple eco-lodge in a very special setting on the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. In fact La Cusinga exceeded all of our expectations, with the staff, the food and the unparalleled beauty of the natural setting being the stars.

I will address here a couple of negative reviews I have seen posted after we booked our trip, one of which I saw while we were at La Cusinga. The common thread I have noted in negative reviews here tend to be a clearly misplaced expectation of what La Cusinga is and what it isn't. What it isn't, for sure--is a luxury hotel with all the comforts and amenities of a plush coastal resort (most notably air-conditioning, it has none other than the onshore Pacific breeze). If you are a vacationer looking for a swim-up bar and beach umbrellas together with all the creature comforts, this place is not for you. What it is, is a rustic yet refined and beautiful eco-lodge which reflects the love and sensitivity to the natural rainforest and coastal eco-system of its builder, a visionary and pioneering environmentalist who came to Costa Rica as a young and naive American in the early seventies and fell in love with the breathtaking beauty of this setting and the warmth of the local people. As mentioned in a previous review, he has written a memoir of his experiences here and his evolution into a force for its preservation, "The Gringo's Hawk".

La Cusinga is made up of ten individual bungalows, and two dormitory-style bungalows for groups (I believe those can house ten or twelve each). Each of the bungalows is named, we stayed in Colibri I, which is the newest unit and was built three years ago as a handicapped-accessible unit and so is larger than most, with two queen beds and a third single bed and a large shower. The bungalows have been built with concrete foundations interspersed with river rocks, and the walls, doors, and furniture from locally grown teak wood. The simplicity and beauty of the construction is amazing--its very high quality wood work. The water system is fed by a local spring and is filtered onsite, and in keeping with the eco-sensibility of its owners the water is solar-heated so in times of extended cloudiness hot water in the showers can be a bit sparse. We were there in the transition to the rainy season, and we experienced no shortage of hot water.

The units have louvred windows with bug screens on all sides, so there is good flow-through air ventilation from the Pacific breezes. We found ours to be very comfortable at a time when the temperature was in the 80's F and the humidity was in a similar range. We have read about dampness or mustiness in other reviews, we did not experience that.

The common area of the lodge contains a beautiful covered observation deck which has good wifi, rocking chairs, lounges, and a hammock. It also has a large table and benches with books and children's games available. The view over the rainforest and into the Pacific from this point is truly breathtaking. We found it an ideal place to unwind at the end of each day and try to catch wildlife through the binoculars. We saw whitefaced monkeys, howler monkeys, yellow-billed toucans, a coatimundi, pelicans, black hawks, and green parrots from this lookout point. Adjoining the observation deck is a small open-air dining area and kitchen. Here the staff prepare simple, fresh, much of it homegrown food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is included, there is a charge per person for lunch and dinner and it is not inexpensive, but it is fresh and wonderfully prepared. You don't have to have lunch and dinner here during your stay, you simply let the staff know your plans for that day and they will plan accordingly. The staff were all unfailingly efficient, friendly, and helpful. We had the most interaction with Anna, Noyli, and Geinier, the general manager.

As many have noted, the area surrounding the lodge is rainforest, containing several hiking trails, 1,000 year old Ajo trees, a beautiful creek with a clear swimming hole (poza) and down a trail about a 15 minute walk, a pristine beach that will likely have nobody else on it but you and about a thousand little crabs. There is also a sea cave in the cliff adjoining the beach, which can be explored at low tide. The town of Uvita is just a few kilometers down the highway and has it's own larger beach, a couple of pretty good restaurants, and many small shops and sodas (small patio-style cafes}.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Cusinga and I am quite sure that we will return to take advantage of its beauty and hospitality on our next visit to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms mentioned in a previous review as being old and in need of renovation, Gemela I and II, we...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bgtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for your review! It is clear and very correct! It was an honor to chat with you and to share a bit about our place! Hope you had a great trip back home! And we look forward to your return! Say hi to the family! And again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved La Cusinga, We had a beautiful experience. The view is amazing, birds, monkeys, and Pacific Ocean were exceptional. Hiking the trails in the hotel we saw toucans and many, many other beautiful birds as well, in addition to howler monkeys.

The staff was totally friendly and always smiling and helpful. The food was always taste and fresh Organic.


Great Ecolodge, thanks for having us and share your piece of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemorpho02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you, not only for your visit, and for taking your time to give us a review... But also for sharing the photos. It looks like tou had a great time, that you did enjoy nature, the food, the beach, the rain forest and all the cool things nature has. That is what we are about. It is a balance... Between to little light in the cabins (not good for reading) and to much light (0attracts insects from all over the forest), between long hikes to great places or long hikes that are not for everyone. But we try to wrok around nature and be one with it. So thank you for your review! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
4.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
587 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing