We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An amazing 3-night stay in paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing 3-night stay in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

February 2013: Our tour group of 16 stayed at La Cusinga. Almost without exception, it was everyone's favorite lodging of the entire trip. There is something magical about the setting and the philosophy of this secluded lodge. The staff is outstanding in every way and the birds, wildlife, pacific coast and jungle scenery are constantly changing yet constantly beautiful. And the meals are delicious-- prepared carefully with the freshest ingredients. Thank you for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Take your earplugs if you are a light sleeper so the howler monkeys don't disturb your rest. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosings_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Glad that you liked our place, and that your group did too. Thank you so much for your review! We try always to be true to our way of living. We share the way we have lived for 40 plus years, where we are part of nature and because of that we respect and enjoy nature! Look forward to your next visit, and hope to get a review from the rest of your group :) Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    52
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
176
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

La Cusinga Eco Lodge is a unique place in the world. A very different experience were comfort, nature and service blend in perfect harmony. A true ecolodge, the toucans, the monkeys and all kind of exotic birds can be seen right on this unique property with its own private 250 acre reserve bordering a Marine National Park, trails that lead to secluded pristine tropical beaches with waterfalls leading to the ocean. The pool? is the best pool a natural pool, the fitness center...a great YOGA spa with ocean view and all the trails are enough fitness to keep you in shape during your stay. Plus all the additional activities as surfing, SUP, kayaking and more Just a great location, A MUST SEE PLACE

Room Tip: Chose the rooms below the restaurant for quiet and spectacular ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GonzoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and making down here, for all for help and your kind words! Hope to see you back here soon, or in florida or argentina. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at La Cusinga for a 6-day yoga retreat and had a spectacular time. This hotel is divine! "Paradise" popped into my head every morning when I stepped out of my room. The property is nestled in a tropical paradise, the food is outstanding, and the people are kind. This is definitely a place you want to visit. I'm really missing the out door shower right now!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I stayed in a dormitory style room and thought it was great. Since you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evarones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us this review! We hope more people do come and enjoy our hotel and our yoga studio! We are glad you and the groupd had a good time! Hope to see you bacj soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

La Cusinga is more than a hotel, it is a place where ecological responsibility is practiced. Its owners and managers are really model citizens of the planet, and if you get a chance to talk to them and meet them, it's a real treat. Get the owner's book, The Gringo's Hawk, and read it before you come - it will enrich the experience. There is a strip of beach like no other I've ever seen, and it's worth the long walk through a primary rainforest to get there - you might see species you haven't seen before every day and night you're there. Go out in a boat and you've got a good chance of seeing dolphins very close. Or just sit in the front lounge and enjoy one of the most breathtaking views you'll ever experience. Food is delicious, the rooms are simple luxury, there are howler monkeys just hanging out and you'll hear them in the morning. Just go, you will not regret it. I will come back here every chance I can for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and for reading the book :) we are glad that you enjoyed both! hope you visit us again! and again thank you for review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just spent over a week at La Cusinga with a crew of fellow Biomimics. We had access to some amazing tropical rain forest trails to do our studies and find some really unique organisms. The setup allowed for us to gather as a group at times and retreat to our cabins at other times. The food was always very good, on time, with plenty for everyone. Constant access to cool water, fresh juice, and coffee was essential and much appreciated. When needed, we had very reliable wifi access to stay in touch with folks back home, which made things really easy. But really, it was about the access to the rain forest, river tidal pools for swimming (incredible), beautiful/basically private beach access (down a jungle trail walk) and incredible views and sounds - and the Yoga studio area was such a nice surprise and very useful. Most importantly, they do this all while respecting their sustainability and eco-lodge principles. Excellent place with great people running it.

Room Tip: I only stayed in Gamela 2, but they all seemed really nice. The ones down the hill a bit seemed most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biomimicrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love having your group at our place! To me is a perfect match! Nature as our common point! We look forward to your next visit! And please do keep intouch! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

La Cusinga is the poster child for a tropical paradise. I spent a week here for a course about nature (Biomimicry) with an international team of 20 people. Every day was an adventure as we spotted birds, monkeys and all sort of wildlife in the beautiful gardens and forests of La Cusinga. The meals are simply delicious and the pretty buildings and facilities are very comfortable and makes you day-dream about one day moving to a place like this. The staff is friendly, kind and helpful in the most legitimate way and according to the highest standards for client service. On top of all these good things, it's amazing how La Cusinga takes so seriously their environmental footprint and to keep their operation Ecologically friendly in the best possible way. Their interest in conservation and protection of their natural surrounds are an example for other lodges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balamontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Balamontero thank you for your review! As you know we love having your group at our place and for me it was an honor to see yoou again. So glad that after so many years Biomimicry continues to grow and to be an important part of great leaders. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The last time I went to La Cusinga, I was blown away by the sheer beauty, vistas, and closeness to nature that the property provided, the impeccable service I received by every member of the staff, and the top priority given to remaining true to it's title of "Eco Lodge" being nestled within virgin rainforest, in an area literally inaccessible to anyone other than those staying at the lodge. That was in 2007.

Today, five years later, La Cusinga has only built upon what I had first experienced, doubling-down on their commitment to preserving the natural environment within which they are situated, and quite literally living with the land and ocean. There are now deeply educational experiences, even higher standards of eco-care, and greater efforts to not only educate guests, but effect change in their own lives and the way they perceive the world around them. They've also added regular yoga classes - with a view that, as far as I am concerned, is entirely uneatable.

Rooms are even better than before, and the food continues to be sublime. The staff continues to be unwavering in their level of service and friendliness, and there are even more options for distractions if you want them. The electricity continues to be self-generated via hydro power (supplemented by the grid), water is purified from the rainforest, furnishings and finishes sourced from the lodge grounds using neighborhood talent and labor (which, in turn, creates jobs for the local economy), hot water is solar-heated, and the lodge continues to tirelessly give back to the community.

I will re-iterate, however, if you are looking for a place with air-conditioning (though absolutely NONE is needed), a resort-like pool, and electronic gadgets, this is not the place for you. What you will find here is a tranquil, pristine setting in which to completely disconnect from the world, and spend time with yourself and the environment around you.

Make no mistake, you will leave this place a changed person, with a deep longing to return as soon as you possibly can. You simply cannot go wrong with La Cusinga.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room on the upper floor as high up the hillside as possible. These, to me, offer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you zaxe for taking the time to give us such a complete review! Hope this will help future visitors! Hope to see you back soon! Great to know that people come back and like it even more! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing