We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Oxygen Jungle Villas(Uvita)
$191
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Big Bamboo Uvita(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luz de Luna(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$750
$728
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Pacifico(Uvita)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
452
73
12
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
73
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysprivate beachswimming holecosta ricalocal materialsyoga studiothere is no air conditioninghiking trailstropical paradisepacific coasthot waterbahia ballenabreathtaking viewswhale watchingnational parkpura vidalow tide
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 549 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night in one of the cabins with ocean view. The young staff management were charming and eager to please, but out overall impression was that this is a leftover from the 1990s. The beds and bed linen was damp, the beds squeeky and uncomfortable, the cabin full of insects and barely clean. Yes we heard the monkeys in the morning which was fun, but othet than that we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klimpen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

I do not have any words to say how sorry I am to get such review, and not so much that I got the review, but that you had to live what you said you did at our hotel. Thank you for your review (not what I wanted to get as a rating) because it gives me a wake up call of what happen. First of all I am very sorry, i will look into why you had a wet bed, why you had damp linens. I will like to get more feedback from you email me please so we can talk some more and see how we can make it up to you. (the email address is in our page or here in our listing) . If you see our history we have had only 5 and some 4, so it is hard to know that you had a stay experience of a 2. Finally please do email us and please accept my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at La Cusinga in December and had a wonderful time! we are a family of four (kids 7 and 14). Short answer is we would highly recommend the property and hope to go back.

The hotel grounds are beautiful. Everything is well maintained and impeccably clean. Our room had a patio out front with rockers and a small hammock and beautiful view of the ocean. The rooms are small, and would have been more comfortable if we had been willing to spring for a separate room for the kids but we spent so little time in the room that in the end it did not matter.

We really enjoyed the common lookout area with spectacular views and great bird watching (and monkey watching a few times). It was a great spot to relax or play cards after a day at the beach.

We ended up eating dinners on property and the food was fantastic. Each day we had a simple soup, salad, main and dessert. There is a different menu each night but if you don't care for the offering the kitchen was happy to accommodate. My youngest is quite picky but they cound a way to please even her! There were a few breakfast 'misses' but overall the food was great.

The service was great, far better than we are used to in Costa Rica. Very helpful, kind, proactive, personal... We felt like family.

This was our first trip to this part of the country and we loved it. It's a pretty sleepy area, but there are good tours (highly recommend the combo tour the hotel arranged for us) and all the basic services you might want. The beaches in the area are beautiful and varied. We enjoyed playa pinuela mist, which bad shade and good swimming. we visited others, too, wach a bit different. You will want a 4x4 to explore.

This is not a hotel for everyone. It you are looking to be entertained non stop this is not the place for you. There are lots our outdoor stairs and paths to climb to get from your room to the lookout, breakfast, your car. We thought it was fine and the payoff was great views and privacy, but you should know what you are getting into. It is also very true to its eco values. Showers are solar so not as consistently hot as if there were a gas heater. Rooms have fans and no air conditioning but with the windows on 3 sides and sea breezes they were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLmamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for the time you took to write this review. We had took note of your review and also the items to improve. We try hard to make you part of our family but at the same time give younthe space to explore. Yes we are an eco hotel and it is a great place to explore and be one with nature. We will love to get an email in the details of the breakfast that we can improve as this will help us even more. Again thank you so much and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for several nights in December and had a great stay. The property is gorgeous, especially the little poza. Getting to the beach is treacherous - it is not an easy hike. Nearby beaches (like Playa Ventana) are a better option for those who are not eager to take a rough hike. And Playa Ventana is gorgeous! The breakfasts are excellent and the kitchen served a new type of juice every morning we were there. The rooms are very nice - especially the showers! It would be nicer if the rooms did not only have harsh lighting but this is a small complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! We take our time to grow and find the best local organis products to make the meals. The trail to the beach is ahrd one for some people, but it is a one of a kind beach, and yes there lots of beaches that you can get ther by car! And thank you for the feedback about the lighting in the room. Again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The La Cusinga team does seem to be making a real effort at all-round sustainability and the place certainly has the authentic eco-lodge vibe. The young staff were charming and made a real effort to please. The rooms seemed to be two per cabin - we took a pair of rooms (ie a whole cabin) which was ideal for a family but 'sharing' a cabin have been slightly lacking in privacy otherwise. No aircon but the rooms have ceiling fans. The showers are solar powered so can be a bit bracing first thing in the morning if it's been cloudy the previous afternoon. The restaurant food was high quality and home-cooked style, although the set menu meant our picky teenagers had to survive without burgers for a couple of days. One downside - our allocated table in the restaurant had five of us sitting in a row at a counter-style table, which was lovely for breakfast but not very convivial in the evenings. There is a stunning beach that we had to ourselves first in the morning, a 10 minute walk down a pathway from the lodge (15 mins back - uphill). Price-wise we could only rate La Cusinga as Average value compared with other places we have stayed in CR on this trip. On the other hand, being woken at 5.45am by very raucous howler monkeys - priceless.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Magellan762 Happy New Year, thank you for your review! Thank you for the feedback on the menu items for teens and also the setup for the restaurant, it is a point that we are trying to see how to fix. And yes the howlers are a great alarm clock. Hope that you make it down our way in the near future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent 6 days at La Cucinga and enjoyed every moment. The staff are incredibly friendly yet non-intrusive. The food is fresh, delicious, served in copious amounts and accompanied by amazing fresh juices. We are both vegetarians and, given our relatively long stay, there wasn't quite as much variety in our meals as appeared in the "normal" food. But it was all so good, fresh, and homemade that it wasn't an issue. The eating area (like everywhere else on at the lodge) has great views and a casual feel. We particularly liked that, while other guests were friendly, it seemed like all were there for a true, quiet, nature retreat- none of the loud, abrasive, (generally American) conversations to disrupt a meal in nature.

The room was lovely- simple and comfortable, comfy outdoor rocking chairs, a fantastic view, plenty of airflow through the many windows. The few times we were in the room during the day, the fan was more than sufficient to keep the room at a comfortable temperature and the shaded patio made sitting outside extremely pleasant.

Between the eating area, our room, and the trails on the property, we found La Cusinga to have a higher density of wildlife then any of the parks we visited in CR!

We booked La Cusinga via a surf/yoga holiday with Bodhi Surf and were lucky enough to have 5 led yoga sessions and a few self- practice sessions at La Cusinga's amazing yoga platform. It is, by far, the most stunning place I have practiced yoga.

While in CR we saw countless places that billed themselves as "eco retreats", "eco lodges", "eco trips", etc. For a number of these places, "eco" didn't seem to mean much beyond branding. La Cusinga truly makes every effort to be truly eco- from their thoughtful land management, building practices, lack of A/C, to their support of local communities and engagement in broader conservation initiatives.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iming l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you got what wemare about, and that you enjoyed it. You are the kind of people we like to have all the time at our place. Happy New Year and hope that you visitnus again. Fron Costa Rica to South Africa Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews