We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Finished Our Stay”
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just finished a 5 day stay with them. Overall, the hotel was very nice and the staff does try its best to make you feel welcome. Adrianna who is the fisrt person you meet and your "go to" for just about anything is a wonderful person and will do her best to get you what you want. My wife and I typically go for high end smaller private places but also go for the Four Seasons/St. Regis as well.

Plus Features - quiet - there are no TV's/cable so the only way of being "connected" is the hotel internet which works 90% of the time. The rooms are very nice. No A/C but we did not need it. The food was very good but not the place to go if you love fancy pastry in the morning or huge dinners. Portions are good but not if you are 2 standard deviations above your ideal weight - my wife and I are in good shape so the portions were just fine with us. The place is very clean. The trips you can take are all well planned and interesting.The hotel dog - Tito - is a great addition.

Minus Featues - they have a small gym (equipment similar to what some folks probably have at home) and 2 small pools. Fine for short stays but not if you are a person who loves a top end gym and a lap pool. When at the pool it would have been great to have a staff member come out and see if we wanted water or a cold drink. The bar was only a few feet away so not really a big deal. The place is really secluded at the top of a mountain and getting up and down is really only done by SUV unless you are a marathon trail runner who likes 30 degree inclines and rocky roads. You really can't go off the hotel grounds unless it is by SUV or planned trip. Do not even think about bringing kids.

We would go back again is the bottom line.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 499 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

From beginning to end the stay at Rancho Pacifico was fanstastic. The resort is beautiful every detail was considered when putting this place together. This was the last stop on our honeymoon, it was the perfect place to end our honeymoon and relax before returning to the real world.

We had the pleasure of staying in the treehouse which was beautiful, the first evening the staff served us dinner on our private balcony. The next two days we spent relaxing by the pool eating and drinking. Alex the executive chef was accomidating and created great dishes every meal was wonderful. The entire 25 person staff all were wonderful and each one of them played an important role in making our stay there so memorable!

The views from so high up of the whales tale and the ocean were great, if bored, the walk to the waterfall was the perfect mixture of beauty and adventure.

Our stay was perfect, we are already trying to figure out when we can return.

Thanks for such an amazing honeymoon!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mcompton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Lounge chairs around the pool and on the villa decks are not user friendly...indeed uncomfortable
$50 charge to be brought to and from the closest local beach or into town seems excessive for a fifteen minute ride and should be built into the resort package if too expensive for the resort to absorb
Suggest to guests a car rental if they plan to dine elsewhere or explore the area since doing it by cab is unrealistic re the $
Small points but it would make a big difference

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rweissmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKMONTANA, Owner at Rancho Pacifico, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for expressing your enjoyment for Rancho Pacifico, including considering our overall costs to be fair -- and for sharing your suggestions. We have actually just this week changed the seating options near the main pool to include a cabana area equipped with comfortable sofas, chairs and ottomans. Thus far it has been a welcomed addition for spreading out and relaxing in a living room like setting while gazing at our spectacular vistas. The other chairs being referred to are high quality anti-gravity chairs that we have employed for 5 years with excellent feedback. Of course we are not 100% pleased that you did not agree and hope the inconvenience was small. There are by the way alternative outdoor chairs in the TreeHaus that could have been substituted - or other seating that could have happily been made available upon request.

As far as the transportation charge......that was not a cost to the local beach but rather to a more distant area for which the local taxis charge $100. We consistently charge less for private and comfortable transportation than the local alternatives. But you are correct, for some a rental car is a very good choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me say that I am lucky to call this place my home away from home. I have visited this property 9 times, and each time it gets better! The staff, the food, view, villas, are all amazing! Thank you to the folks at RP for always making our trips feel so wonderful.
My favorite time is early morning, hearing the monkeys, drinking coffe and admiring the view of the whales tail.

Room Tip: If you have 4,5 or up to 8 choose Villa 3, 2-4, Villa 2. Otherwise you will love any "couple&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A bit of heaven can be found here at Rancho Pacifico. Everything from the spectacular location, the inviting accommodations, and the outstanding meals to the wonderfully attentive staff and owners make your stay an unforgettable vacation memory. If you are looking for a place that is unique and relaxing RP is it. We miss it already and will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloOcean_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The drive up the hill to RP is definitely an adventure but the oasis at the end is worth every minute. The staff make it their goal to learn your name and address your personally. The food was stupendous. A great balance of local dishes as well as fine dining. No matter where you stand, sit or sleep at RP, there is not a bad view. One thing I truly admired was the surrounding plants and trees were incorporated within the layout, it really gave the feeling if an untouched jungle. Like the land was being respected in all the building plans. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okababay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There are no words to describe the beauty and hospitality of RP. All of the staff are wonderful, the food is amazing, the setting/views stunning....I could go on and on. Bottom line: If you want to have the vacation experience of a lifetime, go to R.P.!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#3 of 13 in Uvita
175 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: $245 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rancho Pacifico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea.....Your Adult-Exclusive Hideaway in Costa Rica's Last-Best Place. One of the World's Most Awarded EcoLuxury Hotels. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy. Trip Advisor Traveler Choice - 4 consecutive years. World Travel Award Finalist - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years.....and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing