We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Barba negra - CLOSED

Barba negra
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A couple from SF recommended this restaurant, so we had to try it.
A young couple owne the place. The girl is from the Netherlands (not sure about the husband) and she lived in CR for 12 years.
The husband is in the open kitchen, cooking with passion.
Very simple decor, don't let the ugly pool area disturb you.
We ordered a 0.5 l of the house red wine, which was okay for $9.
Fresh, hot homemade focciata bread arrived to the table, which was delicious.
We ordered the chicken curry with coconut and bananas and the mahi mahi.
Both dishes were incredible. The curry had so much flavor and it was very light with lots of vegetables.
The mahi mahi was perfectly cooked, very big piece of beautiful flakey fish, again with plenty of fresh vegetables.
My boyfriend and I we're keep switching plates until both plates were empty.
We also ordered the chocolate cake, based on one of the reviews here. That was the only thing which was just okay, nothing special.
They offered a seafood plate with mussels, lobster and fresh fish for two for $55, I wish we had that.
This restaurant offers a truly incredible quality of food and not just in Costa Rican standards. They would make it in San Francisco.
They have only been open for a few months, that's why they don't have many reviews on tripadvisor yet.
Our dinner with wine and dessert was $50.
I wish them all the success for the future. Thanks for the great dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pappmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food! Great service and pleasant, clean surroudings. We had a wonderful experience dining here and will be back many times!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sliv1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We went for dinner one evening for one of our last nights in Uvita. We had seen the advertisements every where, but we were not sure about it. Obviously, we decided to give it a shot! The restaurant is completely open and there is not much to admire as far as the scenery. To be honest, the atmosphere pretty much sucked. We were extremely hot. I had to take a shower once we got back to our rental, because I had sweated so much at dinner...lol. But, I would go again in a heart beat. It was the best meal that we had on our vacation! My pasta was worth the sweat and stickiness! lol The owners were so kind and welcoming, and the cook took a lot of pride in preparing our meals. You must check out this place if you are in Uvita. I would suggest to go on a cool day though! lol

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and divine chocolate”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We traveled as a family with three of us having fish. The Marlin in the coconut cream sauce was perfect. It was fresh and sauce was sweet. It was filling, but left us enough room to try the desserts and the chocolate was divine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm service, sophisticated food, easy access”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with a warm welcome and the service throughout our lovely meal was just the right mix of attentive without being intrusive. My husband and I enjoyed two sets of appetizers and entrees that offered a sophisticated set of flavours. Portions were generous. Our meal concluded with a fresh-out-of-the-oven chocolate cake baked from cocoa beans grown on site. No guarantee if this is always available but don't miss out if it is. The setting is rustic as you'd expect for the area but set right off the Costanera, this access is about as easy as it gets. Barba Negra is a great addition to Uvita's dining choices and a worthy competitor to some of the best in Ojochal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barba negra also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing