We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveling On A Budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadshack Deli

Roadshack Deli
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Roadshack is the only place in Uvita pouring draft beer from local Costa Rica breweries! We also specialize in delicious sandwiches and cocktails!
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Traveling On A Budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Roadshack Deli in Uvita, Costa Rica is #2 Budget Place to Eat here in CR. I have eaten many of their sandwiches which come with coleslaw or home made chips at very reasonable prices. They serve lunch and super with a bar in the back. Their menu cadres to everyone who want soup, sandwiches, salad, fresh fish, smoothies, mike shacks and home made ice cream. Gluten Free menu items are available. The restaurant has WiFi as well. Prices between $4 and $14 include tax. The fresh fish dishes can get up to $20 with tax. Which is pretty reasonable on the coast.

Just a note to everyone traveling in Costa Rica, food here in CR is expensive everywhere. If you want to go even cheaper eat at a Locate Soda where the Costa Ricans eat. My experience with eating at Sodas is not good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    66
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food sofar in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Well prepared food, not the typical rice and beans you get all around. Come Friday or Saturday if you want to get the tuna!They sell out quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive and mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ordered a little of everything from the menu - a salad, a wrap, and a sandwich. The salad said it came with local nuts and arrived with none. I would have taken it up with the waiter but he had left the restaurant to go to the grocery store to buy more food, so we just ate the heap of lettuce as was. We were charged extra to make the sandwich a lettuce wrap (how 5 pieces of lettuce costs more than bread is beyond me!). As a wrap it was lots of sauce, a hunk of meat and a small bit of tomato and onion, not too tasty. The quality and flavor of all 3 dishes was just ok. Atmosphere was nice if you are homesick and wanting to find other Americans - probably the closest thing to Starbucks in the area (if you substitute a brew for the latte). We spent the rest of our week eating at the sodas (local restaurants) and getting much more food and flavor for our dollar!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraKwiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches I have had anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My favorite is the Costanera although he has a large menu for people that want some variety. I am hooked though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duaneoverturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Craft beer and Subs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Awesome sub sandwiches, don't be afraid to ask what the staff recommends, and great cold craft beers. The selection of subs is very very good and the staff were great. A little pricey, but somethings are worth the splurge, and craft beers and great subs qualified for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefhewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadshack Deli also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Roadshack Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing