We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor Espanol

Sabor Espanol
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spanish restaurant, owners from Ibiza and Barcelona. Specializing in Paellas, Sangria, Spanish Wines List, Meats and Seafood dishes. Open for dinner.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although quiet, the food was magnificent. So much so that I returned on a subsequent evening for dinner. Great hosts who are very friendly. In a way, I wish more customers would find this gem!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodwellusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    30
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uvita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best dining experiences in Costa Rica! We walk down this tiny dark road that looks as if it goes nowhere, then come to a small resteraunt in the trees 50 meters from the high tide line with the most amazing food and service. I have been a frequent visitor to Sabor Espanol, and can't decide what my favorite dish is, though they do these chicken and bacon wrapped bannanas that are extraordinary, and the tuna stuffed avocado's are amazing!
If you are in the area, you should treat yourself to one of the best meals in Costa Rica!!!...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So very, very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were so lucky to have stumbled across Sabor Espanol. The ambience was romantic, made more so by the thunderous downpour (green season!) and the resulting power outage (candlelight!). The food was sublime, and served in generous portions. Definitely get the tortilla espanola and camarones. It's a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the effort for the warm, welcoming service, fabulous food and wine, and charming atmosphere. We will definitely return for an encore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StickbugNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My second review, this is by far the best restaurant in Uvita and one of the best in thearea. The menu is Spanish with a outstanding personalised and supper friendly service by both owners. The restaurant is a bit out of the way located in front of Marino Ballena NP beach. The seafood paella for two is definitivly not to miss! We love the gaspacho a very refreshing soup for this climate. This restaurant is one of the few that we frequent. Thank you again for all the great meals and service. We will be coming back regularly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicioso !!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great place, Owners make you at home, food was awesome !!!! Never expected to find such a place in the middle of the forest !!! Must go !!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank casdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Espanol also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sabor Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing