We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Pacifico(Uvita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
280
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity suiteour honeymoonrainy seasonsliding doorcosta ricaleave the cardouble showerchef rodrigoromantic placeglass walljaw droppinggorgeous hotelcevicheturn down servicesolar panelswhale's tailsix nights
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 291 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Kura for 5 days in late April and cannot stop thinking about it! Everything about Kura is perfect. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and the great people at Kura made a truly memorable experience. The Villas are remarkably designed to remind you that you are in a rainforest while at the same time having all the amenities of a luxury hotel. They are also very eco-conscious using solar power, sustainable materials, and local art and fresh food. We got to know all of the staff including the owners and they all addressed us by name and made sure we were always happy. They definitely go the extra mile. Both Ana’s, Adam, and Marcos are fantastic people that really make Kura unique. If you stay here you MUST get a massage at their amazing spa villa. Ariana, (I hope I’m spelling her name right) is truly gifted in the art of massage. I even convinced my friend Steve to get a massage who had never had one. All of the food from snacks to dinner, and the super-fresh tropical smoothies and cocktails were delicious. I need to figure out how to make that Jaguar Mojito!!!

I agree with all the other reviewers that Kura is something special. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slush132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Slush123,
greetings from southern Costa Rica. What a review. Perfection is a strong word. But we are happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. We certainly try to do our very best for every guest and the small size of only 6 rooms allows us to really focus on personalized service and create unique experiences. We promise to give you some personalized cocktail lessons and you will be the Jaguar Mojito expert by the time you leave. Thanks for pointing out some of our staff members and especially your experience in the newly finished Spa. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband saw Kura in a travel magazine and wanted to go. Everything you see on their website and the photo's are correct. It is exactly as it looks. Kura is located in the rain forest so we had toucans, parrots, frogs,and a variety of birds right outside our room. You also look down the mountain to the beach and can hear the waves crashing. Kura provides the best of both worlds.
We stayed in the Infinity Suite which is very spacious. The staff was excellent. They provided transportation for us from the airport as well for zip lining, and to their private beach. Plus they made all the activity reservations for us.
The food was outstanding. We tried to have something different at each meal and was never disappointed with any dish. My favorite was the octopus salad at lunch.
The infinity pool was a special treat as well as the separate spa facility.
It takes a while to get there but well worth it!

Room Tip: They only have 6 suites. All of them are great and have wonderful views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn1Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I do agree with all the others reviews , this place is great!!!
We spend 3 nights at Kura and had a wonderful time at the resort. We have traveled and stayed in some really good resort all over the world, but I would still review Kura as very unique for the Central America.The Villas are fantastic and the pool area are very lovely too. It is impossible to choose the best experience during our stay, because the service level was high
everywhere :-)
Just go and relax, it is a beautiful place to spend some quality holiday time...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annemarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Kura. I can't say enough great things about this place. It was our first trip to Costa Rica, and I feel so lucky that this is where we picked to stay. First of all, the hotel design and architecture is beautiful. It is an intimate property, but with open flow in the main common areas, which is pretty much all outside. At the restaurant, you have the lush green mountains on one side of you, and the most amazing view of the Pacific (and the Whale's Tail) on the other side. Every room has this same amazing ocean view-- truly, there's not a bad seat in the house! And they did not skimp on comfort or amenities. I guess I expected an eco-resort to be a little "rougher" around the edges, but this was not so. In fact, it was luxurious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room itself was thoughtfully designed. It was probably the sexiest designed room we've ever stayed in! Very romantic. Also, the location of Kura is key. It is high up on a mountain which provided fresh breezes all day & night- it was hotter down when you drove down the mountain. Also, it's not near the hustle & bustle & crowds, which is what makes it feel so private & secluded & peaceful.

The food was delicious- fresh and healthy. Drinks were fantastic as well. Loved having fresh smoothies by the pool, which are extra yummy with a little shot of rum or vodka! We ventured out a few times, once to the little pizza place in Uvita- La Fogata (get the barbacoa pizza) and once to Exotica. Love them both. Othewise we were happy taking all the rest of our meals at the hotel. Never got tired of the food or menu.

Probably the most special thing about Kura is the people. They are so incredibly warm & friendly, very genuine with an easy attitude about everything. No request was too much for them. They arranged a trip to the beach where they have a private entrance & set us up with chairs, an umbrella, and a cooler full of lunch, water, and champagne & oj for mimosas (a special request). Marcos drove us to dinner and everywhere else, and was so fun to talk to and just a fantastic guy. Really, everyone we interacted with was amazing-- Ana, Ariana, the owners Martin & Alejandra. They were so helpful & accommodating in every way. We cannot wait to go back! I actually almost cried when we left- it was that relaxing and fun of a vacation. Don't hesitate to stay here- you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room! They all have fantastic views. We stayed in an upper level suite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have you ever lounged beside a warm, salt water pool while the sun dips into the pacific; sounds of the encroaching jungle illuminate the air, as salty sweet sips of margarita kiss your lips? Me neither. GO TO KURA.

All of the previous reviews are correct -- the hotel is VERY special, and you will treasure each day in sleepy Uvita. Martin and Alejandra spent so much time meticulously crafting the incredible structures and landscapes, but it’s the support team they’ve cultivated that truly makes the difference. Ana, Marcos, Adam, Adriana, Rita… we could go on and on.

We spent 7 nights in a Suite Villa, and having been back in The States for 3 nights now, we’re questioning why we ever left. The suites are spacious, quiet, and private. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable with the perfect weight comforter. The double rain shower with sliding door to the deck is a dream come true, and the relaxation continues once you’re wrapped in a cozy towel. The jungle’s alarm clock (a.k.a. cicadas) herald the arrival of each sunrise, and it’s the perfect time to pop a capsule in the Nespresso maker and soak in the environs on the deck. We spent the end of every day in the same spot, and I’ve never before, in any location in the world, seen the entire sky dusted with stars – nor have they ever truly twinkled in succession.

Other highlights to mention: healthy, fresh, delicious food at Kura ; empty, unspoiled beaches (Ballena and Arcos); sunset horseback riding at Playa Hermosa; the wonders of the Whale Tail sandbar; close proximity to Corcovado and Manuel Antonio Parks.

It’s not a matter of “will” we return to Kura, merely “when?”. Our sincere thanks to everyone at the hotel for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potrero71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews