We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay in the rain forest -- in simple and total...”
other travelers have booked this property
Rainforest and Ocean Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainforest and Ocean Views
Casa Uvita Front Entrance Casa Uvita_Solar Powered
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Rainforest and Ocean Views
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Casa Uvita_Solar Powered
Lap swimming
Relax by the pool
Casa Uvita Kitchen
Casa Uvita Kitchen
Outdoor dining
Two balconies with forest and ocean views
Master Bedroom Deck
Upstairs outdoor living area
Indoor/Outdoor Living
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Guest Bedroom 1
Guest Bedroom 2
Relaxing downstairs
Downstairs Living Room
View from master bedroom deck
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diane_Eli...
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in the rain forest -- in simple and total comfort!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay at Casa Uvita was a delight! We stayed here at the beginning and end of our 10-day trip to Costa Rica, and I think coming back was even more fabulous than the thrill of waking up to howler monkeys and toucan sounds on our first morning. The house is beautiful and open, and it feels like you’re living in the forest canopy (especially on the upstairs deck), but in total comfort! There are tons of things to do in the area, and Michele will help you figure all of that out, with the best guides, etc., but what we most enjoyed was sitting (or lying in the hammock) right there on the deck or patio, and watching for toucans, listening to (and sometimes seeing) the howler monkeys, watching the occasional blue morpho flap by, checking out the beautiful poison dart frogs on the lawn (not dangerous!) – and on our last day, getting to watch a sloth slowly climb up into the canopy. Michele, Consuelo and Gerardo all took great care of us (home made tortillas one morning; hike to a waterfall another day, instructions for finding the best beaches, and help when my daughter had an ear infection!). And all off the grid! Ask Michele about her solar panels, and her water catchment system… We would come back in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open house, cool and comfortable, surrounded by sounds of the forest.
Liked least: You have to have a rental car (4wd best) to stay here, as it's 2 km up a gravel road. But, that means you're up high, ocean breezes, great view...
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
It's not everyday that you get to lie on a hammock and look for monkeys and toucans! I'm so glad you enjoyed Casa Uvita and its beautiful surroundings for all that they have to offer. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M. D
1 review
“Great place, would visit again”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Excellent place to stay. Our first time to use a service like this. Owner and "staff" are in small home next door. Owner VERY helpful recommending places to see and eat at. As far as location Casa Uvita is very well located. From traveling back towards San Jose to go to Manuel Antonio (not really worth it but we did see best sloth siting here....don't pay for a guide...just follow along and see where every one is looking.) to all the beaches along the way and then south about 2 hours (towards Panama) to fabulous Wilson Botanical gardens the house was very ideally located. Multiple beaches are very close as mentioned. 3 or 4 within very quick drive (under 15 minutes) Plus...the reason I say Manuel Antonio was not worth it is that you can see all it offers plus more right there at Casa Uvita. Owner will tell you sounds to listen for and how to spot them, but if you've ever gone to "view wildlife" anywhere else you can pick up what to listen and look for pretty easily. TONS of monkeys around there. And if you drive or walk up the road (walk for a distance or drive and frequently stop to get out to go all the way around) you can see many different things. Lots of picture opportunities but everything lives high up in trees so take a good (really good...think way UP when choosing) lens for your camera and best binoculars you can afford.
As to the house. VERY nice and open which we love. Sleeping is under a mosquito net. If you absolutely hate no a/c this not the place for you but temps are good even in beginning of rainy season as it cools down and besides everything including all eating is done outside in Costa Rica anyway. No hairdryers...so do realize that. Furniture comfortable and kitchen extras well stocked. Water was good straight out of tap every where (I drank it entire time) but they do have a filter faucet too. I would go back if I where visiting this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ideally suited for viewing wildlife
Liked least: couple nights would have liked a/c when first going to bed...but we showered and the night cooled quickly so not a deal breaker.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. You had some great adventures and animal sightings, along with some spectacular thunderstorms! Hope to see you both back here in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliet93
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home in the rainforest!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We came to Costa Rica to relax in paradise and get away from it all -- Casa Uvita exceeded all our expectations.

Let me start by saying the home is absolutely gorgeous and modern. The large windows and double doors open up to lush gardens with a clear view of the ocean. You'll enjoy a full gourmet kitchen, three beautifully appointed bedrooms and several large patios complete with hammocks and rocking chairs. We spent many lazy afternoons relaxing in those hammocks, watching the thunderstorms roll in over the Pacific Ocean. The property is situated right in the middle of a rainforest. Its very private, unless you count the monkeys in the nearby trees. There was no shortage of various colorful birds and butterflies--and of course the fireflies that made their appearance every evening.

There are at least two waterfalls within hiking distance from the property. Seeing them is a must. The waterfalls feed into the most beautiful pools of blue green water, amidst the greenest forest I've ever seen. We were the only ones swimming in these pools and it was absolutely magical.

The town of Dominical is a short drive away, as is Whales Tail beach--must see! In Dominical there is also an Eco Lodge--Hacienda Baru--that offers hiking/birdwatching and canopy tours. On your way back from Domical, stop at Jolly Roger for the best wings and margaritas of your life. It requires a short drive up the mountain and its absolutely worth it. The view is unbeatable. (We loved this place so much that went twice during our stay!) Note that Jolly Roger is only open from 4-10PM and its cash only.

Casa Uvita's caretaker, Consuela, is an absolute doll who makes sure you are comfortable and well taken care of. She will take you exploring to the nearby waterfalls or beaches if you ask! There are a few grocery stores and restaurants just a short drive away.

I could go on and on--but bottom line, if you are looking for a perfect vacation home in Uvita, look no further. Thank you for everything Michelle and Antonio (and Consuela!) We're very much looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home itself--beautiful
Liked least: Very long drive from airport, but we knew this when booking:-)
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2014
We're so glad you got the R&R that you were looking for! Those hammocks and views will be waiting for you when you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke A
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Rainforest Paradise”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

While TripAdvisor has long been a great resource to us to find the best holiday accommodations, restaurants and tour operators, this is the first review I am actually taking the time to write, which pretty much says it all. Casa Uvita is a unique house in a beautiful setting. It truly is a rainforest paradise, with monkeys, birds and other wildlife right on your doorstep. You are woken up by howler monkeys in the mornings, and fall asleep to the sounds of the jungle in the evening. The house is in pristine condition. It is beautifully designed and luxuriously fitted, and you feel at home the moment you enter through the majestic entrance door. The kitchen has everything one could need on holiday, and more. The beds and pillows are also very comfortable. There is "light house-keeping" included in the rental price but Consuelo, who lives next door with her family, ensures that tidying and cleaning are not part of the holiday experience. She is a star and even made pizza for us one evening. She and her family also took us on a hike to the waterfall, which was a unique and amazing experience. We were travelling with our 2 years old son and he loved playing with Consuelo's daughter. He absolutely loved the house and is still talking about "his holiday house" and wants to get on the next plane to go back (well, so do we!). We were incredibly lucky that Michele, the owner of the house, was also there during our stay. She is an amazing woman and we learned so much about the bird life and Costa Rica from her. She generously lent us her personal equipment so that we could take a surfing lesson and enjoy the waves with the body board. But she also told us about hidden beaches and made reservations for us at restaurants. We really felt like part of the extended family. Keylor ensured that the internet was running seamlessly. Uvita in general is a really lovely place and great for all kinds of day-trips. We thought it was a perfect base with a young child. The beaches right at the doorstep are amazing, as is the wild life. Restaurants in the area are great and there are two large supermarkets in town that have pretty much everything one could need. It definitely was the best part of our Costa Rica experience and we really hope to be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! We really enjoyed meeting you and hope to have you and your friends back here when you need to get away from those cold winters in Germany! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaP...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great from stay to finish.
Great house, great views.
Friendly helpful people.
Stay here it's lovely.
You wake up with the sounds of the jungle at 5am!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of the jungle
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We hope more Parisians will make their way to Casa Uvita! Je suis très heureuse que vous aimiez Casa Uvita, Costa Rica!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheldondu...
West Olive, Michigan
2 reviews
“Just what we were looking for…and more!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We are coming to the end of our month at Casa Uvita, and we will be sad to go. It has been an amazing adventure! And a true home away from home. As we round the corner coming up the mountain and see the beautiful flowers cascading over the bank, we know we are back to our refuge. The house is beautifully designed to make you feel like you are a part of the rain forest--almost like being outside all the time. The wood floors and ceilings and woodwork and furniture are exquisite--and immaculately clean! The daily light housekeeping was far from light!
The best treat was just sitting on whatever deck had the best ocean breezes at the moment and watching and listening to the forest life around us. Howler monkeys, white-faced capuchin monkeys, toucans, aracaris, mealy parrots, and even a Scarlet Macaw. We could hear the sound of the surf, even from our bed. Owls hooted at night.
Just a short drive down the mountain and across the highway and we could walk the long beach out to the whale's tale at low tide. It was the perfect place for swimming, as the waves were minimal.
Michele was a great host, always ready to help with anything we needed, and wanting to make our stay perfect. Consuelo, besides keeping everything so spotless, taught us how to make tortillas and pizza dough and chicken asado. Gerardo found the sloth for us, whenever it was around. Alison was a joy, practicing her English on us. And Keylor has the internet connection in great working order! We even shared some "extended family" meals together.
The Uvita/Ojochal/Dominical area has many fine restaurants. Michele will be happy to pass on our recommendations.
We can't imagine a better place to have started learning to be retired.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2014
You truly became part of our family at Casa Uvita. Your "good vibes," patience and quiet demeanor led to you spotting sloths, toucans, aracaris, slaty tailed trogans, mealy parrots, capuchins, howlers, and yes...that elusive scarlet macaw. You taught us all that retirement means finally having time to enjoy life, nature, and better yet, one another. Ching, ching!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to an out-of-this-world experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Casa Uvita is a deluxe, rustic hideaway in the Costa Rican rainforest. If the use of "deluxe" and "rustic" in the same sentence seems a contradiction in terms, then you must experience Casa Uvita for yourselves and discover that yes, you can have it all even in the middle of a Central American jungle.

A short trip along an unpaved road off of Highway 34 brings you to the beautiful 3-bedroom, 4-bathroom dwelling that is Casa Uvita. Caretaker Michele Gonzalez and her staff greeted us at the front door upon our arrival.

Large and open-aired, Casa Uvita is situated on a slight hill above the road that continues on up a mountain. Three patios—a large patio next to the kitchen on the ground floor, another large patio on the second floor and a small though ample patio outside the main bedroom—afford the traveler views to the west and the Pacific Ocean. The views are framed by tall jungle trees that become populated by exotic birds at sunset.

Caretaker Michele Gonzales calls the time beginning around four p.m. "the magic hour" and deservedly so.

The "show" began with a group of six howler monkeys foraging for food high up in the trees and easily visible from la casa. As we looked at the monkeys through binoculars, Chestnut-mandibled toucans, Blue-gray tanagers, bright green Mealy parrots, Fiery-billed Aracaris and Slaty-tailed trogons began to land in the trees to the west of the property. (One afternoon, a pair of Chestnut-mandibles toucans landed on a tree branch almost within reaching distance from a porch deck.) The colorful birds, setting sun and mighty Pacific Ocean provided a setting of natural beauty truly beyond words.

Unseen cicadas are also everywhere; you may never see them, but they certainly let you know they're there. Alpha male howler monkeys also begin to roar as sunset approaches. A half hour or so after one sunset, I realized that the howling alpha males had reduced in number to one. The jungle reverberated from the bellowing of this "King of the Jungle" until he decided he'd had enough of a say for that day.

Casa Uvita is also across the highway from Marina Bellena National Park beach, home of the natural wonder known as "the whale's tail." The beaches are wide and the ocean floor slopes slowly and gently into deeper water. The water is "bathtub warm."

We stayed at Casa Uvita during the dry season. Whether you choose to travel to Casa Uvita during the wet or dry seasons, we were advised that a piece of key advice for travelers is to bring quick dry clothing. The dry season is warm and humid and the wet season is well-named.

Call Casa Uvita paradise twelve months a year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Uvita. It's so great when my guests get into learning about the rainforest -- trees, bugs, birds and monkeys. You guys saw it all! The only thing that escaped you was a sloth! So great to meet you and I hope to see you again! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$245
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing