We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Lovely”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SamanthaP...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great from stay to finish.
Great house, great views.
Friendly helpful people.
Stay here it's lovely.
You wake up with the sounds of the jungle at 5am!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of the jungle
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We hope more Parisians will make their way to Casa Uvita! Je suis très heureuse que vous aimiez Casa Uvita, Costa Rica!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheldondu...
West Olive, Michigan
2 reviews
“Just what we were looking for…and more!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We are coming to the end of our month at Casa Uvita, and we will be sad to go. It has been an amazing adventure! And a true home away from home. As we round the corner coming up the mountain and see the beautiful flowers cascading over the bank, we know we are back to our refuge. The house is beautifully designed to make you feel like you are a part of the rain forest--almost like being outside all the time. The wood floors and ceilings and woodwork and furniture are exquisite--and immaculately clean! The daily light housekeeping was far from light!
The best treat was just sitting on whatever deck had the best ocean breezes at the moment and watching and listening to the forest life around us. Howler monkeys, white-faced capuchin monkeys, toucans, aracaris, mealy parrots, and even a Scarlet Macaw. We could hear the sound of the surf, even from our bed. Owls hooted at night.
Just a short drive down the mountain and across the highway and we could walk the long beach out to the whale's tale at low tide. It was the perfect place for swimming, as the waves were minimal.
Michele was a great host, always ready to help with anything we needed, and wanting to make our stay perfect. Consuelo, besides keeping everything so spotless, taught us how to make tortillas and pizza dough and chicken asado. Gerardo found the sloth for us, whenever it was around. Alison was a joy, practicing her English on us. And Keylor has the internet connection in great working order! We even shared some "extended family" meals together.
The Uvita/Ojochal/Dominical area has many fine restaurants. Michele will be happy to pass on our recommendations.
We can't imagine a better place to have started learning to be retired.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2014
You truly became part of our family at Casa Uvita. Your "good vibes," patience and quiet demeanor led to you spotting sloths, toucans, aracaris, slaty tailed trogans, mealy parrots, capuchins, howlers, and yes...that elusive scarlet macaw. You taught us all that retirement means finally having time to enjoy life, nature, and better yet, one another. Ching, ching!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to an out-of-this-world experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Casa Uvita is a deluxe, rustic hideaway in the Costa Rican rainforest. If the use of "deluxe" and "rustic" in the same sentence seems a contradiction in terms, then you must experience Casa Uvita for yourselves and discover that yes, you can have it all even in the middle of a Central American jungle.

A short trip along an unpaved road off of Highway 34 brings you to the beautiful 3-bedroom, 4-bathroom dwelling that is Casa Uvita. Caretaker Michele Gonzalez and her staff greeted us at the front door upon our arrival.

Large and open-aired, Casa Uvita is situated on a slight hill above the road that continues on up a mountain. Three patios—a large patio next to the kitchen on the ground floor, another large patio on the second floor and a small though ample patio outside the main bedroom—afford the traveler views to the west and the Pacific Ocean. The views are framed by tall jungle trees that become populated by exotic birds at sunset.

Caretaker Michele Gonzales calls the time beginning around four p.m. "the magic hour" and deservedly so.

The "show" began with a group of six howler monkeys foraging for food high up in the trees and easily visible from la casa. As we looked at the monkeys through binoculars, Chestnut-mandibled toucans, Blue-gray tanagers, bright green Mealy parrots, Fiery-billed Aracaris and Slaty-tailed trogons began to land in the trees to the west of the property. (One afternoon, a pair of Chestnut-mandibles toucans landed on a tree branch almost within reaching distance from a porch deck.) The colorful birds, setting sun and mighty Pacific Ocean provided a setting of natural beauty truly beyond words.

Unseen cicadas are also everywhere; you may never see them, but they certainly let you know they're there. Alpha male howler monkeys also begin to roar as sunset approaches. A half hour or so after one sunset, I realized that the howling alpha males had reduced in number to one. The jungle reverberated from the bellowing of this "King of the Jungle" until he decided he'd had enough of a say for that day.

Casa Uvita is also across the highway from Marina Bellena National Park beach, home of the natural wonder known as "the whale's tail." The beaches are wide and the ocean floor slopes slowly and gently into deeper water. The water is "bathtub warm."

We stayed at Casa Uvita during the dry season. Whether you choose to travel to Casa Uvita during the wet or dry seasons, we were advised that a piece of key advice for travelers is to bring quick dry clothing. The dry season is warm and humid and the wet season is well-named.

Call Casa Uvita paradise twelve months a year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Uvita. It's so great when my guests get into learning about the rainforest -- trees, bugs, birds and monkeys. You guys saw it all! The only thing that escaped you was a sloth! So great to meet you and I hope to see you again! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalAdvent...
California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rustic Nature Setting or Luxury? At Casa Uvita You Can Have It All!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Wow, Casa Uvita was all we hoped for from reading the reviews, and more! First, the house itself is gorgeous. It is amazing to be in such a remote and eco-conscious place, completely off the grid, and yet experience such luxury. Secondly, the setting is fabulous. Just sitting on the deck, taking in the view and the sights and sounds of the jungle, was all we needed to make our vacation a huge success. We saw wonderful birds, monkeys and even a sloth – no need to go to a crowded park; it was all right there in our front and back yard! The wildlife is especially amazing at dusk and dawn – we really miss waking to the sounds of the howler monkeys!
If you want to do more (though you don’t really need to in order to have a great visit), there are so many options – beautiful hikes, picture postcard perfect beaches, waterfalls and swimming holes all to yourself, kayak and snorkeling adventures, and great restaurants (though we mostly ate in – the store is right at the bottom of the road, the kitchen is lovely and there is an outdoor BBQ).
And these are just the things we managed to fit into 4 days at Casa Uvita – we need to come back and stay longer! The best part: our hostess, Michele, was so warm, welcoming and happy to help us plan our days of adventure. We never would have discovered a fraction of the area on our own. She will tell you the best place to hike at low tide, the best beach spot for the sunset, the best guides in the area, the best restaurants, whatever your heart desires. Her sense of wonder, excitement and passion for protecting the environment are infectious. Thank you, Michele, for the best visit to Costa Rica imaginable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2014
I was thrilled to have guests so interested in learning about the birds, monkeys, and bugs! You came prepared to hike, snorkel and beach comb, but I'm glad you also found some time to simply sit on the deck and take in the views and endless sounds. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petsko
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nature pure - lovely!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We (6 people) enjoyed one wonderful week at Casa Uvita in the middle of the nature. We all loved the house and the location, it was totally relaxing and everything in the house was top quality and elegant.

Michele, the owner, was very engaged and helpful everytime we went out on a trip. She could not have been a better host! She even brought part of the family to the airport in San Jose, amazing!

If you love being in the middle of the nature, this is the place to be - we found it offered very good value for money!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2014
It was so great to have you visit from Switzerland! You all were troopers, taking advantage to explore this southern Pacific region of Costa Rica--mangroves, the Whale's Tail, waterfalls, Boruca Indian reserve, Manuel Antonio and Dominical at sunset. I hope to see your beautiful family back here some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim N
Fresno, California
1 review
“Amazing Place - Gorgeous Views - Great Location”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Uvita. The house was amazing and provided views of the ocean and the surrounding rainforest. The covered patio was a perfect setting for relaxing with a morning cup of coffee as we discussed the days activities or in the evening as we looked through the dozens of pictures we had taken that day. Casa Uvita was a great location for our many adventures - walking on the beach, surfing, whitewater rafting and of course hiking. At the top of our list was a hike led by Carlos to the waterfalls. The expedition took us to one of the most beautiful places I had ever experienced.

We enjoyed waking each morning to the sounds of Howler Monkeys, Parrots and Toucans. Several mornings we all rushed to see the Sloth that had set up camp in the tree next to the house. Staying at Casa Uvita, you really felt like you were in the middle of this beautiful and remote location and yet we were only a 10 minute drive down the road to town where we could get groceries, dine or have a cocktail.

Our hosts were wonderful. Michele provided excellent recommendations on activities and dining. We appreciated her assistance in making arrangements for our excursions. We loved Carlos. It was such a treat to have the coffee ready each morning - thank you Carlos. He also prepared morning breakfast and Pina Coladas on several occasions.

We will definitely be back to the area and plan to stay at Casa Uvita. This is truly a hidden treasure.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2013
It was wonderful to have you and your extended family here at Casa Uvita. We, along with the sloths, monkeys, toucans, etc., will all be waiting for you when you return (Bella and Duquesa too). Best wishes for the New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing