We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic Nature Setting or Luxury? At Casa Uvita...”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
CalAdvent...
California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rustic Nature Setting or Luxury? At Casa Uvita You Can Have It All!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Wow, Casa Uvita was all we hoped for from reading the reviews, and more! First, the house itself is gorgeous. It is amazing to be in such a remote and eco-conscious place, completely off the grid, and yet experience such luxury. Secondly, the setting is fabulous. Just sitting on the deck, taking in the view and the sights and sounds of the jungle, was all we needed to make our vacation a huge success. We saw wonderful birds, monkeys and even a sloth – no need to go to a crowded park; it was all right there in our front and back yard! The wildlife is especially amazing at dusk and dawn – we really miss waking to the sounds of the howler monkeys!
If you want to do more (though you don’t really need to in order to have a great visit), there are so many options – beautiful hikes, picture postcard perfect beaches, waterfalls and swimming holes all to yourself, kayak and snorkeling adventures, and great restaurants (though we mostly ate in – the store is right at the bottom of the road, the kitchen is lovely and there is an outdoor BBQ).
And these are just the things we managed to fit into 4 days at Casa Uvita – we need to come back and stay longer! The best part: our hostess, Michele, was so warm, welcoming and happy to help us plan our days of adventure. We never would have discovered a fraction of the area on our own. She will tell you the best place to hike at low tide, the best beach spot for the sunset, the best guides in the area, the best restaurants, whatever your heart desires. Her sense of wonder, excitement and passion for protecting the environment are infectious. Thank you, Michele, for the best visit to Costa Rica imaginable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2014
I was thrilled to have guests so interested in learning about the birds, monkeys, and bugs! You came prepared to hike, snorkel and beach comb, but I'm glad you also found some time to simply sit on the deck and take in the views and endless sounds. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petsko
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nature pure - lovely!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We (6 people) enjoyed one wonderful week at Casa Uvita in the middle of the nature. We all loved the house and the location, it was totally relaxing and everything in the house was top quality and elegant.

Michele, the owner, was very engaged and helpful everytime we went out on a trip. She could not have been a better host! She even brought part of the family to the airport in San Jose, amazing!

If you love being in the middle of the nature, this is the place to be - we found it offered very good value for money!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2014
It was so great to have you visit from Switzerland! You all were troopers, taking advantage to explore this southern Pacific region of Costa Rica--mangroves, the Whale's Tail, waterfalls, Boruca Indian reserve, Manuel Antonio and Dominical at sunset. I hope to see your beautiful family back here some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim N
Fresno, California
1 review
“Amazing Place - Gorgeous Views - Great Location”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Uvita. The house was amazing and provided views of the ocean and the surrounding rainforest. The covered patio was a perfect setting for relaxing with a morning cup of coffee as we discussed the days activities or in the evening as we looked through the dozens of pictures we had taken that day. Casa Uvita was a great location for our many adventures - walking on the beach, surfing, whitewater rafting and of course hiking. At the top of our list was a hike led by Carlos to the waterfalls. The expedition took us to one of the most beautiful places I had ever experienced.

We enjoyed waking each morning to the sounds of Howler Monkeys, Parrots and Toucans. Several mornings we all rushed to see the Sloth that had set up camp in the tree next to the house. Staying at Casa Uvita, you really felt like you were in the middle of this beautiful and remote location and yet we were only a 10 minute drive down the road to town where we could get groceries, dine or have a cocktail.

Our hosts were wonderful. Michele provided excellent recommendations on activities and dining. We appreciated her assistance in making arrangements for our excursions. We loved Carlos. It was such a treat to have the coffee ready each morning - thank you Carlos. He also prepared morning breakfast and Pina Coladas on several occasions.

We will definitely be back to the area and plan to stay at Casa Uvita. This is truly a hidden treasure.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2013
It was wonderful to have you and your extended family here at Casa Uvita. We, along with the sloths, monkeys, toucans, etc., will all be waiting for you when you return (Bella and Duquesa too). Best wishes for the New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzFive
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful house, location and hosts”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our family stayed at Casa Uvita for four nights at the end of November 2013. (Me, my husband, and three boys ages 12, 10 and 9.) We were at Casa Corcovado on Osa for three nights before coming to Uvita. I knew we wanted to go to the Marino Ballena area but wasn't sure where to stay. I narrowed it down to a couple of houses and hotels. I am SO GLAD we decided to stay at Casa Uvita. The house was great and our Uvita experience would not have been the same without Michele and Carlos.

Some highlights that were made possible by Michele's expertise: We parked at Villa Leonor and walked all the way to Playa Arco (Michele's favorite beach). Michele told us the best time to go based on the tide. Carlos took us on a hike to a beautiful waterfall including a fun little rappel down some slippery rocks. We had a blast ocean kayaking and taking a nature hike with Carlos' guides (a different Carlos) at Playa Uvita. We rode the waves in our kayaks and later found bats and drank coconut water. Also, we enjoyed a wonderful fish dinner and breakfast prepared by Carols (and Michele!) at the house.

We loved that Casa Uvita was an eco-home; it was a great experience for our kids. I miss waking up to the howler monkeys and watching macaws while we ate breakfast. The house was well appointed and had everything we needed and more. The location and view is awesome. We felt very safe at Casa Uvita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2013
It was so great to have the "Fabulous Five" with us! You and the boys have so much energy! We hope to see you again at Casa Uvita. Pura vida! Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck2013
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Honeymoon Retreat”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Uvita during the first leg of our honeymoon, and we absolutely LOVED it! We spent 5 days and 5 nights there, and easily could have stayed 5 more. The house itself is a work of art, handcrafted to complete perfection. The hardwood floors, the pitched ceilings, the patios, the balconies, the perfectly appointed kitchen- even the decorations and furniture. Everything about this house is gorgeous.

As the description says, it is indeed located in the rainforest. While the location of the property feels very remote and allows you to feel alone in nature, it is only 1.5 miles from the center of Uvita, and is just a 10 minute drive to the beach. Every night we fell asleep to the hum of the forest, and every morning we awoke to a symphony of birds, and occasionally the loud bark of a howler monkey, or a crack of thunder.

Our groundskeeper, Carlos, was an excellent host. He made us breakfast and coffee every single morning, and on one occasion he even made us arroz con leche. It was like having dessert for breakfast. Totally amazing. In addition, he was always around to blend up a round of pina coladas, or if we were feeling adventurous, on a breathtaking waterfall hike! He even took us to meet one of the neighbors, Lobo, who let us eat fruit from his trees.

We really felt at home at Casa Uvita, and truly can't wait to return! I recommend this home to anyone is looking to get away from it all and take in nature, but also to anyone who wants to be close enough to actually enjoy what the town of Uvita has to offer!

Thanks to everyone at Casa Uvita for making our honeymoon truly special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attentiveness of staff and location of property
Liked least: Nothing. I enjoyed every aspect of this experience.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you two honeymooners at Casa Uvita! Don't forget, we're always available for anniversaries or other special romantic celebrations! Best of luck as you begin your life together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing