We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil oasis, with an ocean view”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Katy B
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Tranquil oasis, with an ocean view”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent 2 days at Casa Uvita, and I would go back in a heartbeat! The house, the surroundings, and the wonderful people make this a truly unforgettable place.

The property is gorgeous – we felt like we were staying at a at a luxurious eco-camp. We were able to enjoy the privacy and freedom of camping, but in much more lux surroundings (immaculately clean rooms, ocean views from both floors, covered balconies, hammocks, and situated on the edge of a primary rain forest). Casa Uvita is adjacent to a lot of natural beauty, and we were able to spend our days hiking, birding, playing in the pool of waterfall, body surfing at the nearby beach, and of course relaxing.

Breakfast and dinner are provided daily by Carlos, the on-site housekeeper/cook, and he was not only friendly but a fantastic chef.

Casa Uvita truly is a paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie V
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
“Paradise Found - This is AS GOOD AS IT GETS!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I spent the most AMAZING week at Casa Uvita this past July. I am a teacher who has lived and worked in Costa Rica (and led many a field trip there with my science students), and so I was really looking for something unique and special that I had not experienced before. Casa Uvita not only met, but far surpassed my expectations. The house itself was absolutely beautiful, with custom woodwork throughout and granite countertops in the kitchen. What I loved the most, however, was the feeling of being in the middle of the rainforest even when I was inside the house! Its "open" construction with upstairs and downstairs balconies gave it the feel of a majestic tree house -- you could practically reach out and touch the wildlife and birds as they went by. I literally was awakened each morning by nearby howler monkeys, toucans, forest falcons, and mealy parrots who were searching for their breakfast. Each evening I went to sleep to the hypnotic sounds of owls, tinamous, and chicharras (cicadas). I experienced world-class birding every morning (slaty-tailed trogons, violaceous trogans, masked & black-crowned titaras, laughing falcons, collared forest falcons, brown-hooded parrots, white-fronted parrots, red-lored parrots, mealy parrots, parakeets too numerous to count, golden hooded tanagers + many other types of tanager, multiple varieties of flycatcher, euphonias, chestnut-billed toucans (they were EVERYWHERE!), fiery-billed aracaris, blue-crowned motmots, pearl kites, manakins, and on and on. I felt like I was living in a national geographic movie! Besides the incredible hiking with outrageous views of the ocean (there also is an ocean view from the house itself), I hiked down to a beautiful waterfall and swam in the waterhole within the forest. Another day I drove to Marino Ballena national park (10 minutes away) and spent an amazing day on its many beaches (the main beach has a great tide for small children -- very safe). On two other days I road-biked along the main road with an ocean view. The house is fairly new, so the accommodations were super clean and comfortable. Carlos the cook/on-site staff person was very kind and helpful, and made wonderful breakfasts and dinners! This was a unforgettable vacation; I certainly will be back for another stay at Casa Uvita next summer. Many thanks to the gracious owners for their incredible knowledge of Costa Rica and its culture, and for sharing tips on fun activities to do while there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the closeness to nature - hiking, wildlife, beaches, and the sounds of the rainforest.
Liked least: It can get very humid mid-day -- that's when it's time to head to the beach!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed July 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA USA
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Costa Rica
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
escazu
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing