We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blown away down by the River”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael A
1 review
“Blown away down by the River”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my wife traveled through Costa Rica and stopped at various places around this beautiful country, we then stopped at Casitas Del Rio and where blow away by the setting by the river. It was by far the best place we stayed whilst traveling this beautiful country. Steve and Rachel where fantastic hosts and nothing was a problem we were greeted with drinks and snacks and shown how everything in the room worked. Our Casita was extremely spacious and beautiful beyond our expectations, we had everything we needed to cook our meals, the grounds are fantastic providing the true jungle experience. In the morning we rose to the sound of the howler monkeys and were lucky enough to see a sloth right outside our porch. On the evening we cooked ourselves a BBQ and sat and listened to the jungle night life with a glass of wine.

Just a short 10 minute stroll up the river is a beautiful secluded water fall with swimming holes all around it. We spent hours there and saw scarlet macaws and tucans. Rachel also provided us with the most comprehensive guide of all the local restaurants and activities and we used it on a daily basis. But on a few days we just stopped in the grounds and truely relaxed. Highly recommended we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Hello we are so pleased you took time to write such a fantastic review. We are happy your vacation lived up to your expectations and you both enjoyed Costa Rica and especially Casitas Del Rio. You were great friendly guests and look forward to seeing you again next year. Rachel & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Rachel and Steve were fantastic hosts and Las Casitas is quite possibly the most beautiful place I have ever seen in my life. Rachel and Steve met us when we arrived and offered us a couple beers which could not have been appreciated more after a long drive from Monteverde. We preceded to sit on the porch and look out onto a beautiful garden and stream with the jungle in the background. The only sounds were the animals and the running water. I cannot think of anything that better captures the beauty and feeling of Costa Rica than this location. O, and it's a five minute drive from a beautiful coconut strewn beach. The cabins, (bungalows? apartments?) whatever you want to call them, are new, extremely clean, and both comfortable and well equipped. I cannot overstate how fantastic it was staying with Rachel and Steve.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
WOW, Thank you so much for your kind review, great guests, interesting people and we are so happy you had a fantastic time at Casitas Del Rio. You are both welcome back any time with open arms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamwalke...
1 review
“Beautifully intouch with nature.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed at the casitas del rio for 7 nights during march, and have to say it was a wonderful break from the hassle and bustle of England.

Rachael and Steve grey were excellent hosts who bent over backwards to make my stay amazing.

The location of the property is peaceful apart from the sound of the monkeys in the morning (although a better sound than traffic)

Overall had an amazing stay and looking forward to returning and seeing the new pool.

Thank you both

Mr A Walker

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Casitas Del Rio is definitely a good place to escape the hustle and bustle of England, and we are glad that you were able to relax and unwind. It is our pleasure to be able to give you top tips and help you out in any way to make your stay with us run smoothly, and we hope to see you back here sometime soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like magic...one is provided with hospitality and helpfulness within a lovely tranquil space.”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It is also quite evident that thought has gone into many decisions ranging from colour palate and luxurious styling, to quiet running of appliances, all was in great working order. So comfort, privacy and beautiful landscape; these are gracious hosts can be counted on for high standards, discretion and attention to detail. Thanks to both of you for your great contributions to your new community as well,
Sincerely, Helen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity, Privacy, Tranquility
Liked least: We did need to read Rachel and Steve's great instructions/map, as our GPS didn't
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
It was a pleasure to meet you and be able to make your stay even more enjoyable. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us, and that we were able to spend time with you in our beautiful area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second time's a charm!”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We returned to Casitas del Rio, this time in dry season, and it was the perfect escape from the endless NJ winter. Once you pass through the gates to Steve and Rachel's little retreat, you enter a lush tropical garden full of flowers of every color. The highlight of every day there was a dip in the river with a cold beer, and watching the bright blue Morpho butterflies fly along the shore. It is the perfect location to enjoy Playa Hermosa, and one of the most navigable roads in the area...even without 4WD.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and river
Liked least: Going home to NJ
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
We are glad that you came back again to escape the NJ winter. Hope to see you back again soon, it is always a pleasure to have you stay here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
We are glad that you were able to make the most of the beautiful surroundings and that you enjoyed your time here watching the water and looking for monkeys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CoastalPa...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Rachel and Steve could not have been more gracious hosts! Bravo to Steve for the gorgeous gardens he has created, truly a little slice of paradise. Rachel had a wealth on information regarding tours and activities. The casitas, themselves were beyond our expectations… beautifully constructed, roomy, and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed hiking and playing in the river, watching wildlife in the gardens, and cooking on the grill, all in a very private and peaceful setting.

The only amenity that could have made our stay even better would be a covered structure over the outdoor cooking and dining area. We found ourselves getting very creative when our grilling was interrupted by rain.

Overall, I only wish we had had more time to spend at this lovely oasis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us - it was great for us to have such a lovely, friendly family group use all 3 casitas and enjoy the gardens.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing