We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous vacation at the casita”
other travelers have booked this property
Go for a swim in our 50ft pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Go for a swim in our 50ft pool
Casita surrounded by lush greenery on the banks of the river Queen sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Go for a swim in our 50ft pool
Casita surrounded by lush greenery on the banks of the river
Queen sized bed
2 Acre River Garden
Casita surrounded by lush greenery on the banks of the river
Lounge around outside your casita watching the river
Casita Porch with Red Heliconia
Surrounded by the beautiful rain forest and the sound of the howler monkeys
kitchenette and all utensils to ensure you are able to cook your special meals
locally hand made furniture.
Luxury bathroom with granite sink and large powerfull shower
kitchenette with a new addition of a mini bar
3 casitas private garden and driveway
Enjoy the sights and sounds on our locally made loungers outside your porch
Relax by the pool in our rustic rancho
River View from Casitas
Inside your casita - bed and kitchenette
Pool by mother nature
Our visiting sloth makes a regular appearance along with numerous wildlife and birds.
A 5 minute gentle stroll Up-River to a gorgeous secluded waterfall.
After a 20 minute hike you arrive at this swimming hole/waterfall
closest beach
sunset at local beach
local beach and mountains- no people, no highrises
El Pavon waterfall and restaurant 20 minutes away
A view of the casita from the river front
Two cariaris on our papaya trees.
Scarlet Macaws visiting the grounds
White faced monkeys are our friendly neighbors.
Visiting Tucans
Locally made dining table for 2
The lush gardens and a view of the gentle flowing river.
Winding paths to hidden private areas of the grounds
One of the Breakfast areas with a BBQ area
The gardens in natural full bloom
Bathroom area
Relax in the poolside rancho
Go for a swim in our 50ft pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andreas_M...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation at the casita”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our three nights stay at Karen's and Axel's casita was one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. The casitas are basic but comfortable and they have air conditioning (which you will need). You sit outside on the porch looking onto the jungle on the other side of the river and the beautifully maintained property. You watch lots of birds comming by (bring binoculars!). You can walk up the river to a little waterfall (it's actually more a couple of cascades) and take a dip in one of two natural pools.

Karen and Axel are wonderful people. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

You will need a car to get there, though. We had a 4WD and I suppose a car without it would have difficulty getting up the steep slope that leads to the property.

Very recommendable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim f
st paul
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than all the fabulous previous trip advisor reviews.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

As I was researching places to stay near Uvita I came upon Casitas Del Rio. All of the reviews were awesome and the cost was well within our budget allotments. We arrived with very high expectations.

We spent three nights with Karen, Axel, Betty and Wilson. From the moment we arrived till the time we forced to leave, three nights later, against our will, all of our high expectations were greatly exceeded.

Karen and Axel are the most gracious hosts we have ever encountered in our many years of travel. They are also a lot of fun to be with. They always joined us at the natural pool in the river for happy hour each day.

There are 3 casitas next to each other. We cooked our own food there as we did not want to leave such a beautiful setting. You will see more hummingbirds and butterfly's than people. The hike up to the waterfall is a bit of a challenge but well worth the effort.

Betty and Wilson were our constant companions. I am pretty sure that Karen and Axel had arranged this as they most likely sensed my longing for my little four legged Bubba that I had abondened for two weeks and left him to freeze back in Minnesota. Like I said they are the most accommodating hosts ever.

This was our fifth time to Costa Rica and of the many different places we have stayed this along with Pacific Edge in Dominical are by far the best we have visited and also at the lowest price range of all the other establishments.

I was hesitant to post such good reviews of these two properties because I fear they will become so popular that eventually I may not be able to afford them but it was because of the Trip Advisor reviews that I was able to discover these awesome places. Play it forward.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts, their welcoming committee, Betty and Wilson
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajhajd
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a fantastic three night stay in December. Axel and Karen couldn't have been more helpful and the casita was very well equipped and very comfortable. The location was really tranquil, the river beautiful and well located for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd L
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“A little corner of paradise!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Where to start? My wife and I booked this vacation because we wanted to stay somewhere to unwind. Having visited Costa Rica before, we knew a little about the hot tourist spots and what kind of crowds those places attracted. but we wanted rest and relaxation, and Casitas del Rio delivered. A clean cabin, beautiful gardens, sparkling clear river complete with waterfalls and gracious hosts were all a part of the package. I could have spent the entire time just chilling on the porch, but my wife wanted to see the sights of the southern zone, and that's where this place really shines. Everything you could possibly want to see or do is 30 min. Or less away. Great eateries, beautiful beaches, several cascading waterfalls, exotic birds and animals, you name it, it's all very abundant around Uvita.

Axel and Karen went out of there way to make this the best experience possible. He even made us some of his special Juka (sp) the last night we were there. Yum! All I can add at this point is that we are looking forward to our return trip next January. Puranas Vidal!

Todd & Kari

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Todd and Kari,
Thank you so much for all the wonderful and positive words! You were both delightful and perfect guests. We only wish you had more time to stay with us. See you next January!
Axel and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bekkyw201...
Puerto Jimenes, Costa Rica
1 review
“Pure Perfection”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What could we even begin to say about Karen & Axel that would do them, or Casitas del Rio, justice?? The casita was perfect in every possible way. Views from the front porch of the river and incredible scenery, not to mention the sounds of the river, made it the most amazing "tranquilo" get away. Inside we had everything: dishes, utensils, linens, fresh flower arrangements and even a bowl of the freshest fruit and a bottle of wine. They literally thought of EVERYTHING!

Then there's Karen & Axel, two of the most fantastic people to ever grace the Earth. Our stay was originally three days and when we left we agreed they were more like family than those we are biologically linked to. We enjoyed our stay, and Karen and Axel, so much that we changed our plans to come back for one more night. We even debated canceling our trip to Panama to stay with them just a little bit longer. They are welcoming, energetic, fun people that we consider ourselves so lucky to have met.

Casitas del Rio was pure perfection! It was amazing beyond our wildest dreams and we feel so fortunate to have been able to spend our time there.

Karen & Axel, thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our beautiful casita.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantstic Place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay there. Karen was more than helpful with any questions we had. The Casitas where very nice, even better than the pictures! Quiet property with the beautiful sound of the river. Toucans, butterflies, very peaceful. Would stay there again. Clean rooms with nice little touches. Close to the beach and Uvita!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet yet close to the beach and Uvita
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brion C
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a great 5 nights at Casitas del Rio and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the southern Pacific Coast. The Casitas are perfect and the scenery with the river running right next to the Casitas is picture perfect. Great restaurants, beaches are close by. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location and scenery
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing