We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TikiVillas(Uvita)
$143
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Tica Lodge(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Tucan Hotel(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Ballena(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranchos Remo(Uvita)(Great Value!)
$75
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$570
$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
97
51
17
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
51
17
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale's tailpoolside barplate presentationthe rooms were niceinfinity poolcosta ricarestaurant and bar areafew beersoutstanding viewswinding roadwhales taletunalow tideair conditionerfresh fruitexotic birdsocean view
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 197 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel has gorgeous, however it seems like it use to be nicer 10 years ago, the hotel rooms are getting a little old and the service is not very good. The restaurant is over priced for what you get. The listed price on their site was $125 per night for high season, however we showed up without a reservation and I saw that the person before us paid $97 per night so I told the guy that was the rate we were quoted. It is not worth $125 but for $97 the rooms are clean and every room has a balcony and a million dollar view looking west over the ocean. You will need a car to get here and get around. Over all if you get the room for less than 100 it is worth a day or two for the view.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We spent 2 weeks travelling around Costa Rica and this was one of the better hotels we stayed at.

We didn't book in advance as it was the low season. The room was $115 and very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is set in a beautiful surroundings with a fantastic panaramic view of the ocean. Yes the hotel is perched on a cliff top, but thats how you get the view, and anyone who has been to Costa Rica will know that almost all the roads are horrendous and you can't get anywhere decent without a 4x4. The short drive up to the hotel is really not that bad. There are no beach front hotels in Uvita, so to get a place with such a great view is a bonus.

The hotel restaurant was expensive, but the food was lovely and the service was great. Breakfast was also included and consisted of fruit juice, coffee, fruit salad, toast and pancakes or typical tico breakfast of beans and rice. The pancakes were divine!

There is nothing 'eco' about this hotel, but who can blame them for catching on to the fact that 'eco' is a buzz word and that gringos want to stay somewhere that is seen as eco. It is rare to find somewhere that really is eco in Costa Rica.

Overall I would recommend staying here, we have a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sparkles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We had an bad experience here.
The view from this hotel is amazing. You do need a car to get to the top of the hill that it is perched upon. There is a pool and a restaurant/bar area that is nice.

The problems were, however:
1. They tried to overcharge us upon arrival
2. They tried to make us stay at the rooms farthest away and with he worst views even though the place was EMPTY!
3. There is NOTHING 'eco' about this lodge! Ex. everything is plastic wrapped!
4. The food is the WORST we have ever had, least alone at a nice, expensive hotel/resort

The restaurant is very expensive for Costa Rica and awful. My boyfriend’s steak tasted though it was covered in Jam. It seems they have only one pan that they use to cook all the meals and both our fish and steak tasted like 'burnt pan.' We also have a seafood platter for two that consisted of buttered potatoes and a few pieces of CANNED seafood - awful. And, because it is so far up the hill you are stuck eating most dinners there.

I do not recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elissa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

The photos on the Whales and Dolphins website paired with the $185/night pricetag led my boyfriend and I to believe that this would be a gorgeous, beachside resort. It is neither of these things.

It is nowhere near the beach it would probably take about 30 or 45 minutes to hike down the mountain and walk all the way there), and the road to hotel is up a 45 degree incline, one way, very scary road. Don't even think about taking this road if you don't have 4 wheel drive.

The views are stunning and the restaurant staff was great, but our enjoyment of the hotel ended there. Our room was a total dump: broken coffee pot, drapes that didn't close, uncomfortable bed, SAND IN THE SHEETS, broken telephone, etc.

Furthermore, the female manager we dealt with was horrible. She promised my boyfriend a major price reduction on our room and then literally hid from us whenever she'd see us around the lobby. When we finally came to check out, we saw here hide again, and she made the poor girl at the desk tell us that it was only a $15 discount.

I would just like to add that my boyfriend and I generally hate to complain about service or anything else, but this place was just outrageous. If they lowered their prices to $50/night, then it might be appropriate to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bienvenidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at Whales and Dolphins in february for three nights. We were agreably surprised by the hotel! The views from the pool and bar are really spectacular! Pool is great, the rooms look brand new, beds are confortable, there is a mini bar, sat tv, efficient AC and a balcony with excellent views where you can watch the sunset. We ate at the restaurant and it was excellent though a bit pricey. I have to thank the staff at tbe bar and the reception for their help. They arranged and rescheduled our tours for us (dolphin tour and Corcovado)... On the negative side, the hotel is located on a hill, the road is OK but you need a 4x4 to get there. While we were there they were paviing parts of the road, maybe access will be easier in the future. If you dont have a car, I think there is a shuttle service down to the tourist information center. One thing, if you book there, make sure you are going to be in the upper building. The rooms are down from the restaurant, pool, and reception, so there are lots of steps to the lower building and the views are not going to be as great as in the upper building...
We would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dHoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews