We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No power... candle light dining..”

Marino Ballena Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The best ambience in Uvita, in the Southern Pacific Costa Rica. It's a ranch style restaurant, no doors, spacious, ideal for groups, families and tourist alike. International couisine and typical Costa Rica food.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“No power... candle light dining..”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent staff and service.. The food was very good and fresh.. We lost the power just after sitting down but candle light was nice.. One order was not good.. This resulted from a mix up in a dark kitchen and was sent back.. It was replaced without question and the replacement meal was excellent like the other meals..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    106
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was good.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The service was good. The whole fried snapper was delicious. One of our dinner guests got a bad meal but the management was happy to fix it.

The restaurant lost power on both nights we dined there. Obviously it happens a lot because the staff didn't miss a beat.

Everything was served hot and fresh.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eaglebyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“After going for groceries”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Wonderful place to relax after getting stocked up at the BM grocery store.
Great ceviche .
Great place to unwind

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Casado”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The casado I had here was the best I had during my entire two weeks in Costa Rica. It was delicious! My husband and daughter both ordered burgers and fries. I warned them that I had read that burgers aren't great in Costa Rica. My daughter liked her hamburger just fine, but my husband didn't like his at all. He ordered burgers several times throughout our trip across the country, and he said they all tasted the same so the bad burger wasn't the fault of this restaurant. (And why did he keep ordering them??) The service here was quick, if not the friendliest. Prices were a little high, but it was a very clean, nice place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank famvac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So happy to find this place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After traveling all day to get to CR from Chicago, we had 9 hungry people. We headed down the hill from our villa and came upon Restaurante Marino Ballena with plans to just fill our bellies.

Turns out, everyone enjoyed their drinks, appetizers (great cerviche) and meals. When were undecisive another night, headed back to this place for another great meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marino Ballena Restaurant also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Marino Ballena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing