We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Bungalows Ballena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows Ballena
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bungalow Ballena is a great place, very good service from friendly staff. well managed. good for kids, very close to nice beach, waterfall etc. bungalow had all we need and more. would recommend it. close to super market, bank and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank pmv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Bungalows Ballena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very clean and friendly staffs. Nice and clean kitchen with all equipment you will need. The pool was clean and refreshing after the hot sunny beaches. Close to the Bahia Ballena National Beach Park, walking distance. My husband and I enjoyed so much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I could not have been happier really. My gf and I stayed for 5 nights during Envision 2013. The rooms were clean and spacious. The kitchen and amenities were great to have, we stocked beer and some food in the fridge and made smoothies in the morning (we didn't take advantage of the stove though). The pool and bbq area were really nice and a good place to lounge. We did go fishing and utilized the bbq to grill up our catch. The room we were in can be just a little noisy at moments due to design and building materials used (particularly the room next to the office), but it didn't really bother us much since it was mainly just other guests making the noise as they passed by. The a/c worked great too and plenty of hot water. Now, the staff I must say was first class. In particular Andres (the manager) was so extremely helpful and polite! I have stayed at many 5 star hotels from LA, SF, NY, Miami and more. And even some of those places did not offer the service we received from Andres. Anyone who gave a poor review of the management there probably just either had bad luck or a bad attitude. He went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We even forgot our passports at a house we rented (the last few nights of our trip) down the road from Bungalows. We contacted Andres to see if he could help us to keep from having to drive almost 4 hrs back (each way) from San Jose. He went and retrieved them for us and got them on the last Envision shuttle that evening, and we had them the same night! Talk about a life saver!! I absolutely plan to stay at Bungalows the next time I'm in Uvita. Thanks again Andres!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

DId book the hotel by internet and got at confirmation that the room has been booked. The day of arrival I was -email that our booking was cancelled due to no vacancies. If you want to go there you better phone and get you confitmatiion confirmed. I think this is very poor manageement.

Found another great place instead named Cabinas Los Laureles, where the son of the owner makes Kayak-trips around the area - great value.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank M_Ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Bungalows Ballena was great. Very clean - pool was nice - people were helpful - we enjoyed the kitchen, gazebo and having 2 bathrooms was nice for our family of six. Plus very convenient to the beach, restaurants and local grocery store.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephCorvallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Wonderfull bungalows fully equiped for groups. Very clean, fantastic pool and playgarden for childern. Just à few steps from the beach. Andres the manager has great tips for trips or beaches. We went horseriding through the mountains and beach, the neighbour has great horses. À fantastic experience. When you are with family its great to go for à group BBq, there are rancho's by THE bungalow that you can use. I would recommend this place for families, childern just love it here as well as adults. Feels like home but then better...

Room Tip: I would go for 8 persons bungalow
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjitskeboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very nice, clean and luxury bungalows to enjoy and relax. A great swimming pool with seats inside. Nice patio's with BBQ were we enjoyed some lovely evenings.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

Don't forgot to make a horseback ride with the nice neighbor through the woods and over the beach. We saw monkeys and toucans and we had a very nice swim at a beautiful Poule at a waterfall.

We would love to come back sometimes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renskedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
2.6 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
4.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
3.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 13 in Uvita
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
158 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Ballena

Address: 300 m North from Marino ballena National Park | Bahia, 100 metros sur del restaurante Los Delfines, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range: $98 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows Ballena 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bungalows Ballena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Ballena Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing