We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay and discover Uvita and surroundings”
Review of Bungalows Ballena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows Ballena
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful place to stay and discover Uvita and surroundings”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very nice, clean and luxury bungalows to enjoy and relax. A great swimming pool with seats inside. Nice patio's with BBQ were we enjoyed some lovely evenings.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

Don't forgot to make a horseback ride with the nice neighbor through the woods and over the beach. We saw monkeys and toucans and we had a very nice swim at a beautiful Poule at a waterfall.

We would love to come back sometimes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renskedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were a party of eight adults and two children (two and five years) who rented a bungalow and the apartment. Both were better than expected, bungalow with full kitchen and cozy veranda where we all got a place to dine. The hotel area was small but well planned with a playground and swimming pool with water slide which the kids loved. We were well received and everyone was very nice and helpful. Located just a few hundred meters from the entrance to Marino Ballena National Park with a beautiful beach with calm waves where even the kids could swim. We are very pleased!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great lodging and great people, I reccommend Ballena Bungalows to families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the bungalows in May 2011. Our two boys (6 & 8yrs ) loved the pool, the slide and Adrian the owner. The bungalow was spacious, very clean and had lovely hand crafted locally made furnishings. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could need. We made delicious fresh mango smoothies every morning with the blender provided. We planned to stay 1 night on our way to Irazu volcano and ended up staying 3 nights, we would have stayed longer if we were not coming to the end of our trip. We wished we would have had the opportunity to use the BBQ patio's around the pool. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great just a couple of minutes walk to the National park with it's beautiful long beach.
We'd love to return some time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent a nice two nights in a huge bungalow. There was a kitchen, living room, and two bedrooms. A lot more than we needed, but we took advantage of the well equipped kitchen and bought some groceries and cooked.

The National Park (and beach) are a short walk away. The hotel was fairly empty, so most of the time we had the pool (which is very nice) to ourselves.

I think it is a good value for a family as there is lots of sleeping space and you can make your own meals. As a couple, it would have been nice to have a bar or restaurant.

Overall, a pleasant surprise though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

+ superb accomodation
+ luxury tv fridge kitchen
+ nice pool open till 10 pm
+ playground

- noisy (especially apartment, which is in same building as reception) noisy because everthing is made of wood and swimming pool is open till 10 pm
- waterslide too fast for children beneath 8 yr.
- parking lot, sometimes transformed in garage or car wash by and for staff en local people
- is it normal that staff is using swimming pool as well??

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
2.6 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
607 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 12 in Uvita
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Ballena

Property: Bungalows Ballena
Address: 300 m North from Marino ballena National Park | Bahia, 100 metros sur del restaurante Los Delfines, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows Ballena 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bungalows Ballena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Ballena Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing