We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizzeria La Fogata

Pizzeria La Fogata
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Uvita
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Uvita, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

La Fogata has great food and very reasonable prices for the area. Pizzas are super-good and the service is very good. I love eating there with family and friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Payton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe V, Propietario at Pizzeria La Fogata, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks you for comig.... and thanks for writing.......always a pleasure to serve you
Thanks a lot.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    164
    51
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Forget about it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went there July 26, 2013, based on reviews, and I was disappointed. The pizza was good, but most combinations of cheese and crackers are, and this is what this tasted like. The roasted chicken was bland and it only came with 3 small toritilla-like breads and a very small cup of salsa, which was not that good either. The sangria was good. The service started off decent, but after our first server left (around 130 p.m.), our second server barely fulfilled her role. She was definitely not making any effort to break a smile or make you feel welcomed. The value for this service and food, which consisted of one small pizza, one medium pizza, 1/2 a roasted chicken, 2 cokes and one sangria ? A whopping $95 American dollars (with tip included at their discretion, like it or not). So would I revisit Fogata? I would rather FORGET ABOUT IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juniorm009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe V, Propietario at Pizzeria La Fogata, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are sorry yhat we did not meet your expectations regarding the chicken, the pizza, and the service.
Friend, you listed the items from the menu that you ordered which realy totaled $45 and not $95. In Costa Rica it is not customany to pay a tip. The addition fees you paid were the 10% service fee and 13% tax.
we apreciate your comments.....so that we may improve....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I ate at Pizzeria La Fogata last month when we were in Uvita and we thought it was delicious! We had a very tasty pizza and connected to their Wi-Fi and had a really nice, quiet meal. This restaurant does not serve alcohol, but they do allow you to bring your own! The service was pleasant, and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe V, Propietario at Pizzeria La Fogata, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
thanks for visit us ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The pizza is wonderful and the scenery is perfect. Great place for groups and the staff is extremely friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe V, Propietario at Pizzeria La Fogata, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It was a pleasure severe you.....thanks a lot for comming.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really liked this place! There were a million different pizzas to choose from - we got BBQ chicken and "Hawaiian" - both really good. Wear bug spray!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdecotiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Fogata also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Pizzeria La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing