We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, quiet, safe, near beach, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nido del Halcon
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Owners came and found us. We were lost. Modern, well kept buildings, friendly staff, found us neighbor/ local that could translate. Family owned/ staff could understand our needs. Taught us some Spanish. We needed mid vacation Laundry service, provided. Hotel, set up Whale Tour and took us to site. Made sure we had an English speaking guide. Large Country maintained beach, short walk to great Vistas. Landscaping with flowering planters. Near stores and other restaurants. Large shower with hot water. free wi fi. Large pool around courtyard, with outdoor shower/ bathrooms. Night security. Ice available. great a/c unit in room. Handicapped access to ground floor rooms and pool area. Breakfast served with local fresh fruits. Off season for them, weather was great, no rain. Hated to leave, felt like visiting family.

Room Tip: rooms near pool could be loud at night with people enjoying pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snowfinch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived at Nido del Halcon during the busiest time of year without a reservation and they made room for us, all six of us. The rooms were so clean, the beds were amazingly comfortable, there was hot water (which is hard to come by in Costa Rica), the pool was wonderful, the beach was super close and this was the only hotel we stayed in that the a/c didn't keep us up all night because of the noise and it was icy cold. The hotel also provides a chauffeur service to town! The food in the restaurant was delicious and they were incredibly accommodating with our modifications/dietary needs. Beyond that the family that owns this hotel was lovely to be around, genuinely sweet and caring people. They spoke English and helped us with our travel plans and even let us store our computer there while we traveled the rest of the country for a month! We are already planning another trip to Costa Rica and planning on staying there again. Plus, Uvita is one of the nicest beaches in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lumpy pillows so bad we went out to Mondo Imports and bought some (not a bad idea for a long trip here). Beds are a single layer of foam on plywood - like sleeping in an RV. Noisy fridge and wakes you up when someone drives by, it starts raining, etc (Stayed in room #1). Pool was shallow and way too warm to go in during the day (almost hot tub hot). Lighting was poor and the blinds were thin. Every time we went into the restaurant they told us they had no food (can't be normal), Rooms do NOT have safes - just one in their office (?!?), location makes walking very difficult, shower doesn't drain well, Millipedes and termites were common in the room (to be expected i suppose).

Now for the compliments - Decent value, nice watching birds around the pool area, great WIFI, good housekeeping, fridge worked well (but noisy), AC did the job and parking was secure. Shop around you'll likely find better...

Room Tip: second floor probably better for sound and bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Busque otro hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank María R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank izal0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Motelcharakter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 13 in Uvita
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#13 of 13 in Uvita
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
2.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nido del Halcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nido del Halcon

Address: Bahia Ballena | entrada a Playa La Colonia, Parque Nacional Marino Ballena., Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Price Range: $70 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nido del Halcon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nido del Halcón in Uvita, Bahia Ballena welcomes you! Thanks for visiting us. We are located very close to the beautiful Colonia beach known as Playa Chamán, one of the entrances to the Marino Ballena National Park in Osa canton south of Puntarenas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nido del Halcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nido Del Halcon Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing