We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Horses are well cared for.
Guide was great (Evaristo)..and very knowledgeable!
Beach is pristine, and fantastic for riding.
I'll do this again!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHarris7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    3
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

the tour was really organize, quiet, horses are nice, the tour was just amazing and relaxing, our tour guy Evaristo was friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do-sunset ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took the sunset ride through the ranch and saw momkeys and then out to the beach to watch the sunset. Simply spectacular! Returned to the ranch under the light of a full moon. It was all picture perfect.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not much to look at...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The horses that we rode were not the most pretty or fancy, but they were happy and healthy. We rode 20 minutes on a trail to the beach, through pastures and a pond. Our horses happily went through the mud with no hesitation. We heard parrots and saw an iguana and some birds. As soon as we got to the beach, our horses wanted to run. We walked and trotted through the water, and then cantered and galloped along the sand. Our horses were Riela, a small grey mare and Gitano, a pinto gelding. Our horses had a lot of fun cantering and galloping. My daughter Clara and I raced along the beach. It was so much fun! Our horses were scruffy but happy. After we rode back, we were allowed to help put the horses away. My horse crazy daughter got to hose off her pony. They gave us free cookies and lemonade as part of the tour. Again, our horses looked like scruffy old horses who would just plod along, but they were great and well trained without being "push button". The horses do not look like they belong in the show ring, but they are happy, healthy, sound, and love to run.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let the horses run!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic horseback ride in the surf of Playa Hermosa as the sunset. Beach was empty enough that we could let our horses gallop. Hector was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable and low-key. We saw howler monkeys, toucans, and a parrot just en route to the beach. On the way back, our horses walked us through pastures that were ablaze with the tiny lights of lightning bugs. Just sublime. I'll never forget it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing