We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Let the horses run!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge

Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let the horses run!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic horseback ride in the surf of Playa Hermosa as the sunset. Beach was empty enough that we could let our horses gallop. Hector was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable and low-key. We saw howler monkeys, toucans, and a parrot just en route to the beach. On the way back, our horses walked us through pastures that were ablaze with the tiny lights of lightning bugs. Just sublime. I'll never forget it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    3
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!!! Amazing tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Thank you Rancho La Merced for our amazing horseback tour! My family of 18 went on a tour with them and all of us loved it! We first rode through the jungle/rain forest then finished our tour riding on the beach. The horses were very well behaved. We had 2 young children riding and they had a blast! I have been on horseback riding tour in other places but this was my favorite it was so beautiful and relaxing. The tour guides were very nice and friendly. They even allowed us to feed the horses bananas that we had brought after we were done with our tour. Thank you for such an amazing tour! Muchas Gracias!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chefsomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The staff at Rancho La Merced are the best I have experienced with determining experience and skill level as they assign each guest a horse. My daughter-in-law, 8 year old granddaughter and I enjoyed a leisurely ride (along with two other guests and our guide) to the waterfalls. The swim in the waterfalls area was so refreshing and the scenery was spectacular.

I fully expected my granddaughter to be ready for the ride to end within 15 minutes of starting out but she made the entire trip without any hesitation even when going into the river! She will never forget this trip!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zeno34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great horse riding tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have booked this horse riding tour through Cabinas Los Laureles. We could choose between two tours, one along the sea, one into the mountains. We chose the beach tour which was very nice. The horses are in good shape and are well taken care of. Also helpful guides.

Visited: November 2010

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kimm_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience for riding and seeing birds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We rode to a waterfall through a primary forest. Not only was it cool and pleasant, but we saw some incredible birds thanks to the observant eyes of our guide, Heraldo. We saw a spectacled owl, a beautiful 3 meter snake, a very large green iguana, a red-capped manakin, a blue-crowned manakin, and a violaceous trogan, not to mention the beautiful butterflies and insects! The horses appeared clean, well fed and healthy! It was a great experience! We highly recommend it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing