We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Extraordinary!!! The best tour in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Costa Canyoning

Costa Canyoning
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We here at Costa Canyoning are stoked to share with you an experience of a lifetime! Come descend 6 different breathtaking waterfalls down our warm tropical canyon! With over 14 years of international canyon guiding experience, we know how to get you down fun and safe! "Probably The Best waterfall tour in Costa Rica!"
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply Extraordinary!!! The best tour in Costa Rica”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Costa Canyoning is led by a seasoned enthusiastic expert and leads an amazing team of equally charismatic guides. The tour was one of the most incredible experiences and absolutely a must-do while in Costa Rica. Apart from the extraordinary beauty and amazement of scaling gorgeous waterfalls, the team really made the experience for us and for that we are truly grateful...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lesvoyages13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Costa Canyoning ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been canyoning on other trips. But our day with Scottie, Bob and Josh from Costa Canyoning was the absolute best. The experience was amazing. The scenery was phenomenal. They don't take out large groups as we have experienced in the past; there were only ten of us and that included the three of them. The rappels were challenging and definately got your blood pumping. They took their time with everyone. Coached us through every drop. Great humor, stories and comraderie throughout the day. At the end of the day Bob whipped up some salsa and we all hung out, had some cold beers, chips-salsa and fresh pineapple and enjoyed the beautiful Costa Rican mountains. If you only do one excursion to your trip to this coastal pacific area, MAKE SURE YOU GO TO COSTA CANYONING. Thank you Scottie, Bob and Josh for closing out our stay with the highlight of our trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCM0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Excellent adventure and excellent service”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It felt like Scotti and his staff was taking out their family on an adventure. The canyoning was exceptional and they challenged each person up to where they should be, but not beyond.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An experience NOT TO BE MISSED!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Where to begin this review...W-O-W!! This was an awesome adventure and one you really should not pass up!! We've zipped in Whistler in the snow (beautiful) and in Alaska too and even though that is one of the 'things to do' when you head to Costa, I would strongly recommend this over zipping in an instant. Why?! Well, not just because ironically the owner, Scotti, is basically from our hometown as it turns out (small world, Deerfield shout out!) but because you may have never been able to have such an experience before, just imagine walking through the water in a riverbed...climbing through and over rocks (not difficult but not super easy either - my arms are still a little sore and it's been a week and my hands are still a little raw from gripping onto the rope so tightly even though I didn't have to) in ankle to waist deep water...admiring the rainforest and animals (we saw howler monkeys on our last waterfall)...listen, I could write a novel. Between Scotti and Bob and the scenery, there is nothing like it. You have ample time to notice nature and have fun and enjoy the other people on the journey with you (learn about them and where they are from...we were very lucky to be with Aussies since that may be a trip next year). Then, after walking through the canyon a bit you will come to a waterfall...do not be afraid. Scotti and Bob will make you feel at ease and will walk you right down it at your own pace...it's AWESOME!! We went down 6 falls and after clumsily flopping on my rear a lot of the way on just the walking part we came to the final waterfall with the monkeys. And it wasn't over...oh no, the Scotti and Bob duo get you down the biggest and best waterfall safely and then you head off to a ridiculous "epic" zone of natural fun where the rocks form a waterslide of sorts...then you climb up the rocks and jump into the water! OMG...we will look for this adventure everywhere we travel from now on! Enjoy! Thank you Scotti and Bob!! This was EPIC for sure!!! p.s. Costa Cayoning even provides photos so you don't have to get your cameras wet!! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank timime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip in Costa Rica”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

With only two weeks to explore the country, we really tried to cram in all the activities we could. We went north to south, Pacific to Caribbean, but our best day by far was in Uvita with Costa Canyoning. Scotti, Bob, and Josh showed us "the ropes" and guided us down a beautiful natural canyon in the mountains of the south pacific zone of Costa Rica. The canyon was amazing and we finally found what we were looking for- an adrenaline fuelled adventure in the jungle! A few of us in the group were nervous going into it, but it was obvious from the beginning that the crew knew what they were doing. Their expertise, humor, and Scotti's homemade salsa made for an unforgettable trip. Do yourself a favor and book a trip with Costa Canyoning- we paid a lot more for a lot less during our trip. Pura Vida- hope to see y'all again soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Canyoning also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Canyoning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing