We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Bodhi - what an amazing experience

Bodhi surf is an amazing, spectacular place to enjoy your vacation. Our one week retreat was a full... read more

Reviewed May 2, 2021
nsiegenthaler
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Hands down recommend!

It was our first ever set of surf lessons, and we were really happy with everything - the... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2021
katerinam826
Read all 371 reviews
  
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
364
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
364
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf lessons costa rica learning how green waves amazing week learn how catch waves pura vida positive energy great teacher amazing team step by step an amazing experience learned how feel comfortable making sure national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 371 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

Our surf lessons with Spencer was awesome! We all got up on our boards and leaned the important elements of surfing! Thank you to Uvita Surf Lessons.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with Uvita Surf Lessons! We very much hope you will come and see us for round two! Pura Vida!
-Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2020

Travis and his team provide excellent teaching in a safe and fun environment. Their emphasis on educating and empowering their students with wave/ocean knowledge is key, and certainly should be the only approach when teaching someone how to surf - start with teaching them about waves! I was able to up my surf game significantly, and found the team genuine and lovely - as instructors, AND as individuals. Great yoga classes as well, with your practice guided by the wonderful Pilar. These are cool people; don't hesitate, this is the right organization for your surf adventure. Bonus: the "local" beach is beautiful, too!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank MsMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2020

Thank you, MsMars for this lovely review of your experience with us here at Bodhi Surf + Yoga in Bahia Ballena, Costa Rica. We are so excited that you enjoyed the surfing and the yoga components. We hope you will be back for another visit some day! Pura Vida!
-Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2020

I have played in the ocean for years and learned to surf recently which was a lot of fun. To relax I simple enjoy playing in the waves and tried my best to body surf. I wasn't very successful. During my visits to Bodhi Surf + Yoga this last month I got a chance to attend one of their Body Surfing Workshops. It was amazing to finally learn how to ride waves without any equipment. It's like becoming part of the ocean where you feel the flow of the rushing water around your body along with the sounds of the waves as it pushed you along the surface of the water. Its an incredible experience. Spencer and Hannah ran the workshop and joined us in the waves starting out in the whitewash and advancing us to green waves beyond the break. What a blast. I highly recommend Uvita Surf Lesson with Bodhi Surf + Yogi for anything from body surfing to full on board surfing. The crew is amazing, They are a B Corp and 1% For The Planet Member too so you know they care about more than just the bottom line. Don;t miss it if you want an amazing experience with amazing people.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank 221bernieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

221bernieg... thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience taking the bodysurfing clinic by Hannah and Spencer. We're so stoked on this helping out prospective surfers, current surfers, and ocean lovers alike, and so we appreciate your feedback! That line you wrote about "becoming part of the ocean" really hits the nail over the head. We hope you'll continue bodysurfing... even in the cold water! :)

~Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2020 via mobile

I did this clinic last year and it was pretty awesome! Learning how to surf the waves with your body is something every surfer and ocean lover should do. It not only gives you the skills to get out of the water in case your leash breaks, but more than that.. you experience riding the waves in the most purest way possible, with no board, just your body..like a dolphin!
Hannah and Spencer, the head coaches of this clinic, are very experienced bodysurfers and they are awesome people too! Really recommend this too all ocean lovers out there!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Q9574MVadrianaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Q9574MVadrianaa. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with the newest Bodhi Surf
+ Yoga offering — the bodysurf clinic! We're stoked to hear that you felt that you benefitted from it, and that you recommend it to other prospective surfers and ocean lovers! We hope to see you out there bodysurfing soon! :)

~Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2020

I have been to Bodhi about 9 times by now. Yes, 9 times, that's not a typo!
It has become a sacred place for me where I not only have the best surfing experience and the best yoga classes but also because I feel so incredible happy and relaxed there. It's my retreat from the rush of busy everyday life.
I call the whole Bodhi family my friends. Their authenticity and passion for what they are doing radiates and creates positive energy!
My surfing classes are the best I have taken so far. Very well guided and safe. They push you gently to do better every time. The yoga classes are on a platform up in the trees and surrounded by pure nature and the sounds of the jungle. Pilar makes sure that you not only have a great class but also cares about sharing some wisdoms which she learned on her yoga journey. It always opens something in me.
The place itself is not only clean and tidy but also provides many areas for relaxation before, in-between or after the classes.
The food is fresh, self-made and delicious. Adrianne is a rockstar in the kitchen.
It's my home away from home and I am really homesick again. Gotta plan my trip #10! ;-)

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank cubi_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Hey cubi_100! Thank you again for writing about your experience with Bodhi Surf + Yoga! Every time you come down seems better than the last, and we want to thank you so very much for choosing to patronize us time and time again. It's difficult to explain how privileged we feel, knowing how many awesome places in the world that you could go, and yet you opt to come to Bodhi Surf + Yoga. Also, that through the years, there are changes that happen, but that you continue choosing us. We can't wait for visits 10-20!! :D

~Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews