We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Bodhi - what an amazing experience

Bodhi surf is an amazing, spectacular place to enjoy your vacation. Our one week retreat was a full... read more

Reviewed May 2, 2021
nsiegenthaler
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Hands down recommend!

It was our first ever set of surf lessons, and we were really happy with everything - the... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2021
katerinam826
Read all 371 reviews
  
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
364
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
364
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf lessons costa rica learning how green waves amazing week learn how catch waves pura vida positive energy great teacher amazing team step by step an amazing experience learned how feel comfortable making sure national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 371 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018

If you are looking for a beautiful place, friendly staff and great yoga and surfing lessons then this is the place you want to go!
As soon as I got there I knew I made the right decision. Everybody is so friendly...from the driver who took us from the airport, to the staff and the other guests. Really a wonderfull experience all around. I trully recommend it. The surf lessons with Travis were great, yoga with Pilar amazing, Gibran and Adrianne so accomodating and nice. It felt like family the whole time.
I am deeply greateful to them for making my vacation a great experience. Hopefully Ill be back soon.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Constanza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Constanza B — thank you for your time to write about your experience at Bodhi. We are so glad that you enjoyed the whole surf and yoga camp experience at Bodhi Surf + Yoga. We are glad that you were able to visit us and dedicate a week to learning to surf and discovering your yoga practice. We had such an amazing week with you, and sincerely hope that you will be back for another visit!

-Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Travis was a wonderful teacher! He broke up the basics of surfing in a way that made it easy to tackle each step. He also made sure to offer hands on assistance to everyone in the group. At the end of the lesson everyone was happy with what they had accomplished during the lesson!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your surf experience, Ashley W! We are so glad to hear that your group had a lovely and learning experience. We hope you will be back for another!

~Team Bodhi Surf + Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

By far the most professional, well-rounded, enriching, life-changing, unique, and top quality surf school in Costa Rica. Travis, Pilar, Adrianne, and Gibran are all very experienced and talented. The accommodations are new and beautiful, the food is healthy and delicious, and the yoga and surf lessons are unparalleled. You are sure to have an amazing experience at Bodhi.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank NH013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely words, NH013! We are stoked to learn that you enjoyed your time here, and would recommend it to others! We hope you will be back for another visit in the future :)

~Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Our vacation at Bodhi Surf and Yoga was amazing. We went to Bodhi looking to slow down and recharge, to get back into a daily yoga practice and to learn to surf. We left energized and inspired! The Bodhi Surf Team are professionals passionate not only about surfing and yoga but about the health of our environment, the ocean and their local community within Uvita. Bodhi is a small operation really respected within the community. On our free time while we were out and about there were multiple occasions where upon learning that we were guests at Bodhi, the people were were talking to would simply say - they are a great group of people. They truly are. We didn't get to meet Travis and Pilar who where away over Christmastime, but the time we spent with Adrianne and Gibran was really great. Bodhi is a small operation - there were a total of 5 guests plus Adrianne and Gibran during our week stay there over Christmas - we all spent a lot of time in the common space area during the day and at mealtime and we had great fun getting to know each other better, telling stories, laughing (a lot)!

The property is perfect size with lush gardens, a swimming pool and 6 structures including: the Yoga platform, 2 bungalows, the common space with Kitchen and lounge area (and two guest rooms on top) and then both of the owners living quarters. Meals were skillfully prepared and fresh including Gallo Pinto, fresh fruits, homemade yogurt and granola and some of the best coconut chicken curry ever! I even snagged a few recipes to make at home :-) We stayed in the Gratitude bungalow and it was perfect. It has two rooms and a nice central living space and a fully stocked kitchen. We didn't use the kitchen much but it would easily support full meal preparation should you need it.

Gibran was our surfing instructor extraordinaire and had each and every one of us standing up and catching waves on the 4th day. His approach is excellent - each day has a defined skill and goal and objective. There is a short lecture on the beach at the start explaining the dynamics of surfing, waves and the ocean in general and then into the ocean you go! I have spent 100s of hours at the ocean over the course of my life but haven't really ever had anyone break down what is happening with the tides, the breaks, etc in such a easy to consume way. I learned a lot!

I have heard Pilar's yoga is not to be missed and one day hopefully I'll make it back for a class w/ her but I am thankful she selected Suzanne as our instructor while she was away. Suzanne was extremely knowledgeable and skilled and incorporates so much more than just the poses into her classes. A lot of us were tired and sore from the activities of the week and we all felt great after her classes! Practicing yoga upstairs on the outdoor platform is a treat!

At the end of the day, this was more than just a vacation for us - it was a pleasure to get to know Bodhi, spend time in Uvita and get to know the other guests that traveled to be there for the week. Thanks for a great week Bodhi!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank nutmeg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

nutmeg76!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your vacation experience at Bodhi Surf + Yoga! We're so stoked to hear that you guys enjoyed it, that you felt you learned and left energized and inspired. We sure hope to see you again soon!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Travis was an amazing teacher and all of us had a great time spending time with him, learning more about the ocean and having very fun and informative surf lessons. Would highly recommend to anyone. Cheers guys

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank mtwaddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Uvita Surf Lessons with Bodhi Surf + Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

mtwaddle1 — thank you so much for taking the time to write about your surf lesson experience with Travis and Bodhi Surf, we are glad you enjoyed it!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews