We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
I can surf!

As someone who has never been super comfortable in the ocean, I felt apprehensive about learning... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ellen M
Bodhi is remarkable!

It's rare to find businesses that embody ethical practices and a commitment to providing a great... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Kiersten B
Read all 335 reviews
  
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
329
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
329
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga classes costa rica life changing amazing week spent a week green waves amazing experience national park pilar community lesson surf ocean confidence
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 335 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

By far the most professional, well-rounded, enriching, life-changing, unique, and top quality surf school in Costa Rica. Travis, Pilar, Adrianne, and Gibran are all very experienced and talented. The accommodations are new and beautiful, the food is healthy and delicious, and the yoga and surf lessons are unparalleled. You are sure to have an amazing experience at Bodhi.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank NH013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely words, NH013! We are stoked to learn that you enjoyed your time here, and would recommend it to others! We hope you will be back for another visit in the future :)

~Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Our vacation at Bodhi Surf and Yoga was amazing. We went to Bodhi looking to slow down and recharge, to get back into a daily yoga practice and to learn to surf. We left energized and inspired! The Bodhi Surf Team are professionals passionate not only about surfing and yoga but about the health of our environment, the ocean and their local community within Uvita. Bodhi is a small operation really respected within the community. On our free time while we were out and about there were multiple occasions where upon learning that we were guests at Bodhi, the people were were talking to would simply say - they are a great group of people. They truly are. We didn't get to meet Travis and Pilar who where away over Christmastime, but the time we spent with Adrianne and Gibran was really great. Bodhi is a small operation - there were a total of 5 guests plus Adrianne and Gibran during our week stay there over Christmas - we all spent a lot of time in the common space area during the day and at mealtime and we had great fun getting to know each other better, telling stories, laughing (a lot)!

The property is perfect size with lush gardens, a swimming pool and 6 structures including: the Yoga platform, 2 bungalows, the common space with Kitchen and lounge area (and two guest rooms on top) and then both of the owners living quarters. Meals were skillfully prepared and fresh including Gallo Pinto, fresh fruits, homemade yogurt and granola and some of the best coconut chicken curry ever! I even snagged a few recipes to make at home :-) We stayed in the Gratitude bungalow and it was perfect. It has two rooms and a nice central living space and a fully stocked kitchen. We didn't use the kitchen much but it would easily support full meal preparation should you need it.

Gibran was our surfing instructor extraordinaire and had each and every one of us standing up and catching waves on the 4th day. His approach is excellent - each day has a defined skill and goal and objective. There is a short lecture on the beach at the start explaining the dynamics of surfing, waves and the ocean in general and then into the ocean you go! I have spent 100s of hours at the ocean over the course of my life but haven't really ever had anyone break down what is happening with the tides, the breaks, etc in such a easy to consume way. I learned a lot!

I have heard Pilar's yoga is not to be missed and one day hopefully I'll make it back for a class w/ her but I am thankful she selected Suzanne as our instructor while she was away. Suzanne was extremely knowledgeable and skilled and incorporates so much more than just the poses into her classes. A lot of us were tired and sore from the activities of the week and we all felt great after her classes! Practicing yoga upstairs on the outdoor platform is a treat!

At the end of the day, this was more than just a vacation for us - it was a pleasure to get to know Bodhi, spend time in Uvita and get to know the other guests that traveled to be there for the week. Thanks for a great week Bodhi!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank nutmeg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

nutmeg76!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your vacation experience at Bodhi Surf + Yoga! We're so stoked to hear that you guys enjoyed it, that you felt you learned and left energized and inspired. We sure hope to see you again soon!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Travis was an amazing teacher and all of us had a great time spending time with him, learning more about the ocean and having very fun and informative surf lessons. Would highly recommend to anyone. Cheers guys

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank mtwaddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

mtwaddle1 — thank you so much for taking the time to write about your surf lesson experience with Travis and Bodhi Surf, we are glad you enjoyed it!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

Our time spent at Bodhi Surf School was a life changing adventure. The Shuttle picked us up from our hostel in Alajuela and our driver Wally was very nice and was happy to stop at some tourist spots to allow for some pictures. When we arrived at Bodhi Surf we were shown to our rooms which were really cozy and had THE BEST shower! With the exception of one free day, we participated in daily surf lessons and yoga sessions and felt incredibly empowered with what our bodies were capable of doing every day. The surfing curriculum was exactly what we needed to learn to surf and by the end of our time with Gibran, we were surfing the waves we never thought were possible before we arrived. The yoga sessions with Pilar were inspirational and gave us strength not only in our bodies but in our minds. Adrianne's meals and humour feed us more than can be described and Travis' passion for a better world was infectious and we left with the desire to spread it around the world. On our free day, Adrianne gave some good advice about some local excursions and we booked a canyoning tour with Costa Canyoning. This company was only a 15 minute walk from Bodhi and with some great directions from Gibran we made it there with no troubles at all. The team at Bodhi Surf School genuinely cared about our experience and truly wanted to get to know us as individuals and we have learned so much from them in such a short time. Another great feature of this business is they have their own photographer so you don't have to worry about taking your own pictures. Additionally, their commitment to protecting the earth and enriching their community was evident in everything they did and they are imprinting this passion on their guests. We are so thankful for this experience and will definitely be back again soon.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thank you so much, Allison T, for taking the time to write about you and your family's experience at Bodhi Surf + Yoga camp! We had such a wonderful time with all of you, and we hope you will be back for another visit!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

Was looking for my next adventure and came across Bodhi surf school.... I love the ocean, swim and scuba dive, so why not try surfing?

Bodhi has a unique approach to the fashionable "ecotourism" market; their business actually gives back to the community and the environment through grass roots daily programs. A perfect match for this newly retired over 55 adventurer.

Once in Costa Rica, a 4 hour van ride gets you to Uvita where you are greeted by Adrianne, one of the 4 owners. It's a small compound comprised of the main house where you eat and gather. There are two quest rooms on the second floor of the main house, I stayed in one of them. There were two comfy bunk beds and a nice size bathroon. Everything was very clean. The rooms had a ceiling and stationary fan. Just for the record.... no AC. There are two more building for guests, the yoga deck and the two owners homes. Guest capacity is around 12.

A surf board in the eating area has your itinerary for the week, we did not deviate and everything was executed right on time - it flowed nicely.

The first day you are taken to the grocery store.... Get snacks, lunch makings and drinks of all kinds. Don't think oh.... I'll go out. At times you are pooped, too hot or enjoying your newly established friendships.

Surfing was a "journey" for me but Gibran stuck with me.... I had a blast everyday trying, which made the accomplishment that much sweeter. My travel partner and all the other guests were up and surfing day two! Gibran may seem laid back, but he's focused on the guests' personal surfing success.

Yoga, the "add-on". The okay I'll do it but I'm here to surf, took on an unexpected emphasis for me. First, it's hot in the yoga loft - be prepared. Pilar took us through a 5 step journey. I had taken two yoga classes before coming out bodhi - the progress I made daily was addicting. We had a variety of skill levels and I never felt like the beginner". A surprising benefit to the experience!!!!

Take the waterfall trip, it's 2 hours and the water is cool and a needed refresh from the heat. On your free day - do something! We walked to the whales tale and saw a humpback whale out in the ocean. Others hiked or kayak. We were all happy we broke off from the schedule.

Adrianne's food choices and meal prep were right on point.

As others have stated, Bodhi provides a very home away from home experience which fosters happy times and new friendship.

Don't give it a second thought..... just go.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank E7877AJlynnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Lynn M — Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your Bodhi Sessions experience! We're so very happy to hear that you enjoyed it, that you felt you learned, and that you gained something that you will be able to take with you. We sure hope to see you again down this way!
-Team Bodhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews