We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooked to Surfing!”
Review of Bodhi Surf School

Bodhi Surf School
Ranked #1 of 4 Spas & Wellness in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bodhi Surf School focuses on community engaged yoga and surf vacations and retreats for individuals, couples, families, and small groups. Our goal is to teach you the theory, proper technique, and safety to have you surfing or doing yoga independently. At the Bodhi Shamabala Yoga Center, we have weekly Vinyasa Flow classes and also offer private yoga classes. Bodhi Surf is committed to incorporating sustainable business practices into our everyday operations. We love to share information on our area, both on the community of Bahia Ballena and the Marino Ballena National Park where we give our surf lessons and clinics. We also offer service learning for organized student groups interested in finding out more about Costa Rica. Above all, we aim to "awaken your inner surfer" and provide you with unique experiences that you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and I had a great introduction to surfing. Great weather, easy waves and an excellent instructor in Gibran. I used to think that the beach was not for me..until I tried surfing. I am hooked and can't wait to get back on a board. Gibran was able to have two rookies surf by the end of a two hour session. I can only imagine what I could do after a full week..a week long surf camp is now on the bucket list.

Thank SebastienCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

SebastienCC: We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your surf lesson and that Gibran was able to help you guys get up and riding! It is definitely an addictive sport, isn't it! We hope that you'll be be back, perhaps for that week long surf camp that is now on your bucket list! Take care, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience :)

-Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bahia ballena"
in 35 reviews
"yoga classes"
in 21 reviews
"local community"
in 14 reviews
"costa rica"
in 72 reviews
"surf school"
in 19 reviews
"life changing"
in 6 reviews
"catching waves"
in 8 reviews
"learning how"
in 10 reviews
"amazing week"
in 5 reviews
"green waves"
in 5 reviews
"pura vida"
in 19 reviews
"spent a week"
in 5 reviews
"hour lesson"
in 5 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 11 reviews
"great teacher"
in 5 reviews
"step by step"
in 4 reviews
"warm water"
in 5 reviews
Filter

166 - 170 of 332 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved learning to surf in Marina Ballena National Park with Bodhi Surf. There were only two of us in the lesson, and Gibran made sure to make it fun, safe and informative. We both got up on our board and had a fantastic time. Thanks!

Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi Rachael C... thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Marino Ballena National Park, and that you found the lesson "fun, safe, and informative" - that's exactly what we're trying to accomplish in our lessons, so that's great to hear. We hope that you will be back again for more surfing some day! Take care :)

-Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were two busy mothers having a "kiddy break" and we did surf to relax!
It worked really well, Gibran was telling us about the place, the surf and the Bodhi.
We had a great moment and yes we did it, we surfed in an amazing place with an excellent instructor. Thanks a lot and can't wait to go back for more surf!!

Thank AnnieC944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

AnnieC944 - Thank you so much for your very kind words. We're so stoked that you guys were able to have your "kiddy break" and get some time in the water learning how to surf! You both did so well in the water, and we're so glad that you found it enjoyable too. We hope that you are able to do more surfing in the future, and definitely let us know if you are in the area again. Pura Vida!

-Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family had an excellent morning sufing at the beatiful beach in Uvita with Gibran and Adrianne. They were friendly, relaxed and patient teachers. In addition to getting us up on our surf boards, they taught us about ocean safety and surfing etiquette. Prior to the lesson they were very prompt in responding to all of our emails. We had a lot of fun and would love to return next year!

Thank smk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you, smk98, for your very nice recommendation. Your family did excellent in the water, and were a pleasure for Gibran to teach, as were all very interested in learning the ins and outs of surfing (we would called it "stoked")! We are so glad that we were able to give you some further instruction, and hope to see you down here again next year!

-Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In March I led a group of middle schoolers (ages 12-13) from North Carolina to Uvita for the third year in row. We had an excellent group surfing lesson led by Bodhi Surf School instructors. Each time we come, our Bodhi Surf instructors are fun, professional, and knowledgable about teaching middle schoolers how to surf. Travis and Gibran were also instrumental in coordinating important details for our whole trip--including local hotel accommodations, transportation, and helping us partner with a local school to find great host families for our students. We definitely plan on returning to Uvita to work with Bodhi Surf School again next year and beyond!

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

David B - Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Uvita with Bodhi Surf (again)!! Your groups are always a highlight for us: you guys are fun to hang out with and are also excellent surf scholars. Thank you for your kind words about your entire experience, including the planning and logistical side. We can't wait for your visit again next year! :)

-Team Bodhi Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi Surf School also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bodhi Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing