We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
gbarker
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012 on our honeymoon. I'm so glad we did. It's an amazing place. And we owe a big thanks to the owners. We booked through a travel agent, and the agent mistakenly booked us for 4 nights instead of 5. We almost had to leave on the last night of our honeymoon! But the owners went out of their way to fix the problem and we were able to stay the extra night. Thanks!!

It is located in an area of the country that has great access to the jungle, the mountains, and literally miles of beautiful beaches. And it is much less crowded in this area than other areas of the country.

The property itself is on top of a big hill surrounded by jungle, with amazing views of the coast. It is really unique. The hotel is designed well. All of the rooms (which are actually littile villas, up on raised columns) are situated to take full advantage of the views. The best view is from the infinity pool.

The service was excellent. Our room was cleaned every day. We woke every morning and walked down to the lounge for our fresh breakfast that was SO GOOD! The owners and staff gave us great advice about things to do in the area. They arranged for us to get a massage in our room and made reservations for us at a nearby restaurant (Exotica). Literally the best restaurant I have ever been to.

There is nothing bad to be said about this place. Can't wait to go back.

Recommedations: You MUST have a 4x4 to get up the driveway. Eat at Exotica. Go surfing in Domincal. Check out Playa Ventanas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    50
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
257
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough wonderful things about TikiVillas, the owners & staff! Wow!

We stayed there for a week & could've stayed forever it was so perfect! It took us a while to get there from San Jose so we didn't arrive until nighttime during a jungle downpour, but as soon as we pulled up, Thomas (the owner) was there with umbrellas & helped us to our room. Incredible!

Our villa (#1) was spotless & gorgeous! The bed was huge & comfortable as were the pillows. The indoor & outdoor showers were super spacious & the kitchenette was perfectly stocked with tools. The refrigerator was perfect for storing fruit, snacks & beverages. And the open air design from the bedroom into the balcony provided breathtaking views of the surrounding jungle & ocean. I miss waking up to the howler monkeys & the roar of the ocean!!!

The common area with infinity pool is ridiculously beautiful. Plus, Thomas will make you delicious banana coladas with bananas picked from trees on the property. Can't get any fresher than that! I am obsessed with those drinks. So good. I want the recipe! Reading by the pool, we saw howler monkeys swing by in the trees right next to us! There was also a sloth hanging out in a nearby tree for our entire stay. We also had the pleasure of seeing lizards, toucans, tanagers, hummingbirds, vultures, praying mantis & so much more!

TikiVillas is in a great location if you have a car (4X4!!!). You can drive into Uvita for beaches, groceries, banking & some good food or further to Ojochal for more beaches (Ventanas is my favorite) & gourmet eats. We also found a farmers market in Uvita on Saturdays with amazing homemade treats, produce, jewelry, etc.

TikiVillas also serves free breakfast daily with fresh fruit, bread, orange juice & coffee. 2 words: gallo pinto! The scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly! My husband is a very critical chef & he was dazzled by the breakfast.

Even though it was the "rainy" season, it didn't rain for most of our stay & really only started at night when we were ready to just relax. Thomas was kind enough to arrange a guided boat ride & hike into Corcovado National Park. Great service! We felt so spoiled our entire stay.

I could go on & on about how excellent TikiVillas is, but you should discover it for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robotwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at TikiVillas for 5 nights earlier in April. It was absolutely one of,if not THE best places I have ever been. Thomas was super helpful as we asked him questions about what to do pretty much every morning and night! The included breakfasts were excellent - great choices and very filling - exactly how you need to start off a day of adventure! At night we had tasty drinks on the terrace near the bar/pool...so very beautiful in after sundown when the torches and candles are lit. Pool is always open, too.

We rented a car in San Jose and drove down to Uvita, it took us about 4 hours, but once down there, we felt there were plenty of things to do within a 45 min drive from TikiVillas. We were there before the rainy season started and most definitely needed the 4wd car, but driving around was not bad (with the GPS). Again, Thomas was very helpful in getting us going in the right direction, drawing some maps and telling us what to watch for on a particular drive.

We stayed in villa #4. Spectacular. My husband is very temperature sensitive and he was nervous about it being too humid to sleep, so we made sure to get a villa with AC. HOWEVER, as many others say in reviews, AC was not needed. We used it very briefly a couple times for a fast cool down, but not at night. The ocean breezes were lovely. You can hear the waves from the villas, as well as many other intriguing jungle sounds at any given time of day/night. It seems all villas have breath-taking views of both ocean and jungle. Oh, and the outdoor shower was basically the best thing ever. Oh and also the kitchenette - another great feature! You can stash some food/drink in the mini fridge - there is a grocery store not far down the road.

We will absolutely go back here. We did a lot of activities and at the end wished we had spent more time doing more leisurely things, like reading by the pool! We really felt like Thomas and Cindy have thought of everything to make guests have an enjoyable time. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week trip in Costa Rica and this place was our favorite. Coming from the Corcovado jungle the luxurious villa felt like paradise. The villas are a great place to relax. The room is very comfortable, the view from the villa is stunning and just to sit on the porch and do nothing but enjoy the sounds and views feels like heaven.
Should you get bored with this you can go to the infinity pool and start the whole process over again! During our stay we saw toucans, a sloth, whitefaced monkeys and howler monkeys on the premises.
The 3-course breakfast is delicious and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonville
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Partly because of so many fantastic tripadvisor reviews and very reasonable rates, we opted to celebrate our 25th anniversary here in the beautiful and restful Costa Rican jungle rather than a crowded resort or cruise. This couldn't have been more perfect for us! TikiVillas is absolutely enchanting! From the grounds we spotted sloth, monkeys, toucans, tanagers, dazzling butterflies including blue morphs, parrots and dozens of other birds and tree frogs. What we didn't see was more surprising. Though we slept with the patio doors wide open to take in the wonderful ambiance of the jungle overlooking the ocean, we never saw a mosquito or any other obnoxious bug. Waking up every morning to freshly brewed Costa Rican coffee (complimentary), and sipping it while hearing the sounds of the jungle coming to life and the crashing of the ocean waves was wonderfully refreshing. We got up every morning at about 5:30 am, ON VACATION, because the view was so enticing and enjoyable! The traditional Costa Rican breakfasts they serve were delicious and filling. Swimming in their awesome pool every evening under the stars as Thomas served us banana coladas was the perfect way to end each perfect day. Thomas also made reservations for us for several local tours. He and his wife Cindy and their staff were welcoming, friendly, and made us feel like family, yet gave us space to be a couple. By the way, don't make the mistake I did and assume that a vehicle can get up the driveway without four wheel drive; it won't. Costa Rica is a beautiful country partially because it is so steep and rugged and the access here is no exception. This is truly a taste of heaven! Tikivillas has become our favorite place ever and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 and it was awesome; quiet and more private but still had a small ocean view and a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were due to spend 3 nights at TikiVillas and loved it so much that we ended up there for 6 nights - I think that is a good indication. The location is up a very steep and treacherous hill but once you make it, it is well worth it. There are 5 individual villas making the place feel very quiet and private. The views of the rainforest and the sea are stunning as are the noises of the toucans and monkeys in the trees. This really is a piece of paradise. The infinity pool was a winning spot for me as well as the jungle shower and the 3 course breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh bread coffee and a choice of bacon and eggs, pancakes etc. The staff are very calm and welcoming striking a nice balance of helpful but not overly attentive. Just wish they wouldn't play this awful background music on repeat in the reception area! One final thing, try the owner's Special Banana Colada - it's to die for and he very kindly gave us some complimentary drinks. I fully recommend this place - the staff are fab and the location is to die for.

Room Tip: I would chose villa 4 or 5 as they are the most private and have the nicest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_31NJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a week at TikiVillas . . . what a great place to relax and feel like you are part of the jungle. Our Villa, #3, had the best view of the surrounding jungle and the Pacific. We slept each night with the large, louvered doors wide open across one whole side of the villa. You could hear all kinds of fun and exotic sounds. The howler monkeys liked to make their bellowing sounds early in the morning, but that just added to the local ambiance.

Our hosts . . . Tomas and Cindy, were extremely nice people and will go out their way to be of help, offering suggestions for restaurants in the local area, things to see (they will arrange any kind of tour you would like), and importantly, driving directions. The breakfast in the morning is very good. They start with a fruit plate that includes mango, papaya, pineapple, and banana. For the main part of the meal . . . order the "gallo pinto" . . . it is sooo good. Scrambled eggs, spicey beans and rice, and a sliced avocado.

The pool is great. Wait until the afternoon when shadows from the nearby jungle shade half of the pool. It is so peaceful . . . there is a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean . . . and Tomas will make you a great drink. There is a large area by the pool with chairs to sit and relax in. The extremely high ceiling and breezes through the place make it a great place to cool down after a long day of touring.

TikiVillas is located just north of Uvita (five minutes by car) and is close to Dominical, Marino Ballena, and the starting point of many great tours (some will pick you up at the bottom on the driveway, on the Costanera).

I would highly recommend TikiVillas to anyone who wants to feel the pulse of the jungle, but still be in a safe place, with nice accommodations . . . and all at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: #3 has the best views, but is not air-conditioned. Two of the villas do have A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
595 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa

Property: TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Address: Km 155 / 156 Costal Highway, Uvita de Osa, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa in Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing