We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience of a lifetime!”
Review of Villa Mareas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Mareas
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Mareas is a beautiful place in an amazing setting! The rooms are beautiful and the outdoor showers put you right into the jungle! Tim and Pilar are such gracious hosts! We were travelling with a group of 16 all family from age 4 to age 70 and Mareas was perfect for all of us. We had an amazing time, this is our all time favorite vacation! Don't miss the tours in the area also, they will set it all up for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    1
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I got married at Mareas Villas in Oct 2010 and we can't give enough praise to Mareas and the owners Tim and Pilar. The entire week was the most amazing experience and the wedding was absolutely beautiful and more than both of us could have possibly hoped for.

We traveled with a group of 14 family and friends and rented out the entire villa for the week. The setting was absolutely spectacular, perched high in the mountains with an incredible view of the ocean below. The road up to the villa is pretty intense, but don't let that scare you - the view at is worth it! The mountains behind the villa was a beautiful canvas of lush green rolling mountains, with clouds spilling down the side. Huge hawks and eagles soared in the open sky above the mountains and each morning we would awake with the jungle sounds of birds singing and monkeys howling.

The villa is set up wonderfully with two separate sleeping villas and a third villa for gathering, eating and socializing. The huge five foot teak overhangs on all three of the villas allowed us to always feel like we were outside - even if it was raining. At no time did we ever feel like we were "couped up" in our rooms or in the main villa. After we left Mareas we spent time during our honeymoon at many other nice hotels and villas throughout Costa Rica - non compared to Mareas and the sense of openness, beauty and use of the space.

The service at Mareas was fantastic. Tim cooked dinner for our group each night and each and every meal was wonderful. He cooked a variety of fresh, local dishes and was also great at catering to a few guests specific dietary needs with special dishes. He also prepared breakfast for us each morning, complete with hot dishes, fresh smoothies and tons of fresh fruit. Tim and Pilar also also arranged to have Jenny - a local bartneder/server- to help with service during the week and on the night of the wedding. It was great to have the extra level of service and it was so much fun getting to know the locals. Everyone we met was so friendly and truly embraced the "pura vida" philosophy.

If you are trying to plan a wedding in Costa Rica - stop looking, you've found the place! Pilar did a fantastic job coordinating all the details of the wedding and created a beautiful setting with an abundance of tropical flowers and beautiful table settings. She went to every length to make sure the day was perfect - including traveling through floods and landslides to get my cake and flowers! She also coordinated a fantastic band to play at the reception - they were so much fun and very talented.

I can't express enough how absolutely perfect Mareas is. While on our honeymoon we traveled to the Northern part of Costa Rica, the southern tip of the Nicoya Penisula, and a 5 star villa north of Jaco. NONE compared to Mareas and the setting, accommodations and service. We can't wait to return to the area and hope to visit Mareas again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillianFoxMittelmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville MN
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This little slice of heaven at the end of a jungle road is stunning! There is everything you could possibly want at Mareas Villas. We brought our family and friends here for my daughter's wedding. Pilar Davis (co-owner) was our wedding planner and did and outstanding job in creating a tropical romantic setting for the big day - the flowers were beautiful, the table setting perfect the band was fun - we were all able to just relax and enjoy the day thanks to all her hard work.

In addition to the wedding we had fun, fun, fun swimming in the gorgeous infinity pool, hiking the rain forest to the waterfalls and scenic overlooks, seeing (and hearing) the howler monkeys, frogs, numerous birds, butterflies and jungle flowers, zip lining, exploring beaches and just hanging out with each other and our fabulous hosts Tim and Pilar and Pina the Tica dog! Both Tim and Pilar know the area and the people and they are eager to help you have the very best experience during your stay. By the way, Tim's cooking skills are beyond compare - I've never eaten so good!

The villas themselves are incredible. The two sleeping villas (one Ocean View and one Jungle View) are spacious, comfortable and all have great views of nature. I especially loved the "outdoor" shower in our king suite! The main building was the perfect gathering place to visit and relax. It's large overhang roof made it feel as if we were outdoors while staying dry even the times we had rain. Yep, we were there during the "rainy" season but the layout and design of this resort helps you to feel close to nature no matter what the weather. Don't be afraid to go during the rainy season - you will still have an incredible experience. Our whole family and friends all agree we didn't want to leave - we can't wait to go back.

In Costa Rica there is a saying - "Pura Vida" - it is loosely translated to mean "great life". It is indeed a great life at Mareas Villas. i wish I could give it more than 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Mareas Villas was one of the most impressive places I have every had the opportunity to stay at. My husband and I spent 4 nights at Mareas in May and were amazed by the entire package. The views of the ocean were incredible and the height above sea level cooled things down. The resort is surrounded by a pristine rainforest so we saw and heard toucans, monkeys, frogs, birds and every sort of animal you could think of. The tropical plants were exotic and beautiful. On property were 3 amazing waterfalls that were fun to hike to and play in.

The rooms are tasteful with luxurious things like king beds, soft sheets, outdoor shower and gorgeous tile throughout. The Main House just blew me away. From the relaxing vibe indoors with large wood bar and vaulted ceilings to the sizeable infinity pool with waterfall, I fell in love with the combination of class and comfort.

Our host and resort owner, Tim Davis, was born for this job. Personable and knowledgeable, Tim was happy to show us the sites on property and give us great information for the TONS of things to do in the area. His low-key demeanor and service-oriented attitude are a perfect combination to host people.

Finally, the area. Wow. I’ve been to Costa Rica many times but never have I quite experienced the combination of beautiful beaches (definitely check out Playa Uvita and Dominical) and rain forest. It was like getting a best of Costa Rica package all in one place.

I would definitely recommend Mareas as a very romantic place for couples but it also has amazing space for groups and families looking to have a beautiful place in paradise all to themselves. Can’t wait to return!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BzeMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Mareas Villas exceeded all expectations for our family of five, including two teenagers and one toddler. The accomodations were exceptional - the pictures don't capture the true beauty of the views from Mareas Villas or the beauty of the property itself. The inifity pool, the landscaping, the rooms were definitely five star hotel quality.

The trip would not have been nearly as wonderful without all the help that Tim, the resident property owner, provided. With his knowledge of the area and his help in making arrangements (zip lines through the rain forest, horseback riding, hiking to on property waterfalls, beaches to go to, fishing guides, surfing lessons), we did it all and had so much fun. We definitely would have wasted alot of time wandering around trying to figure out where to go and what to do without Tim.

I can't finish this recommendation without mentioning the fabulous meals that Tim prepared for our family. He is a wonderful chef and you would be missing out if you did not ask him to cook for you during your vacation.

We had a dream vacation. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

A slice of heaven, with incredibly large comfortable suite rooms,a great room area of superb elegance that is home to a couple, a family or larger group. All of this combined with an infinity pool with amazing views of the Pacific. Our on site host, Tim, provided for all needs, from arranging tours, hikes to on property waterfalls, or preparing gourmet parties and meals.Our 3rd trip to CR and the best experience in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cweiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We recently spent a week at the Mareas Villas and were asked to write a review of our experience. My only regret about writing this review is that as more people discover this Gem in paradise, it will be harder for us to book return dates.

We based our decision to stay at Mareas Villas, in part, on the photographs on-line. If anything, the photos don’t do justice to the Buildings and the view! The Villa is set on a hillside in a tropical forest, surrounded by troupes of Howler monkeys, Toucans, delicious fruits (don’t miss the mango’s and white pineapple) all back dropped with that million dollar view. If I win the Power Ball lotto, this is the kind of place I will be shopping for. Until then, I’ll have to settle for spending my vacation time here.

Tim Davis, was a gracious host that made us feel welcome and at home, and he gave us great advice about local activities, restaurants, sights and transportation. You can provide your own food and cook for yourself, but I recommend you take advantage of Tim’s offer to provide gourmet meals at a very reasonable cost. Consider having hors d'oeuvre's prepared and waiting for you when you first arrive, Excellent!

A word of advice, if you rent a car, 4 wheel drive is NOT an option. Trust me, you won’t get to the villa without it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary34243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.6 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mareas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mareas

Property: Villa Mareas
Address: Playa Hermosa, Bahia Ballena | Puntarenas, Osa, Uvita 11111, Costa Rica (Formerly Mareas Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mareas is a luxurious and private (9 suites)resort nestled on 36 acres of rainforest preserve with amazing views of the Pacific ocean. We offer luxury suites and the villas and resorts can be rented by groups for special occasions. We offer concierge and chef services and specialize in customizing our customer's experiences to make them memorable. Located in one of the most pristine areas of Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Mareas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing