We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reality is so more beautiful”
Review of La Cacatua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cacatua Lodge
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Den Haag
1 review
“The reality is so more beautiful”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We saw on the internet pictures of La Cacatua Lodge and we thought that must be wonderful. So we booked for two nights. When we arrive it was just more beautiful than we imagined from the pictures. Just in the middle of the jungle you will find paradise. La Cacatua Lodge has a gorgeous garden with lots of different flowers, birds and butterflies. In the morning the howler monkeys en birds awakes us. The rooms are beautiful, clean and well decorated. There was a fridge for my husband so he could sit on our private patio and drink his ice cold beer. Marja and Peter are excellent host. They told us everything of the surrounding and booked a magnificent Whale tour for us. We really saw a Mum with her child. Absolute unique. Yes we came for two and stayed for four nights in this beautiful small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wateringen
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We were in Costa Rica and decided to go south. We stopped in Uvita and went to la Cacatua Lodge. What a beautiful spot! It is a little romantic B&B and we had a gorgeous spacious clean room with a privacy terrace and a fridge. We like especially their garden because we spotted a lot of birds, butterflies and monkeys. The owners Peter and Marja are very friendly. They know a lot about the surrounding and helped us with all our questions. Marja is also an excellent cook. For just a few dollars we had a fantastic dinner.
If you are looking for a place to stay and you like to visit the national parks Manuel Antonio, Corcovado, Marino Balleno or Cirippo or just want to relax at their pool this is the perfect spot. La Cacatua Lodge is easily accessible through a well maintained dirty road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjokeWateringen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this lodge and it was the best and most beautiful place we stayed in during our trip in Costa Rica. As we were travelling by bus it was very convenient that Peter picked us up at the bus stop and that we had the possibility to have home made diner with them. Marja is an exellent cook and we enjoyed every meal! The bungalows are nicely decorated with an eye for detail and sitting on your private porch you can see a lot of wildlife and take in the beautiful surroundings.Highly recommended!

Groetjes en alles Gute!

Theo en Renate

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naatje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2011

In the middle of the high season, lured by a vacancy and a Punta Uvita guide's promise that that we would find toucans there, my friend and I bravely turned off the highway and carefully negotiated our way about 2km up a steep, heavily rutted, gravel track through dense forest to reach this astonishing little garden of Eden. There we found a B&B with three duplex cabinas on an open hillside, arranged far enough apart to assure privacy. The rooms were tastefully composed and spotlessly clean. Some are equipped with kitchenettes. Ours wasn't, but it did have a micro fridge and an electric kettle for making coffee or tea. At the top of the hill, looking out over a forested valley is the main house with a spacious open-air porch, where the hosts, Peter and Marja (who designed and built this remarkable place themselves) served us drinks when we arrived and a full breakfast the next morning. But what REALLY made our jaws drop was the natural beauty of the place and all the birds and other animals we saw and heard: butterflies with 6-inch wingspans in shimmering bright blue; at least half a dozen different kinds of hummingbird, including one barely bigger than a bumblebee; and, of course, toucans. Indeed, had we been able to spend a whole day just sitting on that porch or exploring the surrounding woods, I'm sure the different species we'd have seen would number well into three figures. One final note: despite the condition of the road leading to this B&B, I've assigned "Location" a five-star rating. That's because, even though the accommodations are absolutely first rate, what made experience we had there so memorable was precisely WHERE this place is-- i.e., a hillside clearing deep in a CR rainforest. But make no mistake-- you WILL need a 4x4 to get there. And don't forget to bring your bird book and your binoculars... ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ye0c0mic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We traveled from Manuel Antonio to Uvita in early January 2011 as two couples. On our way down, we called and made the reservation with Cacatua Lodge and could not have been more pleased! The rooms are elegant and almost brand new, and the jungle view is incredible. Truly a great place to spend your time in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldude1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Very beautiful private houses, brand new and well designed. Comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchenette (ask for the kitchen houses if you want them), spotlessly clean.
Beautifully landscaped grounds, jungle at your doorstep, lots of birds, butterflies and occasional howler monkeys.
Take one of the dogs for a walk on the path and let him find the animals for you.
Very much recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabalo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My husband and I have a lodge over two hours away from La Cacatua on the Osa Peninsula. Occasionally we come to Uvita for shopping and business and we wanted to stay somewhere for a night that was secluded and away from town. After searching on the internet, we found La Cacatua and thought the atmosphere, pool, rooms and grounds looked wonderful. We were not disappointed. Peter and Marja have done a fantastic job with their new place and we felt right at home. It is so quiet and peaceful there and they are such gracious hosts. The darling bungalows are tastefully decorated with hot water, ceiling fans and porches overlooking the beautiful gardens. We did not have a chance to swim in the pool but it sure looked inviting. We loved meeting one of Peter and Marja's dogs Chucky and their beautiful Cockatoo Kareltje. Peter and Marja invited us to dinner and we had a delicious Thai dish on their porch lit with candles - it was a wonderful atmosphere and Marja made us a scrumptious desert with tropical fruits. It was a very nice experience and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaloLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
597 reviews
4.6 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
3.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Manoas
Manoas
#2 of 41 in Uvita
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cacatua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cacatua Lodge

Property: La Cacatua Lodge
Address: Uvita de Osa, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“La Cacatúa Lodge” is a charming small hotel / Bed & Breakfast ideally located close to Marina Ballena National Park and yet tucked away in a secluded jungle setting. Marina Ballena, Costa Rica’s first national marine park is created in 1989 and wellknown of the whales, dolphins and turtles near the coast. Also two periods a year the whales are mating and giving birth to their youngs in this area. Wonderful beaches, good restaurants, shopping and banks are all easily accessible from our Lodge. Our lodge has spread throughout a tropical garden three bungalows house with four spacious rooms with bathroom, fridge and coffee maker and two studios equipped with kitchens. All have private terraces where you can watch the sunrise while sipping your morning tea or coffee. Enjoy the Mountain vieuw from the swimming pool or Jacuzzi as you relax after a day of sightseeing or take a drink at our pleasant bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Cacatua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cacatua Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing