We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply life-changing”
other travelers have booked this property
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Sunset view River swimming pool just a short walk away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Sunset view
River swimming pool just a short walk away
Ocean view patio with outdoor dining
Ocean view from pool
Living Room
Living room facing Pacific Ocean
Dining area
Kitchen with gas stove
Kitchen facing ocean view
First En Suite Bedroom with ocean view
First En Suite Bedroom with ocean view
Bathroom for master bedroom #1 with walk-in shower
Second En Suite Bedroom
Second En Suite Bedroom
Second En Suite Bedroom
Bathroom for Second Bedroom with Walk In Shower
Pacific  side of house
Trail to river waterfall pool
Sign for our road Howler Alley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tkipp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply life-changing”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the start, Lynn and her Management team, Tom and Christine, made booking our trip as easy and pleasurable as possible. We had never been to Costa Rica and they held our hand through the whole process. The house itself is unbelievable and is far beyond what can be captured in photos. The open floor plan and open exposed screened windows, give you the feeling of being perched in a tree house atop the jungle. The bugs are not bad at all which was one of our concerns before arriving. People comment on the drive up the mountain to the house, and although is quite intense the first time, became one of our favorite parts (4x4 is not an option, it is a necessity). The private waterfall on the property was a tad tricky to find the first time (maybe we are just daft) so we didn't really enjoy it until the end of the trip. Once we found it, we wished we had gone every single day! Its a little oasis. We explored a lot of Costa Rica during our stay and honestly couldn't find a better town than Uvita. Its far enough from the really commercialized touristy areas but its still developed enough to be comfortable for foreigners. You get the real spirit of Costa Rica. Things you MUST do: go the the waterfall that is on the road from Uvita up to the house because there is a natural waterslide! Take the ATV tour for the day that leaves right from the town of Uvita. MUST do the horse ride up to the Nauyaca Waterfall. Have a meal or two at The Jolly Roger because they have some of the best wings and burgers we had experienced anywhere in the world (Tom and Christine will agree!). Plus the view is incredible. If you surf, Dominical is the best but if you just want a beach day without huge waves crashing on you, try Hermosa or Dominicalito beach. Its less busy and i found them more enjoyable (i dont surf though). Dominical was amazing for bars but dont be afraid to try the little bar/club at the bottom of the mountain in Uvita. Josen will take good care of you.

All in all, Casa Toucan gave us all a better perspective on life after watching just one sunset from the pool with an Imperial in hand. I'm sure it will for you too! Slow down and live Pura Vida :-)

Travis

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irinavase...
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4- two adults and 2 children age 6 and 8.
We all loved staying at Casa Toucan. Very spacious rooms, open plan, view on the ocean over lush jungle. Space, air, bird calls, guttural monkey sounds- indescribable! Truly a place to relax and enjoy every minute. Pool is great, water is warm and clean, no chlorine smell.
House is very clean as well. It is also very spacious and very comfortably furnished in a great taste.
We found everything we need for a comfortable stay. The owners provided beach towels and toys, huge collection of DVDs (but only few for kids), paper towels, even laundry detergent was provided!
Even thought the house is in the middle of a jungle we have not had wild life crawling around the house. We saw a tiny lizard inside a few times, I think it was anole.
Outside we saw toucans and lizards. Heard but seldom saw monkeys.
Waterfall a little ways from the house is beautiful and the water is deep enough for swimming. Last few steps to the fall are quite steep but manageable.
Staying at Casa Toucan was great. We definitely got the value for our money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and pool
Liked least: shower could use a curtain so water does not splash on the floor so much
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkowieski
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surrounded by nature and wildlife with modern amenities”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Toucan is a unique property in all senses: It offers amazing views of the jungle and ocean, remote location (yet within a short distance of Uvita), and is situated within a short distance of many of the adventures that my family was interested in. We arrived very late after some flight delays into San Jose, so getting up to the property on the steep mountain road was a bit tricky, but not as bad as I was expecting due to very good directions left by Lynn, the owner. As we arrived very late, the property managers offered to bring some breakfast by the next morning and help get us oriented to the property. We really appreciated that, as we were all exhausted from the long trip. The house itself has large, open rooms and does not have windows - just screens, so you are truly immersed in the jungle setting. This is great most of the time, but sometimes the jungle is surprisingly "loud", so just be aware of that. We did become accustomed to the sounds by the 2nd day, and looked forward to the morning and afternoon visits by the friendly Toucans and various birds. The master bedroom has a completely open bathroom area, which we had mixed opinions on - it would be one of the few things we might change if we were able. We could hear the howler monkeys somewhere nearby, but never actually spotted them. The pool was great for an afternoon dip after the day's adventures, of which we had planned for each day. Thanks to Lynn for a very memorable stay at Casa Toucan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Very sketchy Wi-fi access - even in the sticks, we could have used a reliable connection. Sadly, this Wifi kicked us each off every couple of minutes requiring a router reset
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brendaken
Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“And week in a jungle paradise”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although the drive up to the villa the first time was intimidating for us prairie people it became less as the days went on. The view is outstanding and we saw a sloth in the "backyard" one day which was awesome in addition to hearing howlers every day. The home is well-equipped with most items you'd need. It did get very hot during the afternoon hours so the lack of a/c was a downfall from my perspective but it didn't really bother my hubby. Having the private pool was great and we used it a lot. The trail down to the waterfall and swimming area was a nice walk. Lynn was easy to contact by email prior to and during our vacation and you could tell she genuinely wanted us to have a good time while we were there. As private as it is you are only about a 10 minute drive from amenities. We've been taking winter vacations for about 22 years and this place will go down as one of our most memorable locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See write
Liked least: Lack of a/c
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing