We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Guesthouse in Costa Rica”
Review of Rancho DiAndrew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho DiAndrew
Ranked #15 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This place is located in the jungle and surrounded by many waterfalls. After visiting this guesthouse in the mountains you will not want to stay anywhere near the beach - the experience is just so much more rewarding. Andrew Mattison, who runs the place, cooks the best food in Costa Rica, and does the best waterfall and nature tours with his buddy biologist Ryan King.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our stay in one of the cabinas was better than any hotel could offer. The tent cabina was very spacious, clean and beautifully constructed. The platforms were spectacularly placed with private outdoor shower, private bathroom and terrace.

You would be hard pressed to find a view better than this. We woke up to an ocean view and a view of the Whale's Tail (a famous sandbar that whales migrate to annually that is just happened to be shaped like a whale's tail). All of this view from IN our bed!

Toucans, birds, monkeys and other wildlife were everywhere. It was a great place for hiking and visiting waterfalls. This is an ideal setting for a yoga retreat or group retreat as well as for anyone who enjoys all the nature Costa Rica has to offer.

Drew was an exceptional host was quick to offer anything to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. It was such a memorable experience that we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauii2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Rancho DiAndrew is tucked away just a few KM off the main road that runs along the coast through Uvita, Costa Rica.

This place is incredible! The views are absolutely amazing- sweeping vistas of the coast and whale tale sand bar beyond the beautiful rain forest from pretty much everywhere on the property.

The ample grounds are well groomed yet still are lush from being IN the rain forest. There's tons of native wildlife from monkeys to toucans. I spent hours lounging on a hammock just listening to the sounds of the rain forest!

I stayed in the house, though next time I'd love to do the cabinas. They are really comfortable and have their own outdoor bathroom with a private open shower that looks over the breathtaking coastal views! The backpacker's accommodations also look spiffy and are a great deal. There's access to an outdoor kitchen so if you're on a budget you can cook your own meals. Breakfast came with my accommodations and was totally delicious! Plus, the coffee- oh how I miss it.

The service was impeccable. The hosts really make you feel at home. They have surf boards and body boards to loan if you want to hit the beach. They also know the area incredibly well. Ryan the biologist leads night tours of the rain forest, and Andrew the host does waterfall tours of all the best hidden spots! They give you a really warm and welcome vibe. I highly recommend doing both.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's peaceful, beautiful, comfortable and surprisingly inexpensive, Rancho DiAndrew is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Quentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIPPE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine-paris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
644 reviews
0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 43 in Uvita
209 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Osa de Rio
Casa Osa de Rio
#17 of 43 in Uvita
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho DiAndrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho DiAndrew

Address: 4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rancho DiAndrew Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing