We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Visit to Rancho DiAndrew!”
Review of Rancho DiAndrew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho DiAndrew
Ranked #16 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have vacationed to Rancho DiAndrew four times. Each experience has been life changing. Rancho DiAndrew provides an impressive and safe jungle experience where priceless memories are created. Andrew and staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home and to insure your trip is an experience of a lifetime. This property is tranquil with 360 degrees of exquisite views of the active rainforest and the Pacific Coast (Whales Tail Peninsula, Cano Island, and Pedra Ballena). Encounters with wildlife have been safe and awesome. I recently visited Rancho DiAndrew for a yoga and surf retreat. Yoga class was done on a balcony at the main house overlooking the rainforest and coast. Priceless! Andrew's professionalism and expertise with surfing and surf lessons were invaluable. The adventurous and unforgettable waterfall tours were safe and the guides were kind, organized and knowledgeable. Andrew's cooking is outstanding! Rancho DiAndrew is a treasure in Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: All rooms have breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostaGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was travelling with my fiancee and a few of our friends and we all had an amazing time at Rancho DiAndrew. We didn't get in until after midnight but Andrew was waiting for us with the lights on and cold beer in the fridge. It was great to wake up to the amazing balcony views as our first sights of Costa Rica while we listened to the howler monkeys that woke with every day. Andrew helped arrange a zip line tour one day we were there but we spent most of our trip on the beach during the day and BBQing on the balcony every night looking out at the sunset and thunderstorms over the whale's tail. The location is also great for wildlife. Dozens of monkey crossed the road all around us on one trip down the hill and we were surrounded by toucans, jungle turkeys and other wildlife when relaxing around the house. Andrew told us all the best places we needed to eat around town and was a great guide whether we were looking for a night out in town or great swimming holes and waterfalls just minutes away. We had an amazing time and are already planning a our next trip to Rancho DiAndrew with more friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marchal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rancho DiAndrew is a wonderful place to relax and get the best traveling experience on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. First of all, the place is located on the beautiful hill with an outstanding view over Marino Ballena National Park and its whale tail. The surrounding is very quiet, peaceful and secluded. Lack of light pollution makes the star gazing a truly unforgettable experience at night. Jungle sounds bring back memories of Indiana Jones. Private cabins are designed with style and flair. One of them has private fridge where beverages can be cooled down. Moreover, the great location uphill guarantees no mosquitos and cooler temperatures - something greatly appreciated after travelling many days in Costa Rica. Open - air showers makes a daily usual activity of showering an exciting experience.

Andrew - the owner of the Rancho takes care of guests very well and makes sure they are happy. He organizes a fantastic waterfall tours which provide excellent opportunity to visit untouched areas of Costa Rica, to perform jumps into waterfall and snorkel among fish. Both him and his employees make sure all participants have a great time and all activities are safe. Andrew takes a great pictures of you to keep memories from this fabulous place. Even if you do not plan to stay at the Rancho, make sure you take part in this wonderful tour. Moreover, Andrew is very helpful and gives tons of advice for the next stages of your trip as he knows Costa Rica better than many locals.

All in all, our stay at Rancho DiAndrew was a highlight of our trip and if we ever go back to Costa Rica, we will definitely come back to Uvita to spend some nights at this unforgettable place!

Room Tip: A private cabins are perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LatoUnOsoPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rancho DiAndrew is as laid back and easy going as it's hard working proprietor. Andrew and his crew took very good care of us and made us feel right at home! The view over the jungle to the pacific from the portal is incredible! Toucans, falcons, circling vultures, the "whale's tail" and the monkeys! Did I mention the monkeys?! You have to go with Andrew on one of his waterfall tours. Excellent fun! Hiking, swimming, climbing and cliff diving! Yow! Andrew offers tours of varying physical degree and challenge, and pays careful mind to safety, making everyone feel at ease. So even if you don't get a chance to stay at Rancho DiAndrew, be sure to go on a waterfall tour and enjoy a great lunch on the river afterward! The Rancho and Cabinas are only a few miles up the mountain from the coast road which makes it convenient to town, the beach and other attractions. And it's way cooler in the mountains! Pur Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a great time doing the water fall tour with Andrew. He is a fearless guide but makes sure that everything is safe and working accordingly. It's a beautiful location, the water is extremely refreshing, and it has all the makings of a great adventure tour. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to see nature in all it's beauty and get a great workout in at the same time. My wife and I went and she kept saying this was the "Best Tour EVER!!!" Nuff Said.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This location on the pacific is truely amazing, alil trek going up the mountain but well worth it! I was in CR for 10 days and the best night sleep was here in the tent like accomodations...and the best part, I woke up to a view of paradise!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had a friend recommend that I go on the Rancho DiAndrew Waterfall tour with Andrew. I AM SO GLAD THEY DID! My fiance and I went on the tour and loved every minute of it. We've both been coming to this part of Costa Rica for years and have done MANY of the tours around the area and I can honestly say that this tour was one of my favorites and an INCREDIBLE value. The tour was excellent - a beautiful walk up the river (with Andrew guiding you the whole way so you feel safe and comfortable) that leads you to a beautiful gorge with a waterfall. It looks like something out of the movie Avatar - large cliffs frame the waterfall and there's nobody else around - all you can hear is the waterfall and the people you go with. Andrew helps you get up onto a rock that you can jump off of into the waterfall pool - it's SO fun! And then you walk back down the river and sit down in part of it and the river has been naturally carved away so that it's a kind of slide for you. And then there's another small waterfall that you can sit in for a few minutes before wrapping up and heading off to have an excellent lunch.

Andrew is an incredible tour guide, a kind person and a first-rate chef. I truly recommend this tour.

In fact, we were so impressed with Andrew, the tour and his property that we're considering doing our wedding there next year!! Now THAT'S a recommendation! :) ENJOY!

(Oh and Andrew was so sweet about taking time to stop and use our camera to take photos of us so we could have them for our Save the Date and Invites - amazing!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 45 in Uvita
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho DiAndrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho DiAndrew

Address: 4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rancho DiAndrew Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing