We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“little piece of paradise”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked for 2 and eventually stayed 4 days. What a beautiful place to stay. From your glass villa you can see tucans, hear monkeys and see other animals doing they're thing. The rooms are absolutely fabulous and you feel like you're on honeymoon. The main pool next to the restaurant is perfect for a dip and they serve a lot of cocktails who are made by Victor, he does an amazing job!

The food was not very good in the beginning but we had a very good talk with the new manager (who is very hands on! yes!!!) and even spoke to the chef that it would be great to have some beautiful local ingredients. They also thought the same about it and hopefully things will be changed. It's just not necessary to use European (fake mozzarella) or Asian things that are hard to get. Hope that the owners will also think about it that people would rather stay in the hotel for a Snapper bbq style dinner then the to difficult salad with ponzu-dressing (what wasn't ponzu). So, the last night we gave it a try again and the chef prepared us something he local he liked, it was AMAZING!!!! (i would recommend asking him to make something)

The only other thing. The tax and service fee on top of the breakfast/lunch/dinner menu is absurd. It is a little strange that they don't do anthing for breakfast (including). Not even a little bit of fruit.

Room Tip: Choose for a jungle villa's. Especially the one at the end is absolutely amazing with all the lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    76
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
487
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place, villas in perfect shape, great shower, the pool is stunning, food excellent and the staff, extremely friendly. They call you by your name and cater to your needs. I will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We reached just in time for the most amazing sunset in most amazing surroundings. We were given a welcome cocktail, the best welcome drink we ever had. We stayed in a jungle villa since the ocean villas were all booked, but I don't regret a bit. The jungle villas had more privacy. Ours especially was all the way to the end so total privacy. The villa by itself was fantastic, all glass, complete jungle atmosphere with all luxuries.

We had breakfast there, was quite expensive for very small portions. I was hoping to have dinners there based on the many good reviews but didn't find much variety in it. However, there are very few restaurants in Uvita, and the considering the road to/from village to hotel is ridiculously bumpy and curvy, having meals at the restaurant may be worth it.

There is a trail to a small beautify waterfall from the hotel, the hike is absolutely rewarding!

Cons:
You do need a high clearance vehicle to get there, the road is pretty steep so a 4x4 vehicle is very much necessary. The 20 min ride up an down was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Jungle villas far from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shikari007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is truly paradise! Stayed here for three nights just last week and wish I could go back. Pictures do not do this place justice. Your own private villa, a serene pool overlooking the forest and ocean, and personalized service where the staff makes it a point to get to know you and make anything you need available. We loved it! From the views, to the people, to the food. We enjoyed drinks on our patio, watching the toucans fly above us, waking up to the ocean everyday, and so much more. Yes, the road up is a bit challenging, but it is definitely worth it. We ventured into town for excursions on 2 out of the 3 days of our trip. We wish we had just one more day to enjoy the property itself. Especially the river and waterfall trails! If you have any doubt about staying here, erase it. Do it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in 1 of 12 villas in this great hotel/resort. Awesome glass villas offering privacy and serenity. Beautiful infinity edge pool with a great view of Uvita. Service was from Harold and the rest of the staff was great. Dinner at the restaurant was good, great atmosphere. From our room we were able to see lots of tucans! Pictures do not disappoint. I would recommend and go back.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view and order the house cocktail at the O2 bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a great time spending a week (7 nights) at Oxygen. The food is shockingly good-breakfast included. Highly recommend getting a side of the tasty Lizano sauce with your morning omelet. The staff was all super nice and we had only a couple of insect visitors given sleeping in the jungle. I'm terrified of bugs and was fine. Best accommodations we saw in Uvita. The road getting up and down everyday is horrendous but they all are in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the last one in the jungle...we loved it's privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What I loved about oxygen was how small and quiet it was. Wonderful if you looking for something secluded, romantic, and not touristy. I got engaged while staying there and it was the perfect setting. The drinks they make are seriously amazing. The staff is super friendly. We were there for New Years Eve and they let us plug in our ipod and play music to dance to. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
163 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Property: Oxygen Jungle Villas
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing