We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I agree with the last few posters about Oxygen. My husband and I stayed here in April 2013, and although the views, scenery, and ambiance were beautiful, we were really disappointed. This place has so much potential, but needs a lot of improvement in services, and amenities. The owner, as the other posters stated, did work on his laptop all day by the pool. I also found this inappropriate, especially as there was a response from management on tripadvisor to a recent post that this wouldn't happen anymore teh day before we arrived. We experienced this our whole time. Not only that, we also overheard conversations about staff efficiencies, what needed to be done in each room, etc. It made it extremely uncomfortable since this is a small place with only 12 villas, so when you are the only 2 people at the dining area at breakfast and have to overhear all business conversations it makes it less than pleasant. The food was good and fresh, although there was one day when we made the trek back to the hotel for lunch and to relax by the pool and were told the chef went home sick so we couldn't get lunch. Royiner did arrange for us to get some snacks (not sure if the chef came back?) so that was much appreciated. I wanted to love this place so much more as I had most looked forward to staying here of the 3 hotels we were at in Costa Rica, but it really fell short. The staff tried very hard, but they could use some help. Having to serve food, bar tend, clean tables, check in and check out is a lot for one person. It took us over 30 minutes to check out since there were three villas trying to leave at the same time, and only 1 person to help. On the plus side, Victor, Royiner and Sylvia are all fantastic. Overall, the villas and views are beautiful, but for the price there are better values in Uvita and the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxygen M, Manager at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello,

It sounds like you had a disappointing experience and we would like to make it up to you. We would be more than happy to offer you a complimentary stay. Please contact us so that we can arrange this.

From the sound of things you visited us when a consultant was assisting us. This was during a transitional period of time from one General Manager to another. We are happy to announce that Sami our new General Manager is now working for us full-time.

We are not sure what transpired with the missing Chef in your post, but this should not have occurred. We are currently researching this and taking steps to prevent it from happening again.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and the villas. To us the views of the jungle and the ocean is what makes Costa Rica a special place, and it thrills us that you enjoyed this part of your vacation.

It's also quite a joy to learn that the staff did a great job assisting you. We take great pride in hiring local staff and being a member of the community. We'll let them know that they were mentioned on Trip Advisor and that their efforts were appreciated.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    68
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
417
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience here. The villas are absolutely incredible and so was the food. The owner and his staff really helped make the experience for us and went out of their way everyday to make sure we were comfortable. It is really a must do. A great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is beautiful. The sounds of the jungle, the trees, the birds, the scenery and the buildings themselves are all lovely.

....but.....

For us, particularly when paying this kind of price, we want more out of a resort than just great scenery. We've been lucky enough to stay at some amazing boutique resorts around the world, so maybe we're just spoilt, but I found this place to be lacking in some important ways.

We felt there were many things that could be improved. I will list a few of them here:

- Management: the resort's manager sat near the pool everyday, working on his laptop. He also conducted business meetings every day in the same area. I heard all about staff issues, invoicing issues and even witnessed a meeting about a villa sale - including all the contractual points & prices, including profits & how profits might be improved!! I thought that was really unprofessional and was the last thing I wanted to hear when relaxing around the pool on holiday.

- the villa: Perhaps I expected too much, but before arriving I imagined a villa surrounded by jungle, private & secluded, quiet & peaceful. This wasn't what we found. Our villa was within a few feet of the car park & within a few feet of the next villa. At night & early in the morning we were bothered by car headlights shining straight into our room and could hear the conversations of the people exiting their cars. Luckily the people next door to us were very quiet, but we heard them chatting a few times, just because they were so close.

- Service: although the staff are sweet and are trying their best, they obviously lack experience at this level and often seemed out of their depth with simple requests.

- Food: during our stay, food options were very limited. Whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, there was no menu and options were given to you verbally only. This may just be a personal preference, but I like to sit and look through a menu. For me, that's part of the experience of having a meal. Also, and I think this is particularly important, you are not given any idea of the cost of the options until you check out & pay the bill. There were a few unpleasant surprises at that point for us. Particularly when, because the options were very limited, I often found myself having something to fill me up, rather than something I'd really enjoy. The standard of the food ranged from average to very good.

I don't enjoy finding fault with our stay because Costa Rica is a beautiful, friendly & amazing place, but Tripadvisor is an invaluable tool for me when booking holidays & I hope this review is helpful to others considering staying at Oxygen Jungle Villas.

On the plus side, we enjoyed the gorgeous pool, the lovely little trail into the jungle, the good coffee, the wildlife, the jungle sounds and the comfy beds!

Room Tip: Choose a jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxygen M, Manager at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of Oxygen. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay during your time with us and address your points below.

Management: We agree that it is unprofessional for you to overhear staff issues and business transactions in relation to the hotel and we can assure you that this will not happen again.

Villa: We are continuously striving to improve privacy of the villas and have been planting additional flora for a while now which, as time passes, will increase the privacy more.

Service: When you were visiting we had a couple of new staff members so this may be why they seemed less experienced. We also like to do our best to hire Costa Rican nationals to support the local economy which usually takes a bit more training on our end. We apologize for the staff not seeming experienced enough, this is something we will definitely look into and address.

Food: Also while you were visiting we were transitioning to a new chef who was designing a new menu while you were staying with us. We are happy to announce that the new menu has been prepared and is now available to all of the guests. Again, we apologize to you for this inconvenience. We agree that you should have been made aware of the cost of your food beforehand and we have spoken to the staff about this.

We are glad that you enjoyed the conformable beds and beautiful nature that Costa Rica and Oxygen has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Unit 12.  This was a very private jungle view.  I was skeptical about not having an ocean view, but it was really neat and different.  We saw lots birds and animals sitting on our sofa in the morning.  Overall, this place is enjoyable, but frustrating.  Apparently, there is an unwritten rule, that the pool could not be used from 730pm to 1030pm, as the dinner tables are pool side.  I understand it, but it felt awkward when we were the only 2 having dinner and another couple wanted to swim.  I think it is perfect for honeymooners (we were not)...but it is missing a few key, simple design elements to make it work.  (Please note, this is written from the point of view of our unit, the others could be different).  There were no luggage racks, or anyplace to put our luggage.  We travel with rollerboards  and are used to "living out of them" so they were on the floor of the bathroom.  The clothing "shelves" are stained in black, and are cubby holes built into the backside of the headboard and at night, even with all the lights on, it was difficult to see in them.  There were no hooks to hang wet towels, or wet bathing suits, just hangers in the closet shelving area.  In general, the hanging areas are limited, which included the rails used to open the stall door.  The shower design looks cool, (rock floors, all glass, nice shower head) but leaked all over the floor and well, on our suitcases that we stored there.  Management is aware of the problem and happily gave us extra towels we could put on the floor.  The floor in the unit is high polished tile...slippery when wet.  

There was only one small plastic table to be used as a night stand.  So if we wanted to lay in bed and have coffee or wine, there was no place to put the glasses except on the floor.

We enjoyed sitting on the sofa but a ceiling fan outside on the porch would be a great amenity to add.  

The air-conditioning and ceiling fan worked great in the unit!  We were pleasantly surprised by the free high speed wifi signal as our unit was the furthest away.

We had dinner, there were no menus, just a description of the daily specials, which were really delicious...but we didn't know how much it was going to cost until we checked out.  

The pool area is nice and quaint, looks at the ocean, and very Balinese with an infinity edge.  And  the size if the pool area allows you to get to know your neighbors!  Nice lounge chairs, although I recommend getting additional towels to cover the wicker when laying by the pool.  The pool drink menu is limited.

We enjoyed the river walk and the waterfall was lovely!  

The staff exceeds all expectations and is happy to do whatever you want and need to make your stay enjoyable.

All the issues aside, we really enjoyed our stay, and I would recommend it.  I realize the issues listed here are specific to us and our needs as travelers.

Room Tip: Loved the privacy of unit 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelineatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I found Oxygen Jungle Villas while browsing around on Pinterest recently and added it to the list of places to consider for our honeymoon. We had an amazing destination wedding in Greece, so the honeymoon had to be just as exotic.

The sites and sounds of this place are outstanding -- the amazing views of the Pacific Ocean from the pool, club house and villas, the dramatic and sleek look of the glass villas, and we just loved the wild sounds of the jungle surrounding us. We really enjoyed all of the staff here -- each person is very friendly and accommodating. We had most of our meals here unless we were out during the day exploring, and every single one was amazing. The chef was very personable and made each course very unique. Be sure to try one of their signature smoothies -- Little Hercules; it's so delicious.

My husband and I both had a very romantic time here and highly recommend Oxygen to others who are having a honeymoon trip or just enjoy romance and outstanding views. We will certainly come back! Thank you to the Oxygen staff for making the first part of our Costa Rican honeymoon picture-perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa#1 and I liked that it was just next door to the club house. It also had a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was a solo traveller staying here a few nights. The view is astounding. The hotel had amazing service right from my check-in with very helpful staff.

The room was okay but I found the AC not cool enough for my liking - that's why I had rated a 4 and not 5.

The food was very interesting - I liked the simplicity of their dinner options (fixed menu) and the dishes were both visually appealing and delicious.

The real gem of this place is the bartender Daniela, always greeted with a big smile while paying attention to small details and offering a little insight into Costa Rica and the town of Uvita.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Simply put, their motto "hard to find harder to leave" couldn't be more true.
We stayed four nights and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel's Balinese architecture blends beautifully with its pristine tropical surroundings. Our Villa #5 was located between two others, but no guests need walk past #5 to access their villas making it very private. Many ammenities are included and the view of the Pacific is spectacular.Their youthful staff was very enthusiastic, professional and put forth a genuine effort to ensure our satisfaction.
We enjoyed day trips to Corcovado National Park through a tour group arranged by the hotel and went to Ballena National Marine Park (a five minute drive away) on our own. Walking the beach out to the "whale's tail" we marvelled at a large flock of pelicans that continually circled the area. The scenery is spectacular and the waters there offer a gentle place to swim. Should you go, be sure to make a lunch stop at the nearby Restaurante Pinuelas for fresh fried whole Red Snapper and a cold bottle of Imperial. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasAlice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxygen M, Manager at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for the positive review.We do have some great people working here.It's a hard place not to like as you can take your time and enjoy some of the simple delights.We hope to see all of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Property: Oxygen Jungle Villas
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing