We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Oxygen as a great relaxing beginning of our honeymoon. It´s a perfect getaway with magnificent views. Luckely we had a GPS to find it and a fourweeldrive to get there. Because it´s a 15 minute drive up the hill, it´s perfectly isolated in the middle of the jungle. But no way you'll go by feet to the beach (wich is protected national park so you have to pay 6 dollars p.p. to get there, but it is worth it). The villas are beautiful, they have suroundings of glass, but are also very private. With everything you need, a terrace with a comfortable long bench, a delightful bed, airconditioning (no bugs inside the villa), Ipod dockingstation, minifridge, rainshower and dimminglights to set your villa to your own mood. Our oceanviewvilla had no view sitting on the bench because of the hedge, but standing up you have the most magnificent view. At night you hear the tingfrogs and in the early morning you hear the howlermonkeys in the mountains. We saw tucans, a koati, hummingbirds, a snake, parakeets and dozen of different birds. The main building has a restaurant and swimmingpool with relaxing chairs and beds. It's very modern and has the most beautiful view of the ocean. The staff Alberto, Marco and Jason are very kind and helpfull and they speak very good English. They've arranged a tour to Corcovado for us (90 dollars p.p.), and if you'll stay at Uvita this is something you must do. From Sierpe, a 45 minute drive, you go by boat trough the mangroveforrest and over the ocean to the national park. During this trip you will see the wildlife you are looking for in Costa Rica! Beware the humidity is high and the first trail is tiresome (the 3 hour walk feld like a exhaustion). The second trail to the waterfall is shorter but steep. But it's realy worth it. We have had some points of attention for Oxygen: the hotwaterprovision isn't great, after 5 minutes it's cold and you have to wait a few minutes before it's hot again. The restaurantmenu is limited and you have to pay for breakfast. The chef Dean is very gifted and a great cook, at the fourcourse diner you have to eat what he prepares. So you have bad luck if you don't like meat, fish and that's on the menu. Overall we had a wonderfull stay at Oxygen and if we ever go back to Costa Rica we certainly will return to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toshirules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

We are so happy you took the time to write a review. Your comments are extremely helpful in helping us better our property. The hedges in front of your villa have been trimmed but had we known about it during your stay we would have addressed it immediately. It is true, little things make a big difference.

We are making great steps in improving water temperature and becoming even more eco friendly.

The surprise coursed dinner prepared by Chef Doug is almost always a big hit with the guests but is not limited to just meat and fish. We make a point to ask all our guests of allergens and dietary restrictions. Also if they have any preference. Chef truly enjoys going the extra step for our guests and is always in the dining room chatting it up with guests making sure he exceeded their expectations. We are sorry you felt it was limited but rest assure, your next visit to Oxygen if there is anything food or beverage specific you would like, please do not hesitate to ask.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Oxygen Jungle Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 623 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

What an amazing place! The owner is very warm and helpful. This place is like something you wanna go to but donno what it will be like. The rooms are all glass villas. Air conditioned and in the middle of the jungle. You really get to be one with nature here. You can see monkeys in the jungle as you lay in bed! There are few expereinces as unqiue as this! There is no television in the room. They give you a DVD player if you choose to view anything while you are there, but view nature as this is your change to disconnect from the real world! The infinity pool facing the pacific is just perfect!

Very clean and modern decor. In CR you cannot put TP in the toilet...same at this place....so there is that to look forward to. Its not a big deal if it keeps the country as beautiful as it is I was all in!
Location. We loved Uvita as its close to Dominical and the Osa Peninsula so we were able to see a lot more as its close to so much of the south. Highly recommend getting a 4x4 to go here. The roads up the mountain are rough and fun when in the right kinda vehicle.
Food was yummy at this place as we did a couple of them there. We are not olive lovers but thiers was soaked in rosemary and we loved them. A great place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's a waterfall trail on the property. Very pretty and fun. Also on the drive up theres an...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for the great review - we do hope we met and exceeded all your expectations. It's been busy up here on the mountain so very sorry for the delayed reply.
We enjoyed having you and do look forward to your return.

Woke up this morning to 3 Toucans sitting in the trees having a chat! Thus acting as my premature alarm clock! Not a bad way to start the day. :)

Take great care and we will see you soon.

Team Oxygen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I took our honeymoon to Costa Rica in March of 2012. We arrived very late at night, received our rental car, and crashed out in a mediocre hotel in San Jose. Bright and early the next morning, we started our voyage to Oxygen Jungle Villas, where we would spend the next 4 days. The drive was fantastic. The trip up the mountain to the resort is just as described - a dusty, bumpy, narrow, steep little road that, without a 4x4, would be completely miserable to drive on. But we're Montana kids. There's no amount of dust or bumpy road that could stop us. Once we arrived, the actual resort is absolutely a dream. Of course we were greeted with the welcome drinks and friendly smiles, but there's something about it that made me feel like I belonged. We didn't get any special treatment for being there on our honeymoon, but honestly that suits us just fine.

The first night, we made sure to have the surprise dinner at Oxygen. The chef whipped up 5 courses of delicious food, bought straight from the markets at the bottom of the hill. Loved it. Here's where I'll be honest about the food: hubs is a picky eater. He didn't eat much that night, but what he did eat he very much enjoyed. We chose to travel around and eat elsewhere the othe 3 nights, but that was just because I didn't want the poor guy to go hungry. One tiny recommendation to those planning a trip to Oxygen: bring a few snacks, just in case.

The actual villa itself was perfect for us. We loved everything about it. It was cool, private, and comfortable. I haven't slept that well in years. The bathroom and TP disposal system did not bother us. I never noticed a smell other than what was used to sanitize the area. We slept with the jungle. You almost can't help but sleep and rise when the sun does. We hurried home after long days of adventuring just to be there for the "twilight serenade". The jungle makes an incredible noise at night. It could be disconcerting to some, but it was lovely for us.

The pool is bliss, the staff is incredible, and the drinks are yummy. It was the right balance of being taken care of and being left alone. Overall, Oxygen was one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed, with a price tag that made me want to go back even sooner.

Another little tip: if you're looking for a really authentic Tico breakfast, there is a little place right at the bottom of the hill (where the dirt road starts) that is delicious. We split our breakfasts about 50/50 with breakfast from Oxygen and breakfast at the bottom of the hill. Both are excellent. I had banana pancakes and the granola bowl from Oxygen. Super yummy.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 4 and had a perfect view of the Ocean and mountainside. Honestly, I don't think...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank detdanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

What nice words you have to say about us. Thank you!

Some do find the trek up a bit of a challenge but knowing where you are from, we're happy your found fun in the adventure.

Since your visit with us we have made some great changes here, one including a Great new Chef. Even if "hubs" is picky, Chef will be happy to create just about anything you desire. One of the great things about discovering new places and travel is getting out and experiencing local restaurants and cuisine. One of the best parts of the trip even.
Though we would obviously love you here with us every night dining, getting out and exploring is half the fun.

We are so happy that you had an amazing Honeymoon and we will look forward your return visit. Next time you come - we will celebrate your return with some bubbly!

Best to you both,
Team Oxygen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We went to Oxygen Jungle Villas in April 2011, and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had! First of all, you have your own private villa, which is great. The views are amazing, and it's so peaceful. We hiked on site, took a dip in the river under a waterfall, and spent most days lounging poolside. The service was amazing - mostly impressed by David & Dallas, who seemed to be willing to do anything that made your stay more enjoyable. It's just a short ride to the restaurants and the beach. But, dinners at Oxygen were worth having! The food was delicious! We have thought about going back, and probably will one day soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This place is amazing!

We visited when the place had just opened and I think we were probably one of their first paying guests. We had a few teething problems which the owners immediately did their utmost to rectify.

The villas and the vibe of this place is breathtaking with almost an Eastern Balinese vibe. Very high spec rooms with such acute attention to detail.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everything about Oxygen was outstanding. From the moment we arrived and Huib greeted us with a welcome drink to the moment we departed, it all rocked. We were even greeted with our room candlelit and some champaign since it was our anniversary.

If you are a couple looking to do something fun and romantic in Costa Rica, this is your place (it is in fact a couples only resort). For a rather affordable rate at under $200 a night, you'll stay in a gorgeous A frame glass house with either views of the ocean or jungle (sometimes both). The porches have some nice outdoors furniture on them and they are covered so you can watch a storm roll in and remain dry. The rooms themselves are modern and sleek and I loved that there was no television to speak of, we enjoyed the modern yet natural vibe Oxygen exuded.

We eat mostly vegetarian food and they were completely accommodating with everything, making us what was undoubtedly some of the best food around for 3 days in a row. They also offered plentiful seafood & other meats if that's your thing. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great in their own ways, make sure you try a smoothie before you leave.

As others have mentioned, the dining area / lobby overlooks the infinity pool and provides a stunning view of everything below. The WiFi worked sufficiently well in the lobby along with just outside our room, but not inside the room.

Don't be afraid of driving up there, the directions they provide are spot on. But definitely rent a 4WD 4x4 car to make this drive. We did it in the rather cheap Terios BeGo which did fine but don't try it in a car with low clearance. The best part of being over 1000 ft. above the ocean -- you're above the mosquito line. That's right, those nets are just for looks and you can leave the bug spray for when you're down at the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great, we loved ours, which was near the pool with an ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nateblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at Oxygen Jungle Villas for three nights (four days) for the Semana Santa holidays. Our stay was a great experience. The hotel is simply beautiful with a great location high up on the mountains surrounding Uvita and Ballena National Park. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxed and you get into this mood almost instantly upon arriving and drinking your welcome cocktail next to the infinity pool and enjoying the view of Uvita and the ocean from above. The staff is very friendly and we found the service to be very good.

The hotel has 12 villas, some with ocean views and other secluded within the jungle. Villas are basically a glass rectangle with a nice terrace. Rooms are nicely decorated with touches of south asian decor and have all the amenities you would expect (a/c, fan, hot water, mini bar, music player, hair dryer). No TV or wi-fi in the rooms (wi-fi available at no cost and with decent speed in the pool/restaurant area).

During our stay we had breakfast, lunch and dinner more than once at the hotel and the quality of the food was always great. Ingredients are fresh, and carefully prepared. Dinner is a "surprise" with the meal consisting of five different plates. We had the surprise dinner on two nights and on both occasions we were very nicely surprised and happy that we stayed for dinner. Wine selection and recommendations were also good. Prices for food and drink consumed and the hotel are very reasonable.

A thing to point out is that for reaching the hotel a 4x4 vehicle is a must. Dont attempt to reach the hotel on an SUV that doesn't have 4x4, it wont make it up the steep incline and tricky turns. If you dont have a 4x4 drive to Uvita and leave your car there and take a 4x4 taxi up to the hotel.

Quick comment on the "bathroom privacy" issue mentioned by other reviewers. The villas are very intimate and the toilet is all enclosed in clouded glass so sounds might be amplified a bit. For us this was no big deal but it depends on how comfortable you are with your couple/partner. If you need a bit of more privacy just ask your villamate to step to the terrace outside for a few minutes and you should be fine with your pride.

Quick recommendation: put on your tennis or hiking shoes and walk to the entrance of the hotel and then take a right and walk all the way uphill (about 20-25 minutes) until you find the gate to a private estate. The view from this vantage point is breathtaking. Do this little hike in the afternoon past 430pm and you will not only see the beautiful colors of sunset but you will be surrounded by a myriad of birds (toucan spotting absolutely guaranteed) as they come back from feeding during the day to sleep in the surrounding jungle.

Overall this is a great hotel, with great installations, atmosphere and location, very highly recommended for couples or single travelers wanting to truly relax and enjoy great hospitality in beautiful southern Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttrango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 13 in Uvita
170 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: $167 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing