We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Jungle Mountain Top Slice of Heaven!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
piper6
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Perfect Jungle Mountain Top Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The anticipation grew as we kept winding our way up the mountain road...finally the gate! Then...more mountain road! Nothing absolutely nothing could have prepared us for our first thoughts as we "landed" at Madreselva! What a magical oasis! The sights, the sounds, breathtaking to say the least EVERY SINGLE DAY. We were so pleasantly surprised at the temperature up in the mountain during the evenings in June...you need a light sweatshirt! If you don't enjoy keeping the screens open and listening to a symphony of birds, howlers, insects, and the ocean in the distance-please stay away- this place isn't for you! The beautiful "cloud show" as we called it can keep you entertained for hours as you sit in the crow's nest seemingly right inside of the cloud forest. We traveled here with 5 kids (22, 19, 19, 15, and 15) and never once was the TV turned on...sure the WIFi was used but it was to show everyone the spectacular sights that they were discovering! Yanan helped us book a fishing tour in town that ended up being a true highlight and with the fully equipped kitchen and grill we were able to make a delicious dinner for ourselves. He can answer any question you have and takes immaculate care of the place! He helped us identify the birds and animals that we were seeing and hearing. Rosibel was out on medical leave (even though we did get to meet her and I imagine she is fantastic to get to have as she was so kind and friendly!) but her cousin Helen filled in for her making our delicious breakfasts and tidying up the house each day. The mountain road is a bit intimidating at first but we quickly got the hang of it and ventured out at night after all. Claudia provides you with an excellent 16 page welcome letter that you will want to print and take with you on your trip as it provides excellent information of the area and spot on directions! There just aren't enough words to describe the beauty and the delights that will simply take your breath away at every angle of this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VACATION OF A LIFETIME!”
Reviewed February 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My family of four met my husband's family of nine for a long overdue family reunion. Coming from our small 800 square foot condo back home to the Alderman's 5000 square foot luxury vacation paradise was an unforgettable experience. It was the best of both worlds. If you wanted privacy there was ample space to get away AND we had great times together gathered inside the house and poolside. The cousins stayed up late playing cards and board games. Priceless family time. Make sure to dedicate one night to grill out on the rancho. Simply the BEST! As we drove up the hill to the Alderman's home and passed through the private security gate one of my son's made the comment, "WOW! This is beautiful! It's like Jurassic Park without the scary dinosaurs!" The views are breathtaking!
When we arrived Rosibel was there to welcome us and to give a tour of this spectacular home. Her daily breakfast was always delicious and she took great care of us during our stay. She was very helpful with recommendations on daily excursions and restaurants. Her brother Yanan made sure the grounds were kept impeccably and the pool was always immaculate!
A must see while in Uvita is the Santa Lucia Falls. The day trip was amazing and the team that took us out treated us like family. The falls were magnificent and we ended with a homecooked meal. The best fried chicken I have ever had in my life served with rice, yuca, fresh pineapple and freshly squeezed mango juice.
A special Thank You to Claudia Alderman. She made sure we reserved reliable transportation from the airport to her home as well as a necessary 4X4 vehicle. The amenities were endless and couldn't have asked for more. The location and views were a dream come true. Her welcome packet was exceptionally helpful and she truly made sure our stay was perfect. I would definitely 100% recommend this property, it truly was a vacation of a lifetime!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning home that is somehow better than advertised”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at Madreselva, so I will keep it rather brief. From the moment of inquiring about the property to leaving the driveway for the final time, I found absolutely nothing (NOTHING!) to critique, much mess complain about.

Claudia is a pleasure to deal with and is very kind and timely at replying to questions. Once you arrive at the home, you'll be both in awe of it and its beautiful surroundings. The housekeeper, Rosibel, is a lovely person who genuinely made every effort to ensure that we were comfortable and had everything that we needed.

We took advantage of Claudia's very detailed welcome letter and visited a few great restaurants, explored the beaches, went on the Santa Lucia Falls hike (highly recommend), had a massage therapist visit us at the home, and ziplined with Osa Canopy Tour (very fun!). Claudia even arranged for a birthday cake prepared by a neighbor to be ready upon our arrival :)

From the amazing infinity pool to the well-stocked kitchen to the comfortable bedrooms, Madreselva has everything you could want for a relaxing vacation in an extraordinary setting. I hope you are able to enjoy it also, but please leave some dates open for me as I will definitely return!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpauley20...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Heaven!”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2015

Such a beautiful location from the infinity pool to the view of the ocean and mountains. It was absolute paradise! Be sure to do the rainforest waterfall tour, you won't regret it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far Exceeds Expectations - An Amazing House”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to stay somewhere as close to perfection as possible, this house is for you. The house and property are very private and the house is so well laid out that each room is completely private, yet feels inviting and open. Nestled in a spectacular jungle, toucans, monkeys, hawks and other wonderful animals can easily be seen from the pool or palapa (open thatched roof gazebo). A small butterfly garden in the back is just one of many beautifully landscaped gardens that surround the house. The view from the front of the house and pool is absolutely magnificent. The house looks down to the ocean and over the Marino Ballena National Park on one side and to mountains of rainforest on the other side. You can watch the sunrise over the jungle and the sunset’s colors over the ocean. The light is sublime. The house is equipped with everything you can think of and more! The kitchen is the perfect place to cook a tropical feast. However, Rosibel cooks wonderful breakfasts and has lots of local recipes up her sleeve if you want her to prepare other meals. Her dinner in a palm leaf is a must! Rosibel and her family are also excellent guides. They arranged a wonderful nearby bird watching trips and offered to organize more extensive horseback riding, surfing and hiking excursions. Some of the exceptional things we did included the waterfall tour given by the Nuanez brothers and massages by Rick and Rosie. The nearby beaches had perfect waves for boogie boarding and a full-day trip to Cano Island off-shore with Dolphin Tours in Uvita produced pods of dolphins and fantastic snorkelling.


Can’t recommend this property enough and certainly look forward to returning.

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing home!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing