We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent and luxurious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Terrazas de Ballena
Ranked #6 of 14 Uvita B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Las terrazas is located in a beautiful spot, best reachable by 4x4, surrounded by the sounds beauty of nature, but not 'too much' in the jungle, with a nice view of the ballena tale at the beach. Very close was the beach and all of the entrances of the national ballena park. There were also some restaurants and a supermarket and bakery.
The service of Hellen, the manager and the cleaning staff was excellent. The lodge was very beautifully decorated and clean. The staff helped us with all our questions, about amenities, restaurantreservations and tourist attractions. She even made and drew a elaborated map with all the best places around and helped us with making our route to the other part of Costa Rica.
Outside of the lodges a small but nice pool and a modern deck with lounge chairs was available. The outdoor kitchen and private sunbathing lounge were very practical.
All around it was a very nice experience!

Room Tip: the tucan lodge is near to the pool and closer to the entrance. The one besides it, is the same. Bot...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthijs m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Las Terrazas de Ballena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Although it's quite a way from the main road, this well designed and well run small hotel is set in immaculate gardens and was the nicest place we stayed in on a tour of Costa Rica. Whoever designed the spacious air conditioned bungalows, each with their own shady veranda, a sun drenched terrace, comfy loungers and an outdoor kitchenette has definitely got a gift! We stayed here 1 night on our way back from Drake Bay and deeply regretted we hadn't stayed there on our way down while we explored the area the previous week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel consists of three bungalows tucked into the side of a cliff, overlooking the ocean. It's about a mile up the hill on a gravel road and having 4WD made it much easier going. They serve delicious fruit and coffee for breakfast - all other meals are on your own. But there are plenty of great places to eat in the area, from roadside places for fresh fish to gourmet restaurants (we loved Citrus). The rooms are lovely and well-kept and the outdoor spaces are wonderful. We had breakfast on our patio each morning, spent plenty of time in our hammock, and enjoyed the pool. The local beach was filled with Ticos and we didn't see too many other foreigners while we were there. The owner Hellen goes out of her way to make sure you enjoy your stay--she's wonderful. I highly recommend this place for folks who want to enjoy the beauty of the coast from a slightly less touristy perspective.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magio921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at Las Terrazas. We loved Uvita and thought it was a great place to visit away from the crowds. The rooms are excellent and it was great to have air conditioning and a shower after our week down in Osa. The verandas are a great place to relax. Enjoyed the pool. The manager Hellen made us a hand drawn map of the area which was really helpful. She also arranged a snorkeling boat tour to cano island which was fantastic. Her recommendation of "Exotica" for dinner was also excellent. The food at this french restaurant was the best! There were only 2 things that made staying here a challenge- there is no food other than a breakfast of fruit and coffee. If you want food you need to travel to town 1km down a steep and bumpy road. However, if you plan in advance you can have food bought and use the kitchenette to cook. The first 2 nights we were the only guests and on site with a guard. This felt a little awkward and uncomfortable at first. I would probably rather be at a location where management or owners are on site. Would have liked more time in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmeraldCityTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is a lovely place - very clean, the views were amazing and also super relaxing.

That said, the restaurant is closed down, and the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the village, which means you really do need a vehicle.

Otherwise an excellent place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethLeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We have been traveling to Costa Rica for 10 years as a family and a few years solo prior. We have a house not to far from Las Terrazas but needed to find a place to stay after we rented it long term. I am not sure where to start but I can make this really short and just say "in all the years we have been traveling to Costa Rica this might have been our best trip, best stay, best host ever" and we have stayed our our house a few times....go figure! We were here with another family who also had two kids. It felt like home away from home. Hellen and her staff is amazing. We will definitely be staying here again if we can't stay at our place. Hellen, You rock! Your smile is contagious and you are full of energy! Thank you so much for making our stay so pleasant! Keep up the good work and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

At the end of our three-week trip we found this beautiful bungalow on a side of a small mountain surrounded by an inspiring wilderness and just 10 minutes away from the beach! The day started with the toucans saying good morning from the trees right in front of our terrace and at night they showed us their beauty in the light of our flash light. Right outside our suite we had pure jungle life- with a lot of birds, frogs, Franceska (the dog) and her best friend the grey Panther.
But this location was not just nice because of the accommodation itself but because of our private guide Hellen who drew us handheld a map with the best locals spots to experience (to hike, see waterfalls, the "top secret" beach where we were alone and where we could find the best restaurants - just known by locals).
For sure our last 5 days wouldn´t have been so nice without having Hellen and Greg, our great hosts. (We really didn´t want to leave...)
Thanks a lot for this unforgettable time at Las Terrazas.
Las Ballenas is a great place to experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageur056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
3.4 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
515 reviews
3.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Tica Lodge
Eden Tica Lodge
#4 of 14 in Uvita
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Ballena Hotel
Vista Ballena Hotel
#2 of 14 in Uvita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas de Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas de Ballena

Address: 1 km up road across from the Gas station, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range: $120 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Terrazas de Ballena 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hills above Ballena National Park is nestled Costa Rica's smallest Jungle Boutique Hotel - Las Terrazas de Ballena. With its spectacular ocean views of the "Whales Tail" reef and Cano Island, the Las Terrazas de Ballena has furnishings inspired and imported from Thailand. Las Terrazas de Ballena is a three-acre compound that looks like is is floating in the jungle. The bungalows and our tropical swimming pool have the same spectacular view of the only Whale Park in Costa Rica (Ballena National Park). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Terrazas de Ballena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas De Ballena Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing