We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Celaje
Nearby Hotels
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Cascada(Montezuma)
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vista de Olas(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$220
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moana(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moctezuma(Montezuma)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
97
43
13
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
43
13
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricafriesthe ownertucked awayhamburgerour honeymoonlove this placepoolmontezumacabinasbirdsoceannaturesingleswaterfallpeninsulajungle
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent Hospitality! The owners came to Costa Rica on vacation, fell in love w/ the area and decided to purchase & run this place. They are wonderful people who are very welcoming and speak English, Spanish & Dutch. Great Food! They have a wide variety to choose from on their menu, as well as a continental breakfast! All the food is fresh and cooked to perfection. Also, if you go fishing and catch anything, they will prepare and cook it to your liking! One evening, a guest had caught Ahi and we had excellent sushi!! Perfect Location & Beautiful little Bungalow!! The bungalows are very beautiful and unique, made with lots of raw wood and natural materials and decorated w/ local items from nature and the beach! Hotel Celaje is located just outside of one of the larger little towns were you can find local art/artists, shopping, excursions, restaurants and more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow, this place is cool. Its like the raw Costa Rica from years ago. Clean cabinas and uniquely decorated. (Down side: dark, no mosquito net in ours). Beach is not swimmable at times, but get a kayak and have fun. The island with the cemetery is so worth it. Take hammocks and have the island to yourself. The restaurant at Celaje is fantastic. Breakfast was delicious. The fish and the steak were the best. It's true...we live in Costa Rica and we had the BEST steak at Celaje. Head up to Montezuma and hike to the waterfall. Wonderful. Head over to Mal Pais and see the Pacific surf. Perfect for families would like to be off the beaten path. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank advntr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Super relaxing. Beautiful cabins, Beautiful grounds. Great food. What more do you want. This is also a bit of the beaten track just after you leave all the tourist noise behind. Added fun for us was that the owners turned out to be Dutch, as we are formerly from the Netherlands we really liked that. The nearby park is a bit more relaxing as well, not as many tourist but lots of monkeys.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and we didn't use room service, but trip advisor doesn't allow me to leave it blank so just to not downgrade the overall rating I just put it as excellent :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I needed to relax so decided to spend our 3 week holiday here at the Celaje in Cabuya, a small sleepy fishing village in Costa Rica. Cabuya is a 15 minute bus ride
(7 kilometres) from Montezua which has a large variety of activities, shopping, restaurants and sand beaches.

First I will start with what we loved, our bungalow was very private and cleaned everyday by the discreet cleaning staff. The upstairs bedroom was very roomy and had an overhead fan, hardwood floors and comfortable mattresses with great bedding. Downstairs had a small fridge for our cold beverages and the owners thoughfully supplied us with a coffee maker as we were early risers and long staying guests. In the front of the cabin was a private porch, with nice hammock and chairs and table to enjoy the view of the ocean.

Breakfast was plentiful and hot, serving eggs, pancakes, fruit, gallo pinto, juice and coffee. It was served under the large rancho with a lovely view of the pool and beach. It was buffet style so you could enjoy it at your own pace.

The pool is partially shaded and in the heat of the day was still cool and refreshing, ideal for those hot Costa Rican afternoons. The grounds were kept to high standards with the daily work of Ciego, who raked and watered to create a lovely tropical environnment. There were a variety of chairs and loungers to relax on while chatting to other guests or just reading, enjoying the free internet or sunning by the pool.

Meals were reasonably priced and the fish with the mustard sauce was one of our favourites. Great hamburgers and fries, beef tenderloin was delicious and the beer was always cold. The service was great, always a smile!

The owners, Marco and Carola along with all the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and part of the Celaje family and we will treasure our memories of this relaxing holiday.

Now for the negative, the day the that we had to leave and return to the frozen north:(

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kemptvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved the grounds. We loved the pool (although it needs a thorough cleaning-the water is not clear, algae). We loved the breakfast, it was excellent. The bungalows were cute and private. We liked the hammock, swinging chair and outdoor table and clothesline. We liked the location - easy access to Montezuma and Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area. The bungalows were clean.

We hated the pillows (bring your own, seriously). We found the owners to be a bit on the cool side, not unfriendly, but not warm or inviting. The bungalows back right up to the road, as other reviewers have mentioned, can be loud.

I would probably give this place 3 stars if there seemed to be better options around, but there didn't seem to be much competition.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews