We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Celaje
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Tantel Hotel(Cobano)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Cascada(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucy(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Moctezuma(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
97
43
13
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
43
13
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricafriesthe ownertucked awayhamburgerour honeymoonlove this placepoolmontezumacabinasbirdsoceannaturesingleswaterfallpeninsulajungle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 172 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Super relaxing. Beautiful cabins, Beautiful grounds. Great food. What more do you want. This is also a bit of the beaten track just after you leave all the tourist noise behind. Added fun for us was that the owners turned out to be Dutch, as we are formerly from the Netherlands we really liked that. The nearby park is a bit more relaxing as well, not as many tourist but lots of monkeys.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and we didn't use room service, but trip advisor doesn't allow me to leave it blank so just to not downgrade the overall rating I just put it as excellent :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I needed to relax so decided to spend our 3 week holiday here at the Celaje in Cabuya, a small sleepy fishing village in Costa Rica. Cabuya is a 15 minute bus ride
(7 kilometres) from Montezua which has a large variety of activities, shopping, restaurants and sand beaches.

First I will start with what we loved, our bungalow was very private and cleaned everyday by the discreet cleaning staff. The upstairs bedroom was very roomy and had an overhead fan, hardwood floors and comfortable mattresses with great bedding. Downstairs had a small fridge for our cold beverages and the owners thoughfully supplied us with a coffee maker as we were early risers and long staying guests. In the front of the cabin was a private porch, with nice hammock and chairs and table to enjoy the view of the ocean.

Breakfast was plentiful and hot, serving eggs, pancakes, fruit, gallo pinto, juice and coffee. It was served under the large rancho with a lovely view of the pool and beach. It was buffet style so you could enjoy it at your own pace.

The pool is partially shaded and in the heat of the day was still cool and refreshing, ideal for those hot Costa Rican afternoons. The grounds were kept to high standards with the daily work of Ciego, who raked and watered to create a lovely tropical environnment. There were a variety of chairs and loungers to relax on while chatting to other guests or just reading, enjoying the free internet or sunning by the pool.

Meals were reasonably priced and the fish with the mustard sauce was one of our favourites. Great hamburgers and fries, beef tenderloin was delicious and the beer was always cold. The service was great, always a smile!

The owners, Marco and Carola along with all the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and part of the Celaje family and we will treasure our memories of this relaxing holiday.

Now for the negative, the day the that we had to leave and return to the frozen north:(

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kemptvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved the grounds. We loved the pool (although it needs a thorough cleaning-the water is not clear, algae). We loved the breakfast, it was excellent. The bungalows were cute and private. We liked the hammock, swinging chair and outdoor table and clothesline. We liked the location - easy access to Montezuma and Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area. The bungalows were clean.

We hated the pillows (bring your own, seriously). We found the owners to be a bit on the cool side, not unfriendly, but not warm or inviting. The bungalows back right up to the road, as other reviewers have mentioned, can be loud.

I would probably give this place 3 stars if there seemed to be better options around, but there didn't seem to be much competition.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at Celaje for 2 wks and got to know the place quite well.The cabinas are quaint and clean (which was important to me), the bar/dinning area has beautiful custom made chairs/tables of wood and leather from a local artist.The grounds were kept impecable,it was hard to believe sometime you were actually in the jungle.The view from my bedroom was like something out of a romance novel.I loved the size of the pool and hot tub. You could swim in the ocean at high tide if you wanted to..This is the spot to go if your looking for a relaxing vacation.They offer yoga and aqua fit classes and moreIf you are looking for a little more excitement you can always go to Montezuma for a visit..Everyday there was a hot buffet for breakfast included with your room and a full menu that ranged from french fries to full steak dinners.The staff even though they didnt speak much English were always smilling and friendly.The owners were very helpful to me when I had health problem.There were a few locals that would stop by for a beer or smoothie and a swim.I would recommend this place to singles and families alike.Great Vacation
Thanks Marcos & Corola

Room Tip: you need water shows if going in the ocean
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 3 night at Celaje and really enjoyes it.
The bungalows are spacious but would need some renovation, the electrical hot shower is a bit dangerous, I got a few electric shocks...the mosquito nets have some holes. The garden is really pretty and the beach is right there.
Celaje is a bit away from Montezuma or other restaurants but the food served here is very good at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews