We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unique and special experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabuya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sanctuary at Two Rivers
Chappaqua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly unique and special experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was perhaps the best vacation I have ever taken. I travel a lot and have found myself caught up in the doing of things. See this....see that.... This vacation was totally different. Firstly, I did not go on a group retreat. I went all by myself and was very comfortable with that.I was in Eden: a serene, tranquil retreat with beautiful private waterfalls. I had never practiced yoga previously and was concerned as I'm a little older and with arthritis I wasn't sure I could master all of the positions. Every morning, I had a yoga class that was tailored to me. The food was fabulous and although I have eaten more than I ever have in my life, I did not gain weight. I was offered trips off of the grounds, but found myself wanting to stay and swim under the waterfalls, hike to the mountain top to watch the sunrise, and gawk and photograph the amazing howler and white faced monkeys. I had a lot of emotional issues before coming: family, work etc. but found this so restorative and left with a huge smile. Hospitality, beauty....it's all here in the jungle. One last thing- Max taught me the ukele and I just bought one and am having a blast with it. Jeff, thanks for all. It was truly amazing.

Room Tip: I was in the treehouse with the big king bed. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mambolina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
8
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Sanctuary at Two Rivers is amazing! I spent a week here for a retreat and my experience was perfection. From the accommodations, to the delicious healthy food, friendly staff, beautiful surroundings I could not have asked for a better time. The Sanctuary at Two Rivers is like living in paradise. I felt like I was in the movie Avatar...from the beautiful waterfalls, hikes, outdoor open living accommodations, local surfing, wildlife (literally cute little monkeys swinging in the trees right outside our treehouse), I did not want to go home. The yoga pagoda is gorgeous and serene and the pool is awesome. I highly recommend taking a trip here...I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Sanctuary at Two Rivers was an amazing time! So special and one of kind healthy, inspirational and relaxing experience. The best retreat, I have ever been to which have included many! Beautiful tree houses (breathtaking waking up and going to sleep looking out at jungle!), five star organic meals (photos taken by everyone of Marcella's masterpieces before being devoured!), wonderful yoga (Jasper was the best each morning!) and awesome surfing Richard and Elijah, so cool and nice getting me up!). Jeff and Perrey, the owners were incredible to get to know and learn about the time and detail they dedicated to the building of the Sanctuary. Respecting and adding to the growth of the environment, along with hiring local workers to help bring their dream to fruition. I am so fortunate to have experienced their dream firsthand and hope you will too sometime in 2013 - whether alone, with your significant other or good friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is amazing. I've been on vacation in a lot of great places, and this is one of the very best experiences I have had. The accommodation is outstanding quality given its remote location in the jungle. The hospitality and care of the owners and staff is unsurpassed, and the food is healthy and delicious. Every meal is like eating at a top restaurant. I am recommending this place to everyone I know. It was a great place to go to relax and rejuvenate and also to improve my surfing skills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wow! What a magical place to disconnect from life in the fast lane and reconnect with nature and special people. From the hike through jungle rivers on the property, to the lush tree canopy surroundings, yoga pagoda, and gorgeous tree houses, this is one of the best get-a-way experiences ever. We enjoyed gourmet vegan and vegetarian meals, massages, waterfalls, swimming in the pool, and an abundance of wildlife. Thank you Jeff for being so easy to work with and coordinating all the details for our YAS Yoga an Surfing retreat! To sum it up....perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms are all screened in "eco tree houses" with hardwood floors and luxury outdoor ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Sanctuary at Two Rivers is a peaceful haven for all yogis to connect with nature and attain mindfulness. Nestled in a beautiful lush jungle is an impressive, spacious, and modern designed Yoga Pagoda. As a yoga studio student, advisor, and yogi of 12 years, the Yoga Pagoda is the perfect place to help students deepen their practice. The eco-friendly and private. luxury-designed treehouses are a comfortable base to unwind from the day’s activities, such as waterfall hikes or surfing at a close gorgeous beach. One important aspect of my life as a restaurant owner is food. The Sanctuary has a gourmet chef on site who cooks 3 flavorful and delicious vegetarian (vegan available) meals a day, using all organic and locally grown vegetables. This is such a treat and complementary to the healthy mind and body that is attained while visiting. Return to your lives from the Sanctuary at Two Rivers feeling rejuvenated and ready to live your life in control and gratitude. Namaste.”

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank camash182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is truly a magical place for rejuvenating, reconnecting, healing, exploration and fun! The artful vegetarian and vegan dishes are splendid. The river and waterfalls are worth the trip alone. Jeff and Perry are great hosts and one can definitely see the love and passion they have put into The Sanctuary. Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
1.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
7.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary at Two Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary at Two Rivers

Property: The Sanctuary at Two Rivers
Address: Beach Road, Cabuya, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cabuya
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique Boutique Private Yoga Retreat & Yoga Teacher Training Wellness Center in Costa Rica. Our 40 acres are located directly across from the beach yet hidden 1000 yards in the jungle. Designed with the intention to commune with nature, practice yoga, contemplate, meditate, and become balanced through a Health and Wellness Yoga Retreat Vacation. Our 100% off-the-grid solar powered facility with luxury-deluxe-modern accommodations, Extensive Spa menu, and Tropical Fusion Gourmet Organic Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten-Free Cuisine is exclusively for Yoga Retreats, Yoga Teacher Trainings, Wellness Retreats, and Nature Wildlife Adventure Retreat Vacations. Become a Yoga Alliance Certified Yoga Instructor in Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Two Rivers Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing