We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great restaurant and bakery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabuya Bakery and Cafe

Cabuya Bakery and Cafe
Main Road, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
506-2642-1184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Cabuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great restaurant and bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This cute little place has good fresh baked breads, cakes, stuffed sandwiches and more! The sit down restaurant part is very good. We enjoyed every meal that we had there and the presentation is beautiful! It was our favorite breakfast destination (although dinner was also very good) in the village!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaelias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really good food and nice spot. Very relaxed setting and some of the best pancakes I've had in my life.
Only downfall was the pace of service. I know that things in Costa Rica can be a little lax but this was beyond that. They serve table by table. 3 tables sat all at the same time. Whatever table sat first got all their drinks and food before the second or third table. Then the second table was served all of their drinks and food before we, the third table even got their drinks.
I don't mind waiting but we were the only ones with a child and he just wanted an apple juice. It took 50 minutes to get him the canned apple juice. But the food was good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is tops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wonderful setting, attentive service and the food ohhh the food sooo good! Try the chocolate cake and fruit smoothies! Eggs and bread! The town is lovely, my rental house was a five minute walk from here. Cabuya is very safe and the people some of the kindest I have ever met so not sure why another reviewer had the "unfriendly" reaction. Getting a taxi out of Cabuya at night is not realistic, plan before you go for transportation but honestly walking at night with a flash light is not a big deal. The animals are sleeping as are most of the locals! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosieridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was great but staff unfriendly...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After an exhausting day hiking the incredible Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve (4 hours, mostly uphill and about 15km) we decided to come here for dinner. We had chicken wraps, which were delicious, but we were so upset when they basically refused to phone a taxi for us. There are no street lights, no taxis, total middle-of-nowhere... so we had to walk home ANOTHER 6 KM in the pitch darkness all the way back to Montezuma. Luckily we had a flashlight, but seriously....In tropical places, this is not an unreasonable request. We even had to search to find someone so we could pay. They were not attentive at all. If you're going to eat here (it's really the only safe place to eat in that area), make sure your transportation is pre-arranged.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingphotogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the fruit drinks and the chocolate cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Good place for a stop over, the organic fruit drinks and coffee were pretty good! Went there about 3 times.

Helpful?
Thank michiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabuya Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cabuya Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing