We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service, fantastic prices”
Review of Soda marvin

Soda marvin
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Cabuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Restaurant details
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, fantastic prices”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We ate there every single night from the moment Jim, the owner of the Howler Monkey Hotel recommended this place. We felt no need to try anything else. Night after night we had great food at very reasonable prices. And the service was really friendly, too. We even brought our own wine after they told us on the first night that they don't serve any. Last but not least--great atmosphere, with dining tables under a palm-thatched roof. Can't get much better than this if you are looking for an authentic, low-key experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The quality hasn't changed”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were vacationing in Cabuya when Marvin's restaurant first opened 3-4 years ago. We returned to Cabuya this year and our first stop was at Marvin's for our now traditional Quesadia and Fahita. The presentation was still artful and the quality was unchanged. This year we also tried his garlic fish filet and it too was excellent. The only thing that changed were his 2 daughters who served as waitresses. They were two precocious kids back when and now they are teenagers. There are probably 2 other good restaurants in Cabuya but Marvin's is still hands down the best food for the best price. He needs to raise his prices!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikulkatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Food in the Nicoya Peninsula”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

After some 15 visits over 23 days, I offer an unqualified excellent to this wonderful family restaurant. The level of sophistication of the menu and the meal presentation was far above expectation on every occasion. The fresh fish was always served just cooked and delicately seasoned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 437michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nothing special, overpriced”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to this soda based on reviews on TripAdvisor.
My husband ordered fish fajitas, and he enjoyed it, I ordered whole fish with salad, I was served big plate of salad with some fish. I guess the girl who took my order misunderstood me. I also ordered smoothie with mango and papaya when it arrived it was just papaya. I did not complain because the girl was unhappy to be taking our orders to begin with. The quality of food was good. Our bill came to 12 thousand colones which is a bit high for the stuff we ordered. I saw the daughter put some of the money inside her bra right in front of us. I was thinking she added extra amount to our total so she can pocket it to herself. How odd? Very strange. This put sour taste to my mouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Honestly this is the best food I had in Cabuya and all of Costa Rica! Wonderful owners, sweet and so gracious. I had so much wonderful food I took half of it home for the next meal! Check out the photo of what I had!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda marvin also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Soda marvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing