We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in a "National Park"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Howler Monkey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Cabuya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying in a "National Park"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

It is a very special place that is off the beaten track!! We loved staying in a quiet, peacefull place and to enjoy the incredible nature and coast there. We had so many animals passing by that it was actually better than any other place (even very expensive parks) to spot the wildlife! Great pool, hearty host and nice cabañas.
Explore if you wanna escape the tourist crowds ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    34
    4
    7
    12
See reviews for
39
74
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was travelling with my roommate and we were stranded after we took the ferry crossing the Nicoya gulf.

Unfortunately it was the last boat so there were no more busses on the other side which means we were stranded. Luckily enough for us the owner of the hotel picked us up after we decided to hitchhike and he took us all the way to his hotel without charging anything extra.

Since we are students on a limited budget we got a cabana-cabin all for ourselves at a discounted price. The place is a bit far but we could use the bikes for free to peddle ourselves all the way to Montezuma. The starry night in Cabuya is absolutely amazing - something I hadn't seen in over a decade.

Yes there are lots of ants and mosquitoes (which drive me crazy) but it's the jungle so that is to be expected.

Owner was really friendly and helpful. Even though we didn't have any plans to stay there we are happy that we did. Good place to go for a weekend!

~Robert & Jesus

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtwmbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a place that is highly recomendable for nature lovers that prefer a nice well equipped bungalow (with a beautiful view) to a tent.
The place is close to a lot of vegetation, as a consequence you will see monkeys playing directly from your balcony and if you turn your head you can watch the tide come and go.
We loved it there and can absolutely receommend it for the type of nature lover tourist.

Room Tip: One of the Bungalows which have direct view to the beach and the tree where all the monkey play!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThaBigBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

When we arrived we immediately knew we would not be staying at at the Howler Monkey. We paid cash in advance since credit cards are not accepted. Dumb move. Didn't get a refund. We still decided to leave. That was a good move. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Diego T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
These people were looking for air conditioner,i dont advertise A.C.as you dont need it on the beach.When you have slotted windows plus doors plus big fan,the sea breeze does the rest.When i took there deposit i was between credit card machines plus banks and waiting on new credit card machine which i now have.I told thes people i would honor any other 2 days they would like to stay which is my policy.Best regards Jim O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and did not enjoy our stay. The sheets were dirty, our room was full of flies and Mosquitos (no wonder with wide open windows), the pool was dirty and the beach did not really exist. The owner somehow did not seem to care much about his guests or his "hotel".
It's a 10 minute drive to montezuma.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
The reason i stayed away from these people is because since they came they were fighting with each other so i made myself scarce.I have never given people dirty sheets,the pool is cleaned by my staff 5 or 6 times a day,between cleans you might get a leaf falling in.We have had no rain in 4 months and mosquitos need water to procreate,so no mosquitos.We are in the jungle so yes you might have a few insects,you need to close the windows when you have the lights on in the room.The beach did not exist,this reminds me of 2 men looking out of prison barrs,one saw mud the other stars.The beach has a beauty of it own.Regards Jim O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 and were very pleased. We showed up without a reservation and lucked out that they had a cabana open. I suggest calling ahead though. Everything was just as expected and reasonably priced. The owner greeted us and made us feel welcome and one of the workers shared fresh tuna caught that day. The cabanas were very clean and kept up with a stove and refrigerator in the kitchen and hot showers. The pool was very nice as well. Expect an early alarm clock from the rooster that lives next door. I also suggest you find out when low tide is so you can take a walk out to the island cemetery.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

There is really not much to add to all the other fantastic reviews, which I can only endorse. We had originally planned to stay two nights at the Howler Monkey Hotel, but ended up staying three because we enjoyed it so much. The location is great--away from the hustle and bustle of Montezuma and Santa Teresa. The cabanas are rustic, but clean and comfortable. Jim and his help are great guys, always ready to help. I particularly appreciated the early morning coffee. On our first night, we were invited to partake in a sashimi party. Fellow Montrealers had caught quite some tuna that morning and were sharing it with all of the guests. We all sat around the big table and chatted and laughed. A wonderful evening in a family-like atmosphere. We loved being awoken by the howler monkeys every night and having a resident iguana keep us company--it gave it the extra exotic feel. We also enjoyed taking the kayaks out to Cabuya Island and hiking in Cabo Blanco National Park. Just make sure you get there before noon so you can make it to the beach and back. And watch those white-headed capuchin monkeys! Two final tips: enjoy a simple, but delicious and inexpensive dinner at Marvin's restaurant (across from the closest supermarket) and go fishing with Jim's next door neighbour. He's a great guy and will even clean and prepare the fish you catch in the most delicious way. All in all a fantastic experience in an--as of yet--undiscovered little place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Property: The Howler Monkey Hotel
Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located in Cabuya, a few minutes from Montezuma. Each cabin is located around the refreshing pool, just a few metres from the beach. It is walking distance to Cabuya Island, a unique cemetary island. Cabuya has 2 grocery stores and a few restaurants within walking distance. We offer four cabinas with an ocean view, a private bathroom, a private kitchen, fans and nice outdoor dining patios with hammocks. Free wifi, laundry and parking are included. Guests can also use the hotel snorkel gear, kayaks, surfboards and bicycles. You can enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through the plants and flowers on the hotel grounds to the beach and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing