We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Howler Monkey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Cabuya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at the Howler Monkey for 7 days at the beginning of February. Jim was a great host and the facilities were clean and maintained. The monkeys were amazing and it was great to be on the oceanfront by a fishing village. Bought fresh lobster and fish to cook for our dinners. Montezuma was only 11 KLs away and was fun to visit. A very relaxing stay and we had fun social evenings with some of the guests. Free use of the kayaks and bikes was really good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Howler Monkey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found Howler Monkey Hotel's website when we were in Montezuma and were a bit fed up if the hippy/surfer vibe. We saw good reviews for hotel monkey hotel and so decided to go. It was easy to find by bus from Montezuma. On arrival we had a warm welcome from Jim, the owner, who showed us around the place. Compared to our previous hotel it was more basic rustic accommodation but very spacious. Our cabina was an A frame with airy bedroom upstairs, bathroom and kitchen downstairs. The view from our bedroom to the sea was amazing and we went to sleep with the sound of the birds and the sea. There was no a/c or hot water but that really didn't matter as much as we thought it would-we were there in the hottest season and the fan kept us cool all night and the warm shower (water obviously got heated through the pipes by the sun) was perfect. The pool was tranquil and relaxing and we spent the afternoons relaxing in hammocks. There was free wifi too.

The location is perfect, we walked to cabo blanco reserve, and cabuya itself is a lovely little village with good restaurants nearby, soda Marvin and the bakery are a must.

Our stay was made even better by the generosity of Jim, a very friendly host, who offered us free use of kayaks, snorkelling equipment, let us use his quad bike free of charge to ride up to the hill behind montezuma to watch sunset and who dropped us off in Mal Pais at the end of our stay. Breakfast wasn't available when we were there but Jim discounted the price of us eating out for breakfast from the cost of our stay. He was a very good host, leaving us to our own devices but always there to answer our questions when needed.

I would definitely recommend it as a tranquil place to stay, and it's very good value too. If you are looking for a luxury hotel with room service, don't stay here. If you're looking for simple, tranquil accommodation in an off-the-beaten-track Costa Rican village, do.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plymouth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hi,
Just wanted you to know i now have hot water.
Best regards Jim O Callaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you want to experience these monkeys up close and personal this is the place! They sat in the trees right outside our cabina (great for close-up pictures) and migrated around through the many trees on the property. Hotel has nice pool and location is right on the rocky shores of the Bay of Nocoya. It is an easy walk to wonderful little local restaurants, a bar with live music and two small grocery stores. The cabinas are rustic. Bedroom is upstairs with access by steep outside stairs. Kitchen & bath and outside table with chairs and a hammock are downstairs. Bed was comfortable. Pillows need to be replaced-lumpy! Electrical outlets in bedroom required converters that we did not have but were supplied by Jim, the owner when we asked. The bath & kitchen could use some updates, but were certainly adequate for the time we spent there. Kitchen had full size refrigerator, sink and one burner propane stove. Basically this is one step up from camping. It provided the "simple easy living" that we love so much about Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrienneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice cabins hidden away from touristic trouble right next to the ocean but close enough to small supermarket and a few local restaurants, so you get everything you need. Very relaxxed atmosphere and a very friendly owner! Just chill in the hammock and enjoy the sound of the ocean or go for a swim in the ocean just meters away from your bed. We stayed there for a couple of days and liked it a lot!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I were taking a trip around Costa Rica after a year-long house-sitting gig in the Southern part of the country, and we came into Montezuma with very little idea of what we were going to do and where we were going to stay. We are so happy we found this place. Montezuma didn't feel like the right vibe, so we drove down the dirt road, saw the sign for the hotel and decided to stop in. This was the best place we stayed, hands down. We saw the entire country, coast to coast, and usually just stayed for a night and moved on, but we stayed for the rest of our allotted time with Jim at the Howler Monkey. He's a great host, the beach is secluded, the grounds are diverse and funky, and you're a short drive to both Montezuma and Malpais. Furthermore, Jim has kayaks, fishing rods, snorkel gear, bikes and all kinds of stuff that you can use free of charge. Also, a full kitchen for cooking meals. Save money on food, create your own adventure tours, and relax on the secluded beach.

I should also say, Costa Rica is a tropical country. The beaches meet the jungle everywhere. There are hundreds of species of birds, mammals, fish and flowers (and Jim knows them all intimately, and this place has way more wildlife than you'll find elsewhere). There are also mosquitoes, flies, crabs, and all kinds of other stuff that you might find different from where you live. If you can't deal with the jungle, DO NOT COME TO COSTA RICA. YOU WILL NOT LIKE IT HERE. GO TO FLORIDA INSTEAD. The charm of Costa Rica is its diverse tropical climate and its laid-back vibe. The Howler Monkey Hotel exemplifies exactly why people like us and many others enjoy this wonderful, vibrant place.

Pura Vida, Jim. Keep it up. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I are from Hawaii originally but now live in Panama and Thailand. Cabuya is like going back to the North Shore of Oahu 50 years ago.... It is incredible and there is much information on this in the usual places. Jim O'Callahan runs this place and he is a good man. When you add all the value that is supplied with free snorkeling gear, kayaks, mountain bikes, surf boards etc. this is the best value in Costa Rica. The cabins are rustic and homey. The kitchen allows you to save on the now "Hawaii like prices" that are part of the Costa Rica experience. You will not find a nicer person than Jim and the location is just like "Old Hawaii" that we have experienced first hand. Howler Monkey is the best value in Costa Rica, not to be missed ... Thank's Jim ........

Room Tip: Bring surf shoes for access to the beach and walking around and to Cabuya Island which is accessible...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was amazing! It isn't fancy, but it's comfortable, clean, and RELAXED! From the moment we got to the hotel we felt like we were home. (If home was on the beach and had monkeys swinging overhead!) We only wished that we could have stayed longer.
Jim (the owner) was friendly and helpful...his relaxed and kickbacked demeanor helps create the atmosphere of hanging out in your best friends backyard.
The pool was refreshing, the views spectacular, and the room was clean and comfortable. There wasn't a tv, or air conditioning. But who goes on vacation to a beautiful country like Costa Rica to sit in their room and watch tv?? As for air conditioning, we did what the Costa Rican people do...we opened the windows and turned on the fans...was comfortable in no time!
The hotel was just far enough out of town to get away from the "crowds" but close enough to drive into town for dinner and our scuba diving tour. It truly was a little slice of heaven!
The people that have posted negative reviews on here need to get their heads checked! This hotel was perfect! If they want all of the ridiculous unnecessary comforts of home while in another country, maybe they should stay home and watch the Discovery channel. Or perhaps go to one of those all inclusive hotels that cater to the spoiled Americans. Go there and stay on the resort, and don't you dare leave the resort...you might accidentally soak up some cultural experiences...
Thank you for your hospitality Jim! We had the best time...staying at your hotel was one of the highlights of our trip!
Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The cabin in front of the pool has the best view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaBruney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range: $43 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located in Cabuya, a few minutes from Montezuma. Each cabin is located around the refreshing pool, just a few metres from the beach. It is walking distance to Cabuya Island, a unique cemetary island. Cabuya has 2 grocery stores and a few restaurants within walking distance. We offer four cabinas with an ocean view, a private bathroom, a private kitchen, fans and nice outdoor dining patios with hammocks. Free wifi, laundry and parking are included. Guests can also use the hotel snorkel gear, kayaks, surfboards and bicycles. You can enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through the plants and flowers on the hotel grounds to the beach and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing